My memory stick just lost half its capacity:(

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by rhyguy, Dec 2, 2007.

Dec 2, 2007
  1. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Its a vertabrim store and go 1GB stick, and my old one did this, so i sold it, and now it happened again:(
    it was 990MB, now its 495MB
    what could be reasons for this to happen, and how would i fix it?
     


  2. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Try a simple reformat and report back. As for reasons, I have no clue. Probably some corrupted files taking up a lot of space and damaging overall capacity I suppose
     
  3. roadbusta

    Member roadbusta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Australia
    Try formatting it. If that doesn't work check if it has been partitioned.
     
  4. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    try quick format instead of just format (Windows seXPee)
     
  5. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i did a quick format and its still 495 MB:(
     
  6. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    I have a similar problem with a Sandisk Ultra II 2GB SD card. Used it in some cheap-o MP3 player and now its only reading as a 1GB. I've tried everything mentioned above including formatting it in a digital camera, to no avail.

    The lesson here, dont stick your card in random/generic MP3 players, lord knows where they've been ~_~
     
  7. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Try this program:

    Panasonic SD formatter

    You have to install it, but it is specifically for formatting SD cards.

    See if that gives you your space back.
     
  8. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    the overwrite erase comes shows X/1056256 which i think is roughly how many kb there are in a gb, but then it says the drive doesnt support flash format and stops, so i only get 489 MB
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Don't use overwrite erase, just use quick.
     
  10. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    when that finishes, it is still 489MB
     
  11. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like the reader you're using doesn't support more the 512meg. Try a different reader. Try the USB one you got with your R4.
     
  12. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i was talking about a usb flash drive

    not a memory card

    sorry if that wasnt clear
     
  13. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I see now. Hmm....don't know what to do about that. Sorry.

    Maybe try going to the site of the peeps who made the card.
     
  14. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i just sent a thing to their support thing, so hopefully they'll fix it:)
     
  15. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Try putting files that are larger than "the capacity" of it right now.

    Like, 500mb total. See if it lets you do that.

    ~Nero
     
  16. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    verbatim sent me a special formatting tool that fixed it for me, this thread can be closed
     
  17. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    could u share it with others too? atleast name it since my friend has a similar problem.
     
  18. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    you have to email verbatim support with your serial number to get it, cause i deleted it
     
  19. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    what was its name?
     
  20. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    v-safe100vista.zip:)
     

Share This Page