My cousin is having troubles with his R4DS.

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ChaosBoi, Jun 11, 2007.

Jun 11, 2007
  1. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    He has the latest firmware right now but it seems that everytime he plays a game, it randomly freezes. Does anyone know why or how to fix it?
     
  2. theADDict

    Member theADDict GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check he originally formatted to FAT or FAT16 ?
    Is he using a decent micro sd card ?
     
  3. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    What games randomly freeze as well.
     
  4. Evilkoko

    Member Evilkoko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    I sometimes get freezes using my r4ds formatted with FAT and FAT32 using Kingston JPN 1gb on all types of games.
     
  5. Ad_Enuff

    Member Ad_Enuff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could be simply down to a faulty card. To test that theory is to try another card and perhaps another brand as well.

    I use SanDisk ULTRA II 2Gb formatted with FAT32 and it works 100%....except the usual problems with Castlevania PoR.

    You may also wish to check your ROMS by using clrMAMEpro (http://www.clrmame.com) and the latest DAT from ADVANsCEne (http://www.advanscene.com) to check if they are 100% fully working/correct scene dumps. If they are corrupted that may cause issues.
     
  6. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    To theADDict, FAT and FAT16 are the same.
    To TC,
    Did you download your ROMs from the same website? Chances are, the ROM dumps you got are faulty. Try getting them from other sources. Also, make sure the ROMs are 100% clean.
     
  7. theADDict

    Member theADDict GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh ZEF, I knew that, I should of typed FAT/FAT16 ... my mistake.
    Thats what i always recommend my customers, and never heard of one with any problems what so ever.
    Except for broken springs GGGRRRRRR !! [​IMG]
     
  8. nycwii

    Newcomer nycwii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    FAT is good.
    ur micro sd isnt stable, try a different micro sd.

    i sell these and have seen many different problems
     
  9. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    The broken spring isint really a problem.
    Just open op your R4 and remove it.
    The R4 is even better that way [​IMG]
     
  10. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    His R4 freezes with all games. And as for the Micro SD, he has the same one I do (1GB Kingston) except mine doesn't freeze at all. I'll have to get my MicroSD checked on his the next time he comes over I guess.
     
  11. damnet

    Member damnet GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Brazil
    some say the kingston ones made in taiwan don't work so good with the R4, also tell him to leave some spare space on the microsd, about 10% is enough I think, oh yeah and also he may be using bad dumps, get roms only from good sources(hint: mIRC), p2p is not very good for that...
     
  12. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, let's see how many things you are doing wrong by this post. First of all, you are merely restating what others have previously stated in this very thread about SD cards, then you are saying that it might be a bad dump (which was already covered), then you are breaking forum rules, or at the very least bending them by discussing where to obtain illegal copies of a game. Great job. [​IMG]
     
  13. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    My R4 with 1.09 kernel and Kingston 1GB Japan, has tendency to freeze very frequently in a short period of time (like few days), and then never freezes for a long time.

    When you transfer files from one media to another, there's always a small chance of some file corruption can happen. (Thats why archives come with CRC check)
    My guess is some screwed reference was created in your brothers memory card while transferring, which could affect the whole memory card (meaning all games)

    Simply remove all games from memory cards, and then put back a couple and check it if got better. This is a quicker alternative to formatting. (If problem persists though, format is the way to go)
     
  14. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Well, my MicroSD is made in Taiwan but his is made in Japan :\ (Except I have an M3 Simply instead of an R4). Pretty much all the games he has, I copied them from my MicroSD. He still has like 200-300MB left I think.
     
  15. damnet

    Member damnet GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Brazil
    Ok I confess I didn't read the rest of the posts, but the rom source thing... come on, mIRC can be Used for a number of other things than just warez... If I ever gave him a channel THEN I'd be breaking the rules, so please if you have nothing useful to say just stay quiet, your useless post, apart from making me look bad, hasn't helped anybody...


    And ChaosBoi, given he has a japan made kingston, plenty of free space and good dumps the only conclusion that can be taken is that it is a faulty Microsd OR R4, the R4 is nice, but it's most unreliable...

    Also have you tried a reformat like deathfisaro said?
     
  16. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Why don't you try formatting the R4 with FAT and 64Kbyte sectors? I've heard that this clears things up.
     
  17. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tried it yet but I'll see what I can do whenever my cousin comes over.
     
  18. Smwbigboss

    Newcomer Smwbigboss Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if this is the case with your cousin, but whenever I touch the R4 while it's playing a game, the game freezes up and the DS won't recognize the card unless you take it out and put it back in again.

    So try tapping lightly on the card while playing a game to see if it does anything.
     

Share This Page