My flash drive is only being recognised as 500MB

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by rhyguy, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    when it says on the casing its 1GB:(

    anyone know why this could be?
     
  2. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Try formatting it. [​IMG]
     
  3. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i tried the right click format thing, but it still only comes up with the 500MB option in the list

    i'm going to try the advanced format now

    edit: I tried the advanced format, and it still doesnt work:(
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Memory hack? If you bought a generic flash drive from a chinese manufacturer then thats the case.

    Or maybe its just a 512 drive accidentally packaged into 1GB. Or maybe not accidentally.
     
  5. rhyguy
    OP

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    its a verbatim so [​IMG]

    I held a movie that was 700MB on it before so [​IMG] again...
     
  6. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    or maybe someone in your family jacked the flash drive and wrote 1GB on it [​IMG] possible..
     
  7. pikachucrackpipe

    Member pikachucrackpipe President

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,189
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    update your memory card reader drivers.
    had this problem on my laptop - had a 3 gig card and only saw 1 gig. updated the drivers and software, rebooted and then saw all 3 [​IMG]
     
  8. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where did you buy it?

    - Sam
     

Share This Page