My Games Freeze Up During Play - I'm Stumped

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by gambitking, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. gambitking
    OP

    Newcomer gambitking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'm very baffled by the issues with my games freezing up, and I've got no idea what to do at this point, having given great effort toward a resolution.

    I am running my backups on a 750GB Western Digital Caviar Green drive (WD7500ACS) in a WD MyBook enclosure. At first, it was NTFS, but after seeing freeze-ups and increasingly frequent problems, I switched to WBFS. I've finally become fed up as the problems were still continuing, so today I ran wbfs2fat on the drive and did an 'in-place' file system conversion to FAT32. I have been using USB Loader GX the whole time.

    I fired up the Wii and tested three games after the FAT32 switch. First game ran for about 15 minutes, then froze. I rebooted everything, tested another game, it ran for a little under 10 minutes. Then I tried New SMB Wii, got into the world map, moved one spot on the map and got a black screen.

    So I have no idea what's wrong, any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    A couple of ideas:
    Do you know what version of cIOS you have that running off of? There's a possibility your drive is just going to sleep and I think the later versions of the d2x cIOS (v8 is the latest final release at the moment) constantly keep in contact with the drive to keep it running. You might want to consider updating if you haven't.
    (In these cases, sometimes you can even hear the drive spin up right when it freezes. Sometimes the manufacturer will also have a settings program for their drives to disable the sleep mode / spindown. You could look into that.)

    Alternatively, I've seen people with random problems like this with a bad USB cable. If your enclosure lets you change cables and you have something else with a cable you can swap I'd suggest trying that to see if it helps. Also, make sure the cable isn't too stretched or pinched or anything.
     
  3. gambitking
    OP

    Newcomer gambitking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I've had my eye on the cIOS solution, I just haven't found a specific enough, easy-for-noobs guide on what exactly I need to do to update the cIOS to the one that keeps my HD from sleeping. Can you give me the run-down on how to apply that fix?

    As for Western Digital software or utilities to disable the sleep function, I've been down that road, it's a dead end. WD has no method for disabling power saving features on green drives. So I suppose I'm relying on the cIOS at this point? I will try anything.

    I've got a solid USB cable, great condition and no kinks or damage whatsover.

    EDIT: I think the solution I need is Hermes cIOS 222 , as this seems to be the one that applies the spindown fix. I'll update this post with my results after installation in case anyone else with the same problem wishes to explore this option.
     
  4. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    I know you seem to have gotten a fix but while you're at it, just in case, you could always give ModMii for Windows a copy of your syscheck log and it will automatically download everything you need to update anything that's out of date and give you a guide of how to apply it.
     
  5. gambitking
    OP

    Newcomer gambitking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, very cool, that sounds like a plan. Can I run that process directly from my Wii provided I'm connected to the internet?

    Thanks again!
     
  6. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Unfortunately, no. It's a computer program but it downloads the Wii apps you need and tells you what do to with them. Generally a very simple process.
     
  7. gambitking
    OP

    Newcomer gambitking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so before I jump into any rabbit holes, I wanted to mention a couple things, regarding my quest to install Hermes cIOS 222 ....

    I started with installation guide, and it says to run cIOS222 v4 Installer from the homebrew channel. My homebrew channel doesn't have that on there.

    So I went into Multi-Mod Manager and looked at my IOS'es installed, and for 222 it says "STUB". I don't know where to go from this point, so I thought it might be best if I can post a system check up here and see if you gurus can take a look and help me out.

    But I don't know how to go about getting a system check to post. Any help is appreciated here. I'd prefer to go through these motions before running ModMii
     
  8. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    I think part of the ModMii update will also put that version of 222 into place and stubs shouldn't give it any problems.
     
  9. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,915
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    http://gbatemp.net/t...a-system-check/
     
  10. gambitking
    OP

    Newcomer gambitking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Lucius, I'll be back shortly

    ...hopefully with a syscheck !
     
  11. gambitking
    OP

    Newcomer gambitking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I've got my SysCheck here, posted below. Please let me know if this helps point me to my next move. Also if anyone knows how I can install IOS222 , I could use help on that, I've only got Multi-Mod Manager, cIOS installer and d2x installer on homebrew (those seem to be the only relevant ones at least.)

    SYSCHECK:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Also I want to take this opportunity thank all of you for your generous and courteous help. Once I get the hang of this stuff I'll return the favor for future noobs like me :)

    UPDATE: Had to install cIOS236 in order to get IOS222, so I did that (thanks to binary clock on that by the way). Finally now have IOS222 installed so I'm going to do some testing and see if that fixes my games freezing issue.

    UPDATE 2: Okay so everything seemed to be fine in testing my games. I passed the 35 minute mark and thought I was good to go , but it did finally freeze up on me again. Just took longer. Maybe i need to 86 the HD
     

Share This Page