My wii has suddenly stoped reading backup games

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by fugazi, Apr 15, 2007.

Apr 15, 2007
  1. fugazi
    OP

    Newcomer fugazi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello, sorry for my english.
    I have a first day european PAL wii.
    With a first day wiinja v1.
    All my games had worked perfectly in TDK-r without DRE in more of 50 distincts backups.
    (My wii never had read verbatim dvd.)
    but 3 days ago (casually with the problematic paper mario )
    the fist time i introduce paper mario in the wii, it not recognices it. (the first time a game makes me it)
    but the at the second chance, it works. well...
    At the next day i will go to play to paper mario and, trying 3 times it not works,
    but all my tdk dvd no works neither.

    and my original wiisports and zelda, have to try a pair of times before it regognices then.
    sometime works sometimes not.

    I have remove my wiinja and the problem is the same.

    I think that is a lens calibration problem but it has been so fast that i dont know it very well.

    someone with the same problem?
     
  2. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    I had Wii sports bug out on me before I modded mu Wii. It might be the system being a selective hoe bag when it comes down to it.
     
  3. JesterDev

    Member JesterDev GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Does your Wii give you an errors when reading the disks, or does it just lock up on you? I don't think it's a MOD chip issue, but more your DVD drive. Mine does that to sometimes and I just eject and reboot and it all works fine.
     
  4. fugazi
    OP

    Newcomer fugazi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Spain
    in the disc hanel it gives me a big interrogation icon and a message that its not a wii disk or something like that
     
  5. JesterDev

    Member JesterDev GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    And it does this even with your original games?


    If so it might be that your drive is no good anymore. First check that all the cables are connected properly, then try again. Other than that you might check ebay for a faulty Wii and hope that the drive it still good... But don't jump to conclusions right off that bat either. I could be wrong, and perhaps someone else will come along with a better grasp of things. [​IMG]

    Just keep trying.
     
  6. Louse76

    Member Louse76 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Deltona, FL USA
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting. The only time that I have gotten that is when I put in a disc from another region.

    I would say it is a possibility that you may need to take it out and check to make sure your ribbon cable is connected properly, and also that your connections to both the Wii DVD drive and Wiinja are solid. Also check to make sure they are not shorting out on anything. It might be a good idea to use a "shingling" method. You can find pictures of this on the forums if you search for shingle I believe (it is my own creation).
     
  7. fugazi
    OP

    Newcomer fugazi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Spain
    with originals too

    in a spanish forum there is another user reporting loading problems after 2E.E update.
    just like me.
    i dont know what to think.
     
  8. shonosuke

    Member shonosuke GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    22E!!!!!!1! LOL PROBALY BRIKED UR WI AND U GOT PWNAD AND WININJAV1 HAS ALOT OF W3IRD BUGS
     
  9. fugazi
    OP

    Newcomer fugazi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Spain
    i wanted to say 2.2E

    my wii is not bticked, it got problems to read originals, and in not seems to load backups, but i got to try with other media
     
  10. shonosuke

    Member shonosuke GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
  11. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and now in english?
     
  12. niklasnyfiken

    Member niklasnyfiken GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You must be proud to be 4 years old.
     
  13. fugazi
    OP

    Newcomer fugazi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Spain
    I have just fix it. [​IMG]
    i had to touch the potenciometer of the wii driver.
    It has been a hard work.
    my wii marked originally 790 ohmios in 2k.
    i had to down it to 620.

    Now my wii is reading again backup and originals.

    i took my wii for a 1400 total kilometers car travel a week ago.
    the problems began just after the travel.
    perhaps this travel broke my wii.
     
  14. philipcooper

    Member philipcooper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Liverpool (UK)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what that potenciometer?

    my wiis having certain issues
     
  15. memyselfandi

    Member memyselfandi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    That sucks dude...
     

Share This Page