My Wii is stuck on 3.4U, any help?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by afif95, Nov 29, 2008.

Nov 29, 2008
  1. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Here's the story, My converted japenese-to-english Wii is pre-chipped and came with HBC and Gecko OS pre-installed. I just got WAD Manager and tried to install two WADs but they all failed. Then EoC recommended me to take a look at his guide.

    And here is what I did


    1)I updated my Wii to 3.4U
    (Not a mistake, intended to)
    2)Installed IOS16 through WAD Manager
    3)Tried to run cios_fix through Custom WM, failed.
    4)Used cIOS_249_vsumthin, success.
    5)Ran IOS Downgrader
    6)Ran cIOS downgrader, failed
    6.1)Installed a WAD, ok.
    6.2)Played with the WAD for awhile.
    7)Ran cIOS downgrader, success8)Ran cIOS installer, failed,
    came error:
    Installer returned -1
    9)Ran Shop Channel Installer,
    failed like above.
    10)EoC told to get rid of IOS24911)Ran Anytitle Deleter, tried to delete IOS249, but returned error:
    Failed to Uninstall ticket (No ticket?)
    Error ret = -102



    I got the 249 cIOS from here, Gbatemp.

    Gecko OS loaded and ran fine, except Rebooter and Disaster:DoC, they failed. Starfall, when I pressed B+1, it said:
    Failed
    Exiting...

    Current firmware read from System Menu: 3.2U
    So far not even a single sign of a brick.

    Before you ask, yes, I have all the WAD needed (Try to ask EoC) under the WAD folder which is in the root of my SD Card.

    Would it help if I say that I usa FTPii to transfer files? If yes, then, yea, I used FTPii to transfer files (Even WADs)

    djtaz recommended me to do it all over again
    ------
    So then

    I started ALL OVER AGAIN (Updated teh Wii to 3.4U etc)

    When I ran IOS Downgrader

    A few IOS (the few final ones) it started to install showed (ret = - 1017)

    Then, I restarted the Wii. Tried to run the thing again. The same error came up. Then I restarted the Wii, to my surprise, the Wii is bricked (system files corrupted).

    I tried to reboot again, this time with Maintenance Mode, it load a few seconds then it showed the "brick" error.

    I panicked, then a few minutes later, tried to turn on the thing again, to my surprise, it showed another message
    "An Error has occured, Press the Eject Button and remove the disc"

    Then I realised I had my Disaster inside, I ejected it and well, Wii boots fine.

    Discs works fine, System Settings works fine. But the only problem is Disaster and MySims Kingdom, I can't seem to insert the game without the remove disc error showing up.

    as of now, my Wii is still 3.4 .

    What should I do?

    I am thinking about using anytitle deleter to take a look at my IOSes. If you recommend that, what IOSes must I have before I continue to use cIOS Downgrader? And what IOS must I delete?

    I'm also waiting for EoC's reply, but for now..
     


  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Ive tried to help this guy butif my guide isnt helping at all, frankly I am stumped. Hopefully someone else can advise this poor soul.
     
  3. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Anyone have a list of IOSes that IOS Downgrader downloads and installs?

    I wanna check if I have those in my Wii. Then, I'll think of what to do.
     
  4. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    You were supposed to simply update to 3.4, then install the cIOS used by the backup loader.

    Or I could be wrong...
     
  5. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    But I want to get back to 3.2U since my Wii can't read some backup PAL games (Disaster and MySims), and if I put one of those discs in, it would come up with disc read error problem
     
  6. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I have a mario strikers charged game that request for update when i inserted the disk.
    Should I use the update? And what update does it install and does it help with my problem?
     
  7. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I'm sorry if this is breaking the rules. But bump.

    Some one must know the solution! (OR at least tell me what IOS does IOS Downgrader installs so that I can verify)
     
  8. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Okay guys here's what IOS I have on my Wii:

    IOS249
    IOS16
    IOS254
    IOS51
    IOS10
    IOS50
    IOS37
    IOS36
    IOS35
    IOS34
    IOS33
    IOS31
    IOS30
    IOS28
    IOS22
    IOS20
    IOS17
    IOS15
    IOS14
    IOS13
    IOS12
    IOS11
    IOS21
    MIOS
    BD
    SYSMENU
    IOS9
    IOS4

    Is this list eligible for cIOS downgrader? Since I've take a look at cIOS' downgrader and it showed that it only requires IOS37 for downgrade.
     
  9. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't know the details, but it sounds like there was some kind of problem with IOS16. Has you're Wii ever been repaired by Nintendo? They might have left another version of IOS16 on your Wii...
     
  10. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    No, never dud, never will.

    Can I use the cIOS downgrader, or I should wait for more help?
     
  11. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Correct me if I'm wrong here but if cios_fix did not install then wouldn't he be running of an original Nintendo IOS16.... (trucha exploit still present)
    Then when he did the downgrade..... He was left with the patched Nintendo version (trucha exploit no longer present)....
    So that would block allot of stuff...

    So shouldn't he try running IOS Downgrader first?...

    Try deleting IOS249 with any title deleter... then try following epmerorofcanadas guide again...
    -kitt050383
     
  12. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    the cIOS downgrader, right?
    Anyway, I forgot to note that any title deleter gave me this message when booting up, (ret = - 1017)


    ticket delete failed (No ticket?) - 102
    Error! ISFS_Delete (ret = - 102)


    Pulling SysMenu TMD..... Error! ISFS_Open (ret =-102)
    Reading TMD failed!
    Error! ES_OpenContent (ret = -1017)
    Region detection failure! 0
    Conf region: 1

    And when I tried deleting IOS249:
    Ticket delete failed (No ticket>) -102
    Error! ISFS_Delete (ret = -102)

    Note: I only typed errors, and I'm using Anytitle deleter v1.0
     
  13. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    are'nt you supposed to use a special version of anytitle deleter that use IOS16 ?
    Since you're on 3.4 any homebrew you'll try will fail if it doesn't use IOS16.
     
  14. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Well, could you give me the link?
    I'll try it later, sis is playing wii.
     
  15. RadioShadow

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Install cIOS through WAD Manager 1.3, not the custom one.

    Then run IOS Downgrader 1.0 which will allow homebrew apps to work correctly.
     
  16. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I ran it once using Custom WM (Somehow it works on the second re-run).
    Must I run it again?
    And where could I get a 3.4-compatible IOS deleter (any deleter)?
     
  17. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    sound like you have missing files somewhere , format your Wii and start from scratch it is better , download and follow my installer and you should be fine , if not come back here and tell us what happened .
     
  18. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Am I taking a big risk here? And how long will it take if my Wifi router is like, 6 meters away and has b/g speed?

    And which link Big Moe?

    And plus, my Wii is Japanese-converted-to-English Wii, and I don't have TP....
     
  19. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    this link in my signature ( How To Hack Wii Console For Dummies: Tutorial/Easy Installer ) .
     
  20. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Big Moe, I don't have TP. And probably ain't gonna get it in any way for the time being.

    Plus, does Twilight Hack work for burnt TP (I can recognize the region by Gecko OS)? We ain't rich here back in Malaysia. Games cost like, RM 280+.
     

Share This Page