My Wii Wont Play Games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by JsdMaNintendo, Sep 19, 2011.

Sep 19, 2011

My Wii Wont Play Games by JsdMaNintendo at 6:08 AM (2,363 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, long story short, I have a 500GB hard-drive for my Wii games. I was using it for my Wii games, then I got done with the Wii for a few months, formatted the HDD, used it as an external storage on my computer for a bit, although I didn't really put anything on it at all, so I formatted it again, then reformatted with WBFS Manager 3.0 so it would work again, and put a few games on it(Punch Out!!, Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition, Super Paper Mario, and Rune Factory: Frontier, all NTSC/NTSC-U), and none of them will play. I use ConfigurableUSBLoader mainly, on v70 right now, and tried NeoGamma also. Any tips(even the far fetched ones)are welcome. Please help!
    Thanks!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    ---EDIT---
    ALRIGHT
    Okay
    Good stuff is happening, [​IMG]
    My Wii is cured!
    But I don't know exactly what was wrong. All I know is I went over to my friends house, and as a test, we set my hard-drive up to his Wii, and he launched CFG, and it didn't work. Then, we set his up to mine, and it worked perfectly. So then we plugged my hard-drive into his computer and he went into it(somehow it let him view it through the Windows Explorer and not with WBFS or anything of that matter,)and saw that some reason the game I had on there wasn't as an ISO. So he plugged his in and copied his copy of Super Paper Mario onto my hard-drive through WBFS after formatting, and it worked perfectly, and this time, was an ISO according to the computer and everything, although he couldn't get into it this time without WBFS and such. And it worked on my Wii this time. I don't quite understand the problem, but it's fixed now. I think I just should reinstall WBFS, although I used another program like that before while it was broken, so I don't know how that would make sense like that, but yeah, whatever. It works now, so all is right in my universe now. [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     


  2. Antoni-YO!

    Member Antoni-YO! GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    What IOS are you using?
     
  3. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Mainly 249, but I've tried them all. 222nload and 223nload seem to work the best. Every time I launch one of them, instead of the screen staying black and the controller staying off, controller will come back on. I also used Rev17 and Rev19 for these. Base 57.
     
  4. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    1 use fat32
    2 install cios d2x base 56 in slot 249
     
  5. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    What's Fat32?
     
  6. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    don't use wbfs file system , use fat32
     
  7. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Alright,
    Me and my friend were just messing with it ever since your first post(not noobishly, doing it correctly)after researching the stuff online and stuff, from like 2am to now 4am. It's not working still..... 0.o
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    But you DO have both a FAT32 partitioned hard drive and the correct cIOS in 249, right? (check the stickies in this forum section for links).


    Then it's either your loader, or the way you put your games on them.

    For loader...CFG or wiiflow are the best choices, though the latest configurable USB loader should work as well (check the 'backup loader' stickies).

    As for transferring your wii games: use wii backup manager. It'll put it the games in the correct spot with the correct name, so the aforementioned loaders can use them.


    If you're still having problems, you may want to be a bit more specific than "it's not working still" if you want some help.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Here is the optimal cIOS setup:
    202[60]v5.1 rodries mod
    222[38]v4
    223[38+37]v4
    224[57]v5.1 rodries mod
    249[56] d2x v6
    250[57] d2x v6

    Download the latest ModMii and choose the recommended setup (now the same as what I suggested), and install the wads.
     
  10. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    This is probably useless but did you try using the other USB port? [​IMG]
     
  11. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks man, I'll do this, see how it goes,
     
  12. morrisseyshair

    Member morrisseyshair GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    Country:
    United States
    Keep us updated, OP. If anyone else is having your problem this thread could help.
     
  13. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    when you format the drive as FAT32, make sure the partition is set as primary and active.

    use something like wiibackupmanager to put the games onto the hdd.

    make sure that the usb drive is plugged into the port nearest the bottom of the wii (the side with the feet).

    update all cIOS's using Modmii. i would actually recommend doing a full re-hack with modmii. making sure even that the HBC is installed in IOS 58 (has nothing to do with this, but to just have everything set up properly on the software side).
     
  14. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I've done all that, except the rehack, because I don't have any game that I can use for it. My friend loaned me his Brawl to do it, and he sold all his games. So now I guess that's it then, huh?

    Reasons everyone needs to own Smash Bros. Brawl. Lol,
     
  15. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try. I think nothing can be done now except to rehack it, but it doesn't look like I can right now, so I'm going to have to find a way to get Brawl or something.
     
  16. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for trying, but only one port works for this, or at least for my Wii anyways. I don't know if that's the way it's supposed to be, but if you're looking at them both from the back, then the one on the right(the side where you would lay the Wii down)is the only one I can put the HDD into, otherwise it wont pick up that it's in there.
     
  17. Augusta

    Member Augusta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Canada
    I wouldn't recommend formatting with wbfs manager, used that as well and nothing worked.
    I did however format with wiibackupmanager to fat32/cluster 32kb and had absolutely no problems. All I had to do was create a wbfs folder and that's it. Wbfs manager is outdated imo.

    There are much better alternatives.
     
  18. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    use letterbomb. you don't need a game anymore.
     
  19. Bumper

    Newcomer Bumper Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hold on so your wii is already modded ?. You have the homebrew channel ?

    If so all you need is a wad manager and the updated cios wads.
     
  20. JsdMaNintendo
    OP

    Newcomer JsdMaNintendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    0.o Explain?
    Cause I've got the wad manager, but dk what the updated cios wads are.
     

Share This Page