my ps2's lazer has gone...

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Kyuzumaki, May 29, 2007.

May 29, 2007
  1. Kyuzumaki
    OP

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my PS2 has stopped loading DVD games it will still load cd games fine. I've heard you can mod ps2's to run from a hard drive just wandering if i could rip my ps2 games and then put them on a hrad drive so i can still play. I really don't want to have to buy a second console. Have researched a replacment laser but they cost £50 and you can get a ps2 on ebay for that price.

    The drive has already destroyed FFX and DOA2 for some reason it pushed the laser right into the disc [​IMG]

    I have a few old IDE hard drives lying around so I could ues one of those to try it out
     
  2. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I heard that on old PS2s, its simply a matter of tightening a screw on the laser to bring it back into focus or sumthin? Why not try that.

    As long as its not a slim PS2 you can run games off the HD fine, faster load times too I hear.

    Edit: No idea about the IDE drives though, was under the impression you'd need the PS2 specific one (feel free to correct me if im wrong anyone)
     
  3. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are a couple of things you can try, you can adjust the Radial Skew which is a cog that adjusts the height of the lens and if you don't have much luck with that you can try adjusting the DVD-POT, a small screw that adjusts the strength of the laser.

    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/laserPS2.htm

    I bought a broken PS2 a while back that wouldn't play any games but managed to get it to read CDs by adjusting the Radial Skew and then got it to work with DVDs by raising the DVD-POT level. It's stopped reading DVDs again now though and further POT adjustments aren't helping so maybe it was on it's way out. =/

    If you want to run games from a hard drive you will need a Network Adaptor and HD Loader/Advance boot disc. You can rip games to a hard drive from a PC. On a side note some games are incompatible with the HD Loader/Advance so it's worth a look at the compatibility list.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HD_Loader

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Kyuzumaki
    OP

    Member Kyuzumaki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i had a look at the network adapters they cost quite a bit but they are less than a new laser........

    I read through the info but i'm not totally clear to i need to chip my ps2 or will it work with a HDD and correct software??
     
  5. INTERNETS

    Member INTERNETS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    United States
    I do believe there are some versions of HD Loader that'll run without chips.
     
  6. pikachucrackpipe

    Member pikachucrackpipe President

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
  7. SeanoRLY?

    Member SeanoRLY? GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'd be best to just replace the laser to be honest, unless you don't get annoyed by the feeling that it's "broke" and you know you can fix it.
     
  8. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
    you can use hd through the usb. some of the later hdd loaders allow for that. i dont know where to get them though.
     
  9. SeanoRLY?

    Member SeanoRLY? GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, that is also possible, although loading games will be slow due to the USB device on the PS2 being so out dated.
     

Share This Page