My 8GB sdhc card doesn't work with my M3 Real.

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by bonita, Aug 5, 2008.

Aug 5, 2008
  1. bonita
    OP

    Newcomer bonita Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    (I'll try to make my problem as clear as possible, but English is not my native language, so I hope you can understand what I mean and don't get irritated because I used the wrong grammar)

    Last week I've bought a M3 Real Rumble RAM Pack. I also bought a Sandisk 4 GB SDHC card. Everything worked and still works perfectly.

    But, I've downloaded so much ROMS and I thought it would be fun to have all those ROMS on one SDHC card. So I bought a new one, exactly the same Sandisk, 8GB.
    I've made two folders, one called SYSTEM with the same firmware I used on de 4GB card (I simply unpacked it once more on my 8GB card), and one folder called NDS (I've copied all the ROMS to this map, only NDS roms).

    So, I put it in my NDSlite and choose the first Icon which I also use when I open the 4 GB card. Everything seems normal, but some games are over 10.000 MB and most of the games are 0 MB. When I stick this SD card in my computer, the files are completely normal and the size is also like it should be. So it seems that my M3 real is not able to read my SD properly.

    This are the things I already tried to make this work:
    I went back to the store, and traded it for a new one (same SD card)and repeated all the steps but it still isn't working!
    I've used the format mode (how do you call this in English, it erases all the files ) but that doesn't solve the problem either..
    I've downloaded the firmware again, erased the other one and unpacked the new firmware to my SD card
    I opened the SD card in another computer, but everything seems to be OK.


    So, my M3real DOES play the 4 GB but not the same 8GB card. Can anyone help me? I've asked so many people but no one knows what to do, I'm getting a bit desperate! Please ask if you need any more information.

    Thanks,

    Bonita
     
  2. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Where did you buy it? I'm ordering one for my SCDS1, so I hope it's good. If it doesn't work, contact the site or seller, and don't tell me you got it off of eBay, DealExtreme and Newegg are good sites. So where did you order from?
     
  3. bonita
    OP

    Newcomer bonita Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Do you mean where I got my SD card from or my M3 card?

    Both the sd cards are from a huge electronica store, well known all over the country, so I'm sure that the SD cards are real.
    I've bought the M3 card from a person I know, so I don't think he would sell me any crappy stuff, but the M3 card is working fine with 4GB so I don't think it's the M3 card that causes the problem.

    The strangest fact is that the 4 GB is working perfect but the 8GB not, it's so frustrating!

    Could sakura solve this problem?
    Or is there something like a limit of games the DS can list, there are 164 roms on it right now

    Sorry if I'm saying some very weird things right now, I'm just thinking of some things that can cause or solve this problem, I'm new with this..
     
  4. triple-sevenz

    Member triple-sevenz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    how many games are on the nds folder? make more folders. i heard it cant read over 128 files.
     
  5. bonita
    OP

    Newcomer bonita Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It works!!!
    Thank you so much!!!
     
  6. triple-sevenz

    Member triple-sevenz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    how did u fix it? did u do wat i told u to do?
     
  7. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    i think he did wht u said
    btw thank you for helping me too
    i will be buying 8gb soon so this helped me alot
     
  8. triple-sevenz

    Member triple-sevenz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    i just got an 8gb myself. although i have yet to fill it with more than 3gb of stuff, it seems to work fine.
     

Share This Page