My TV just died on me... ;_;

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by miruki, Sep 22, 2011.

Sep 22, 2011
  1. miruki
    OP

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    Now I'm sad and depressed because I can't continue playing Arc Rise Fantasia which was just getting uber exciting. D:

    There's RGB to VGA adapters so I can connect the Wii to my PC monitor, right? ...why couldn't this happen like 4 hours ago when I'd still have the chance to go to the electronics store? D:


    Haaaahhh... need a new TV. Got no money. Life sucks. ;_;


    edit: Oh and mods, feel free to move this to wherever else it fits if it's not appropriate for a general off-topic chat.. :)
     
  2. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States
    i'm sure you can find one second hand for free. i got like 2 i need to get rid off.
     
  3. miruki
    OP

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    Probably, yes. But it probably would also require me getting it to my flat.... I'm a weak woman and don't own a car. I already asked mum if she still got her old one, but seems it got stolen from the cellar... because my stupid lil bro didn't put it in their cellar room, but the general one for everyone to use.. XD


    ...I should just make him give me his 32'' LCD TV... *nods*

    But first I'll check the electronics store for an RGB to VGA adapter. ;_;

    I wonder if my LCD monitor supports 60hz, as my TV clearly didn't and forcing Arc Rise Fantasia into 50hz resulted in the sound of cutscenes being played faster than the video.. D:
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No chance of repairing your TV? If it is built like most monitors I have pass through here (and the few LCD TVs I have pulled apart usually are) it could well be a very cheap fix (often just some dead capacitors (kondensator) which are a couple of Euros or a backlight which can be worked around or replaced).
    If it was an old CRT I would give it pass though (can be a bit dangerous if you do not know what you are doing).

    I do like German electronics shops (not far behind some of the stuff in China or Japan) but even there RCA to VGA adapters (certainly the good ones) are more of an online only affair.
     
  5. miruki
    OP

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    .... first thing I tried was opening up the TV to see what's wrong as the TV is not actually dead - the image just got squeezed in the middle, hitting the TV resulted in turning the image back to normal for a few seconds - it MIGHT be some lose magnet thing? I'm just guessing from what I've read from some google search, ANYWAYS... I noticed some slight burnt smell while fiddling around the TV so I turned it off and declared it dead for now.

    I tried opening it up to see if something actually burnt up inside, but err.. I can't seem to find any screws that would help with getting the back hull off. I'm also afraid, that I'd actually destroy more than fix anything. (Though I do like to just figure out what's causing the problem, even if I'm not capable of fixing it.)

    I guess I'm far better off with just buying an adapter, IF there is one.

    Otherwise I guess I have to get something like this? http://www.mayflash.com/vgabox/vga004/vga004.htm
     
  6. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    I still need to beat Arc Rise Fantasia...
    I got really far and it, very suddenly, amped up the difficulty so I kept getting my ass kicked and eventually stopped playing, LOL.

    As for the actual problem and topic of the thread...
    I got nothin'.
     
  7. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    im scared of my tv dying. but what can you do?
     
  8. miruki
    OP

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    Arc Rise Fantasia's boss battles certainly do get rather difficult... I got around that with cheating a little, as I'm completely hooked up on the story and rather want to enjoy that instead of spending hours with grinding and working out strategies for the boss battles.. ;>

    But here's a good tip, if you haven't figured it out yourself yet: Life Force (Fire, lvl3) and Dispel Magic (Dark, lvl2) are very essential spells for boss battles! You'd also be wanting to use lots of items, if you run out of MP - a good way of getting neat items is the Casino, instead of playing the games, just kill lots of monsters and buy the coins, as earning money is quite easy later on.

    As for about what you can do regarding your TV dying on you.. nothing, sadly.

    ;_;

    Off I go to the electronics store..
     
  9. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it is a line along the middle or a dot and it is a CRT TV/monitor it is usually the electromagnet coils- indeed many people have made a poor man's oscilloscope by replacing the constant voltage to the vertical coil with their signal or a multiple of it. Hitting the TV probably just remakes a loose connection somewhere although it could still be capacitors but as I said unless you know what goes fiddling around inside a CRT is not something I would advise (and I am not known for my love of safe practice).
     
  10. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    It's not even the bosses that are giving me a ton of trouble anymore, lol. It's just the normal enemies.
    Hell I had to use my damn Rogress just to win a few fights with normal enemies.
    Honestly the difficulty spike was...odd. I went from taking out waves of enemies with no effort or any real damage to my party, to suddenly getting 2 shot by normal enemies that could take a hell of a beating (like surviving a Rogress attack from full hp >.>). Cruel.

    How far are you?
     
  11. miruki
    OP

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    I had just finished the thing in Ryfia's mind when my TV decided to go funky. I'm eager to finally learn more as it seems some questions will be answered now.. [​IMG]

    And I want to finally slap some sense into Alf.. I adored him so much and then he had to go all meh. Same with Adele. Why can't she just make out with Alf instead of being all obsessive about L'arc?

    Nargh.. at what point are you now? Do you have a softmodded Wii? If yes, I'd suggest just cheating you some levels with an exp multiplier so you won't have anymore troubles with the normal enemies and then turn them off again. Having that much trouble with just normal enemies does sound rather annoying. [​IMG] I'm just cheating a little to skip the grinding, I'm kinda avoiding all normal enemy fights unless I have some weapons I want to unlock.. XD


    And FAST, yes, I'll just keep away from fiddling around with it... I'll just end up blowing the TV up otherwise. ;> I didn't even get half of what you were saying, but that's nothing new to me. ;> (I still do enjoy reading the stuff you post nontheless!
     
  12. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds like i'm about 15 minutes past where you are, lol.

    I do have a softmodded Wii, so I COULD cheat...but i've never liked cheating in RPGs. I hadn't done any grinding up to where I am now, so I might just avoid fewer battles and things will probably turn out fine. It's more satisfying if I beat 'er legit. I just need to commit and actually start playing again.
     
  13. miruki
    OP

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    I try to avoid cheating as well, but most RPGs tend to expect you to spend a few hours with grinding, which I just don't have the time for as a single mother and all. ;>

    So to avoid those hours of wasted time I mostly only use exp multipliers when cheating at all (and neat stuff like double running speed or instant text for games that have no option to make the text pop up instantly, like Pokemon), I'd like to not overlevel too much tho, as I like challenging (but not frustrating.. D:) boss battles. :)

    What level are your characters at?
     
  14. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't remember, lol. I haven't played in months and my Wii is upstairs and i've been too lazy to go grab it and set it up in my room.

    I never really grinded though. I spent a few minutes outside towns to be able to afford weapons, and the only fight I did a bit of grinding for (to level up my weapons) was before fighting Alf and company on the beach for that optional Rogress in that insanely hard fight, lol.
     
  15. miruki
    OP

    Member miruki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Awesometown
    Country:
    Germany
    I do believe that the fights will become a little easier if you do a little leveling up then.. XD

    I ordered a new LCD TV now.. as all the connect your Wii to the PC / monitor solutions seemed way too pricey or involved lots of quality loss.. ;_;
     

Share This Page