My saves are lost everytime I want to play.

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by maxiewawa, Dec 1, 2007.

Dec 1, 2007
  1. maxiewawa
    OP

    Newcomer maxiewawa Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    China
    The (very helpful) FAQs on this site say that I should:

    But how do I know what kind of savetype I should set? Setting a savetype, running the rom, saving something, then turning off the machine, starting the rom again and checking to see if it has saved properly isn't a very practical option.
     
  2. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    Upgrade to the latest firmware. Then just set the save to "Auto". Unless its zelda. Then set the save to flash 4Mbit.
     
  3. maxiewawa
    OP

    Newcomer maxiewawa Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    China
    I've done that, but now ROMs don't read save information. One ROM says:

    "The data is corrupted and could not be loaded. Is it OK to erase it?"

    I have to click 'ok' or the ROM doesn't start. Then I have to start the game all over again. [​IMG]
     
  4. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    I got that once. I remember how too. I tried to copy a save from in game.(Ie New SMB save slot 1 copy to save slot 2) That froze the Ncard and corrupted all of my saves. I had to manually delete the save file before it worked again.

    Try deleting all of your saves.
     
  5. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    I got that once. I remember how too. I tried to copy a save from in game.(Ie New SMB save slot 1 copy to save slot 2) That froze the Ncard and corrupted all of my saves. I had to manually delete the save file before it worked again.

    Try deleting all of your saves.
     
  6. AndreXL

    Member AndreXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Philippines
  7. maxiewawa
    OP

    Newcomer maxiewawa Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    China
    No luck. I've deleted all the *.sav files but the ROMs still can't read them.

    I can get ROMs to run, but every time I do, I create a new SAV file.
     
  8. maxiewawa
    OP

    Newcomer maxiewawa Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    China
    I don't know if this is important, but these ROMs have NEVER been able to read a SAV file, but if I select the wrong SAV filetype in the initial N-Card menu, the ROMs don't work.
     
  9. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    The capacitor is dead, hence the saves are never updated. Cards with internal memory have to use the capacitor for saves (not sure why).
     
  10. Porkdish

    Member Porkdish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Australia
  11. maxiewawa
    OP

    Newcomer maxiewawa Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    China
    My battery seems to be the problem.

    Don't buy the DS Firelink/Firecard! It's a crock!
     
  12. Rizsparky

    Member Rizsparky Saiyan Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,479
    Location:
    The Future
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dont diss the firecard just becuase of just a one off many other people dont have that prblem
     
  13. Giangsta

    Member Giangsta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Australia
    lucky i chose to purchase the TTDS instead *phew*

    i don't want to run the risk of getting one witha dead capacitor
     
  14. biz387

    Newcomer biz387 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ncards had a problem some time ago QC seems much better now! No cheats but top carts
     
  15. Glacius0

    Member Glacius0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Delete LASTSAVE.SDB in the DSYSTEM directory. Then get a rom that is definitely supposed to work without problems, like New Super Mario Bros. Start it without messing with the save types (it should be on Auto, I assume), play, save your game, and try soft-resetting (press ABXYLR).

    This does 2 things. One, deleting that file makes sure the firmware has no memory of any saves whatsoever, and two, in the case that your battery is dead it should still work with soft-reset since that way you never turn off your DS when backing up saves. Chances are just deleting the files will fix it though.
     

Share This Page