My 3DS got bricked in a *VERY* weird way and I can't find a way to fix it. Please help...

retrospect

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
490
Trophies
0
XP
788
Country
If the issue is to do with the onboard storage, you should still be able to use emuNAND, which uses a portion of your SD card for the firmware files. This should work even if the onboard storage chip is damaged. GM9 can restore your sysNAND backup to emuNAND on a new SD card, then you'd just copy your files to the card as normal (ideally from a known good back-up).
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,458
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
7,333
Country
United States
Taking a screenshot on the 3DS main menu says "an error has occurred with an operation with the SD card". This happens with all the SD cards I have.
Does the camera work at all? And does it display the surroundings, and it just freezes when you click take a pic?
GodMode9 and the Luma3DS settings menu work correctly for some reason. GodMode9 even shows me the remaining battery and hour of the console correctly.
Can you perform a CTRTransfer? Just to eliminate the issue is not software related problem, if you get an error doing that in GodMode9, i suggest using a free sd card, formatting fat32 32kb and testing with h2testw if you haven't done already, if you did, skip this step.
If you've encountered an error on GodMode9 starts to act weirdly, take a picture with your phone and post it here.
If that didn't work, you can also try CTRTransfer type D9 by @TurdPooCharger .

Other things you can check, if it's hardware problem, do this only after you've done the above, open up your 3DS re-seat the WiFi chip by taking it off and placing it snuggly again.

Doing the same to the sd card reader.

The only other thing left is the cameras, and if they're malfunctioning (confirmed if they crash the system when you take a pic, the issue described above), it's a painful process to to fix/replace, i hope it's not the case for you.
 

RaitoADV

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Sonora
XP
31
Country
Mexico
Does the camera work at all? And does it display the surroundings, and it just freezes when you click take a pic?

Can you perform a CTRTransfer? Just to eliminate the issue is not software related problem, if you get an error doing that in GodMode9, i suggest using a free sd card, formatting fat32 32kb and testing with h2testw if you haven't done already, if you did, skip this step.
If you've encountered an error on GodMode9 starts to act weirdly, take a picture with your phone and post it here.
If that didn't work, you can also try CTRTransfer type D9 by @TurdPooCharger .

Other things you can check, if it's hardware problem, do this only after you've done the above, open up your 3DS re-seat the WiFi chip by taking it off and placing it snuggly again.

Doing the same to the sd card reader.

The only other thing left is the cameras, and if they're malfunctioning (confirmed if they crash the system when you take a pic, the issue described above), it's a painful process to to fix/replace, i hope it's not the case for you.
I've tried the CTRTransfer tutorial, but I'm stuck on step 24 because I can't access the System Settings. Everything before worked fine.

I'll probably check the hardware problem with someone I know (I've never opened a 3DS and I had bad experiences trying to fix hardware myself e_e). I'll update later when I get the time to do it.
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,458
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
7,333
Country
United States
I've tried the CTRTransfer tutorial, but I'm stuck on step 24 because I can't access the System Settings.
So the result is the same as it was before, and highlighting the system settings icon on the home menu causes it to crash the 3DS, right?
Everything before worked fine.
Good.
I'll probably check the hardware problem with someone I know (I've never opened a 3DS and I had bad experiences trying to fix hardware myself e_e). I'll update later when I get the time to do it.
Hey it shouldn't be that difficult, just open up the system with a standard Philips screw driver, (look up online disassembly videos, if you're not sure), the WiFi chip should be easy to spot as well as the sd card reader. Depending on the model, this IFIXIT guide is for the old 3DS on how to replace (in this case how to re-seat) the WiFi chip, and this is for the sd card reader.

Also this :>
Does the camera work at all? And does it display the surroundings, and it just freezes when you click take a pic?
 

megahog2012

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
422
Country
United States
Hey I have the same issue, I checked all if the camera is working and it doesn't, I checked if the connections for the SD and Wifi adapter and they are both snugged in their (and I did reseat them) But still nothing worked. Has anyone found the solution to this problem yet?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,277
Trophies
2
XP
19,938
Country
United States
Hey I have the same issue, I checked all if the camera is working and it doesn't, I checked if the connections for the SD and Wifi adapter and they are both snugged in their (and I did reseat them) But still nothing worked. Has anyone found the solution to this problem yet?
the camera could be your problem. I don't think the vita will boot up either if something is wrong with the camera.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,996
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,215
Country
Norway
Hey I have the same issue, I checked all if the camera is working and it doesn't, I checked if the connections for the SD and Wifi adapter and they are both snugged in their (and I did reseat them) But still nothing worked. Has anyone found the solution to this problem yet?
Do you have a New 3DS/2DS XL by any chance? The "super-stable 3D" feature of the n3DS/2DS XL relies on the camera, and prevents the console from working correctly if the camera is not working, on the old 3DS/2DS this is not an issue AFAIK.
What I've read some people do is uninstall the system module that does the face tracking and it restores their console to fully working minus super-stable 3D and camera. As many people don't use 3D and the camera is hardly used in games that isn't a great loss for many people, the other way to fix it is to replace the hardware.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,996
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,215
Country
Norway
Okay what module do I remove?
Can't find the post I was thinking of but apparently you can unplug the ribbon cable and that works too:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-3ds-xl-screens-only-display-recovery-mode.515760/page-2#post-8233350

Edit: It's this one:
https://www.3dbrew.org/wiki/QTM_Services
Title ID 0004013020004202 name "qtm"
Can be uninstalled with FBI.
But the common symptom for this is a black screen on the home menu (with sound) or a crash with "qtm" clearly mentioned in the Luma3DS error message. Is that what you experience?
https://gbatemp.net/threads/3ds-errordisp-luma.494511/
Have a look at this thread, which relates to the issue I'm talking about.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,458
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
7,333
Country
United States
Hey I have the same issue, I checked all if the camera is working and it doesn't, I checked if the connections for the SD and Wifi adapter and they are both snugged in their (and I did reseat them) But still nothing worked. Has anyone found the solution to this problem yet?
What led to the issue exactly? Were you encountering Arm11 errors? When and where? if so..
Have you tried doing ctrtransfer? If you did, did it complete successfully?
And i assume your sd card is checked with h2testw, because if not, you have to make sure before any serious troubleshooting.
 

megahog2012

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 10, 2012
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
422
Country
United States
So far I did not see any Arm11 error screen. I have done the CTRtransfer instructions up until the point I have to go to the system settings, the system freezes if I select any Icon besides the grid resizer Icon.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,996
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,215
Country
Norway
So far I did not see any Arm11 error screen. I have done the CTRtransfer instructions up until the point I have to go to the system settings, the system freezes if I select any Icon besides the grid resizer Icon.
Make sure "Disable ARM11 exception handler" is NOT turned on in Luma3DS by holding Select on boot. It's likely you have it turned on and that's why you're not seeing the error screen.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe

RaitoADV

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
Sonora
XP
31
Country
Mexico
New update on this: It has been fixed!

Aparently the Wi-Fi card got damaged and that was causing the issue. Thanks for your help guys!
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: No impact on life but the lie was to her taste