My friend just softmodded his wii and can't install WADs

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Ben., Jul 20, 2009.

  1. Ben.
    OP

    Member Ben. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He gets a -2011 error. He installed HBC using this http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=155844&st=15 guide and wants to install some WADs. The only application he has is wad manager and I'm not sure what to suggest since I used the twilight hack ages ago on a 3.2 system. Ideas?

    Edit:
    In short.
    Was a 4.0U virgin wii.
    He Installed HBC with Bannerbomb
    He Downloaded WAD manager.
    Attempted to install WAD.
    -2011
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    He doesn't have cIOS installed yet, that's why. Look for guides for the Trucha Bug Restorer app.
     
  3. Ben.
    OP

    Member Ben. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume cIOS 36 Rev XXX ?
     
  4. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    he doenst need cios to install wads, he needs the trucha bug. you cant install cios without the trucha bug first regardless.

    get trucha bug restorer and follow one of the guides already posted here.

    next time do some research before you go giving your mate advice.
     
  5. Ben.
    OP

    Member Ben. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou, although if you'd read I never gave any advice I said I didn't know what advice to give him.
     
  6. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    1. TBR -> Video Guide
    2. cIOS rev10+ installation -> Download

    And you will be done for a long time.
     
  7. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's pretty much the same thing I'd said.
     
  8. Ben.
    OP

    Member Ben. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, heres the thing.

    He successfully used the TBR.
    cIOS36 rev 9 refuses to install - error. He is trying rev 10 now. EDIT: 10 says it installs but gives -2011
    cIOS38 rev 13a installed but with -1 error apparently, so I assume it failed.
    WAD's still won't install.
     
  9. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    TBR makes IOS36 trucha bugged, doesn't it? Make sure that Wad Manager is running off of IOS36 when trying to install a wad.
     
  10. Ben.
    OP

    Member Ben. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    How could he check that?, when I run WAD manager I see "Custom IOS has been loaded".
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Wad Manager 1.4 lets you chose which one to run off of. And if that message is correct then cIOS did install and stuff should be working. Dunno why it isn't.
     
  12. Ben.
    OP

    Member Ben. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He used Wad Manager 1.4 set to use IOS 36 and it didn't work and gave error.
    I assume either the trucha bug isn't present or it hasn't updated to latest revision? That could be why he got an error trying to install rev 10?
     
  13. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Run Signcheck, it's on Wiibrew.
     
  14. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You shouldn't be trying to install your game wads, you should be installing this wad.

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=LGBHSDXK

    After that, you choose ios249 as your default ios and then install your game wads.
     

Share This Page