My R4i Gold 3DS just arrived today...

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Skelletonike, Oct 25, 2011.

Oct 25, 2011
  1. Skelletonike
    OP

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    So, like the tittle says, this flashcart arrived today, however, my cousin's DS Lite has it's ribbon cable ripped so I dunno if it'll work, is the only way for this to work, booting it on a DS?
     
  2. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are many carts calling themselves R4i Gold 3DS all using different kernels. What is the web address on the front of your cart?

    Does your R4i Gold 3DS work on your 3DS or DSi? If the answer is Yes then you do not need to apply the 3ds/DSi firmware update for your cart. If the answer is no then you need to borrow a DS/DS Lite to apply the update however you it would be better if you used a fully working DS/DS Lite to be on the safe side.
     
  3. Skelletonike
    OP

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Mine's the one from r4ids.cn =O

    Hum... I just put the cart with all the stuff downloaded and put on the memory card (the wood and the patches for ds and dsi), I ran the DS patch didn't work, but the DSi one worked. o.O


    Edit: I think I messed up... The Spongebob icon used to show, and now it doesn't detect the cart. *sobs*
     
  4. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    DS Patch??????? the DS does not have any firmware upgrades so doesn't need a patch.

    If you have a R4i Gold with 3DS on it then you should have run the


    patch only. Now it sounds like you've bricked your card by running the
    Time to send it back to the retailer and get a new one.
     
  5. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Why did you even try to update the card? If you were getting the Sponge Bob icon then it was already up-to-date. You should have just put the Wood firmware on it and used it.
     
  6. Skelletonike
    OP

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Because the wood.nds file wasn't loading. o.O
    And no, I didn't use the non-3ds one, I used the 3DS one. =O
     
  7. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    I also have the same R4 (except it's non-3DS) and it has contact issues sometimes which causes it to not get detected. Did you try reinserting a couple of times? Or wiggle it a tiny bit once you put it in.

    If it still doesn't work, you might be able to fix it by running the update from a DS Lite. But you'll need a second working flashcart.
     
  8. Skelletonike
    OP

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    I have an M3 Real for the DS, I'll try if it works with the shaking, but if it doesnt, what do I do with the other flashcart? o.O
     
  9. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    You need to download wood from R4iDS.cn. Any other version will not run. It also boots from _DS_MENU.DAT, Wood.nds or WoodR4.nds is not required.
     
  10. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    You're supposed to run the update from the M3 Real on a DS or DS Lite. Then in the middle of the update it will ask you to take out the M3 and put in the bricked R4 and continue with the update by pressing A or something.

    There should be 2 files in the update that you downloaded from r4ids.cn. Make sure you use the right file. I think it ends with _DSL.nds. Don't use the one that ends with _DSi.nds.
     
  11. Skelletonike
    OP

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    I think the problem was that my flashcart was already working, then I made the update, but I didn't know how to leave the update page so I removed the cartige while it was updating for like the 3rd time.
     
  12. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  13. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
     

Share This Page