Hacking My Ez Flash Omega Don't have Widescreen option for Gameboy and Gameboy Color

SkullYz

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 7, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
14
Country
France
Hi
(i am french and i used a translator for my problem so sorry if not accurate )
Recently I bought an Ez Flash Omega for My GBA SP, and to say that I like it, but wanting to play with GAMEBOY and GAMEBOY COLOR games,
I noticed that I didn't have the option to change the size of the screen in "Display" and having done research on youtube, everyone for this option except me so if anyone knows how to be able to have the option please answer me :unsure::yaysp:
 

Sterophonick

Stupid Retro Tech Cat
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
536
Trophies
0
Location
Spamton's Keygen Dungeon
Website
sterophonick.github.io
XP
1,793
Country
United States
This option cannot be enabled. Game Boy and Game Boy Color games are not using the hardware emulation that the GBA has. Instead, it is a software solution known as Goomba Color, created by Dwedit and FluBBa. As such, it doesn't have access to the scaling functionality that the hardware compatibility has.

Hope this answers your question!
 
  • Like
Reactions: SkullYz

DrunkenMonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
501
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,249
Country
United Kingdom
This option cannot be enabled. Game Boy and Game Boy Color games are not using the hardware emulation that the GBA has. Instead, it is a software solution known as Goomba Color, created by Dwedit and FluBBa. As such, it doesn't have access to the scaling functionality that the hardware compatibility has.

Hope this answers your question!
But wouldn't a dual-purpose cart be pretty possible though and not even prohibitively expensive, dual rom with fpga handling resetting the console and piggybacking the cart detect on the clk pin, though it would mean a hard mod on the console itself coupled with the loss of gameboy camera(?) functionality and mbc7 games - not sure on the ability to work around that and this is just essentially a shower thought but I personally see no downside to losing that functionality on a gba for the added bonus of an AIO cart without using software emulation, and also with the ability to nail every other game though I don't envy anyone who'd take something like that up as a project lmao
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,536
Trophies
1
XP
7,431
Country
Tuvalu
I don't want to try to force my views on others, but! good - you should play games in the correct aspect ratio, strange to have them stretched.

Although surprising that goomba can't stretch them for you, I've never used it but thought it was be an easy feature to add.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,282
Trophies
1
XP
9,307
Country
United Kingdom
But wouldn't a dual-purpose cart be pretty possible though and not even prohibitively expensive, dual rom with fpga handling resetting the console and piggybacking the cart detect on the clk pin, though it would mean a hard mod on the console itself coupled with the loss of gameboy camera(?) functionality and mbc7 games - not sure on the ability to work around that and this is just essentially a shower thought but I personally see no downside to losing that functionality on a gba for the added bonus of an AIO cart without using software emulation, and also with the ability to nail every other game though I don't envy anyone who'd take something like that up as a project lmao
Back in the day there was an adapter board that you could plug a GBA flash cart into, and would let you run GB games from it by communicating with the console in GB mode.
 

DrunkenMonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2007
Messages
501
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,249
Country
United Kingdom
Back in the day there was an adapter board that you could plug a GBA flash cart into, and would let you run GB games from it by communicating with the console in GB mode.
oh sure that way it would mean no worrying about the GBA cart detection being triggered, big brain and doesn't require the hard mod with loss of functionality (though the functionality you'd lose imo is pointless and not hard to just have a second gameboy for those very specific outliers)
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,509
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,483
Country
Norway
This option cannot be enabled. Game Boy and Game Boy Color games are not using the hardware emulation that the GBA has. Instead, it is a software solution known as Goomba Color, created by Dwedit and FluBBa. As such, it doesn't have access to the scaling functionality that the hardware compatibility has.

Hope this answers your question!
It sounds like he's referring to an emulator option and not the built in GB(C) mode scaling on the GBA. I can't remember if there is such an option in Goomba (and it's been a while since i used it anyway so it was probably an older version) and I don't have an Omega to test but it's not like such a thing is impossible or even difficult to do in software. PocketNES on the GBA has scaling to make games fit on screen. Actually, the scaling used by that is quite a bit more advanced than the GBA as it uses some kind of filtering, whereas the GBA simply used nearest neighbor scaling. Nearest neighbor scaling is the easiest thing to do, but not necessarily the best looking in all cases.
Back in the day there was an adapter board that you could plug a GBA flash cart into, and would let you run GB games from it by communicating with the console in GB mode.
But it only worked with carts that didn't have a kernel/loader to select games and instead booted the game directly and you could only put one game on (well unless there was some public GB mode multi-loader you could flash on, not sure)
Wouldn't be much good for modern flashcarts today where we expect to simply be put into a menu with all of the games and instantly launch any of them, without lengthy flashing processes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hippy dave

koffieleut

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
604
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
probably at home
XP
1,324
Country
Netherlands
As far as I know, when you insert a GBA cartridge into a GBA it will boot up with 3volts and the GBA bios loads, when booting a gb or GBC game it will boot up with 5 volts and the GBC bios loads.

There's a small switch on the cartridge connector on the GBA main board that if pressed it uses 5v and GBC bios, if not use 3.3v and GBA bios.

Source: http://www.hardwarebook.info/Game_Pak
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: when i have to mix it, on the other hand