My DS Lite stopped working

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Tokas, Mar 26, 2007.

Mar 26, 2007

My DS Lite stopped working by Tokas at 12:06 PM (1,979 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Tokas
    OP

    Member Tokas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi people!

    I got kinda a problem.

    My DS Lite stopped working after i accidentally dropped it on the floor.
    But the thing is, it was dropped at low hight (less than 80cm (30thumb)) at a wooden floor. It shouldn´t take much of damage?

    Anyway, right now it wont start. I press (drag) the powerbutton and nothing happens. I can see no physical damage, its just stopped working.

    Do someone have any idea what to do?

    Thanks!
     
  2. fli_guy84

    Member fli_guy84 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Maybe the battery is somehow loose. Try opening the cover to check it.
     
  3. Tokas
    OP

    Member Tokas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Sweden
    Allready have, but no use.

    I even have spare battery, and it still dosn´t work..
     
  4. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    you probably broke a connection.
     
  5. Tokas
    OP

    Member Tokas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Sweden
    Okej.

    But how do I fix it?
     
  6. Bullshirt

    Newcomer Bullshirt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Canada
    See if Nintendo will replace it for you. It would probably take a while for you to get it back but better than opening it and ruining it further.
     
  7. eseyo1

    Newcomer eseyo1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    San Ramon, California
    Country:
    United States
    If it was me, I would open it up and check to see if any of the connections came apart. However, if you don't have any experience with the hardware or the right tools, I don't recommend doing that. Warranty doesn't cover dropping the DS. You could send it in to Nintendo for repairs, but its a hefty fee.
     
  8. Black Obama

    Newcomer Black Obama Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    ouch you bricked your ds, you dont know what came loose inside so you could destroyed your ds more if you dont know what you are doing.
     
  9. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    dont void ur warrenty and send into Nintendo! (make sure they'll fix it first!)
     
  10. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't open it! I broke my DSL that way [​IMG]

    It's most likely a severed connection between either the LCD screens or the microphone/bios/wifi, any of which, when disconnected, will stop the unit from powering on (this is done by my own testing when I opened it, so I may be wrong [​IMG])
     
  11. Takrin

    Member Takrin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    shake it, does it rattle? i've bought NDSL from ebay for about 60 bucks that rattled, it was a loose smd resister, which i soldered back on and works just like new. i've also dropped my dsl on its power button and broke the slider when you go to turn it on does it feel normal?

    finally it could be something comming loose, i doubt its a cut connection prob a cable or bios came out but anyhow if you dont know what to do then mail it back to nintendo

    if your warrenty is over, you can mail it to me, i can take a look at it to see if i can find anything wrong, (free of charge but you pay shipping both ways) i can attempt to fix but its not a promise since it could be anything.


    *Edit*
    oops i guess shipping is not a option since your kinda far, just send it off to nintendo they'll fix it, think they charge like $50 if you dont have warrenty or maybe less.
     
  12. Tokas
    OP

    Member Tokas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks for the help. [​IMG]

    But I cant use the warranty, and if I send the DS to Nintendo I have to pay about 150 USD, and with that money I could buy a new one instead. [​IMG]

    So right now the only option for me are to try to fix it myself. I will look for the connections you mentioned, 4saken.

    Does anyone else have some tips on how I may fix my DS?

    Thanks!
     
  13. SpoonyB

    Newcomer SpoonyB Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Try charging your batteries.
     
  14. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    He said he did.

    EDIT: Look at thieveslikeus' guide (stickied) to open your DS. Just a warning: Be very careful. My DSL was all fine till I put it back together. When I was finished I realised I had broken something. Take your time to check for anything going wrong.
     
  15. fli_guy84

    Member fli_guy84 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Okay, off topic. I got this rattle problem too, but it doesn't affect the DSL in any way at all.

    When your DS rattled, did it work fine?
     
  16. ps2.au

    Member ps2.au Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    Australia
    feel sorry for u too
     
  17. Takrin

    Member Takrin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    nope didnt even turn on, it could be a resistor loose or broken peice of plastic, alot of things work if it just has one small loose thing. my ps1 i modded with a soldering gun poped a resistor and it still functioned on most of the game, just didnt load my final fantasy game and few others, but most games did work fine might not have been healthy for the ps1 though
     

Share This Page