My 1GB Kingston was Taiwan...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by coolbho3000, Jun 11, 2007.

Jun 11, 2007
  1. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Is the Taiwan version really that bad? Besides the speed differences, what should I look out for?

    I don't have a MicroSD reader or my R4 yet to test the card.

    Anyone else have this card? Are there any issues besides the speed?

    I just keep getting bad luck. [​IMG]
     
  2. Albertoil

    Newcomer Albertoil Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Somewhere in Nowhere.
    Country:
    United States
  3. yukine

    Member yukine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    I have two, and they work great.

    They are marginally different, the Japan made cards are just slightly faster and holds more data.
     
  4. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    personally, i think its worth the 10 bucks (man, prices sure have dropped huh?) to get a second 1gb microSD (japan) for the faster speeds, and maybe hold some less-played games on the taiwan. thats what i do at least.
     
  5. MCTF

    Newcomer MCTF Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Portugal
    Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin is worth spending 10€ for a Japan card. Trust me.
    Also, it's a safeguard against future releases that may also depend on speed like PoR.
     
  6. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the picture in the place you bought it from shows it as being Japanese then it's in your customer rights to ask for a Japanese one as the picture was false advertising.

    - Sam
     
  7. yukine

    Member yukine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    It's true you can't play PoR, but every other game has played flawless since PoR came out. There's really nothing to worry about.

    Besides, you should buy the real cart of PoR because it's just that good.
     
  8. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Nah, I bought it from Newegg.

    I'll just deal with the slower speeds then.
     
  9. gaboumafou

    Member gaboumafou GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    Canada
    How can you tell the difference between a Taiwan card and a Japan card? I tought mine was a Taiwan one since it's written "Taiwan" on it, but I played Castlevania POR quite a lot (I'm in the middle of the Pyramid level) and never had a single freeze, even at the "warp stones". Is it possible that I have a Japan one, or was I lucky to never freeze/is the freeze bug corrected?
     
  10. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have an R4 (if the DS-X team keeps pulling their general shenanigans I will in a few months...) but is the issue over the Kingston card the actual manufacturing plant, or is it just a bad dump that works better on some cards than others? Is it the Application or the hardware, i guess is my question. Perhaps it is a combination of both.
     
  11. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    You just got lucky and yours was a fast Taiwan.

    Or Kingston did some quality checking on their neglected plants (I sure hope mine was in the same batch as yours then).
     
  12. sipoon

    Member sipoon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Could it be the way it is formatted?

    I have a no name 1gb taiwanese microsd that plays
    all tony hawks without lag, and POR so far hasnt crashed (just played 3 hours into it, yes i can teleport)
     
  13. gaboumafou

    Member gaboumafou GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    Canada
    Ahah, cool! [​IMG]

    I was a little disapointed to see that I got a Taiwan one at first, but, in the end, it turned out to be a good surprise!! [​IMG]

    Is it the end of the Taiwan card that are imcompatible with POR...? [​IMG]
     
  14. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Anyone with a new Taiwan mind testing the speeds on the thing? I've yet to recieve my MicroSD - PC adapter.
     
  15. IBNobody

    Member IBNobody I try to keep myself amused.

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Texas, Hang 'Em High
    Country:
    United States
    I used the R4's MicroSD adaptor and ATTO disk benchmark.

    I own 1 Jap and 2 Taiwan cards.

    Here are the MB/sec transfer rates for a full card write / read.

    Japanese:
    10388/4522

    Taiwan:
    10106/5138
    10156/5154

    The taiwan cards read slower but write faster.

    Take heart, though... PoR still crashed when using my Jap card. I did some research, and I found that...

    FORMATTING YOUR CARD AS FAT16 WITH 64k ALLOCATION UNITS (SECTORS) FIXES PoR LOCKUPS!

    I've played through the remaining 70% of PoR on my TAIWAN card and haven't had a single lock-up.
     
  16. Quay Cur

    Newcomer Quay Cur Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa, nice info IBNobody.

    Anyone on here know how to do the FAT 16/64K cluster thing on Mac OS X? I've never had to so I have no idea.
     
  17. coolbho3000
    OP

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    What about random access? I read somewhere that Taiwan was 1ms slower in random access than Japan cards.

    I'll do the FAT and 64k thing, thanks for bringing that to mind. [​IMG]
     
  18. mr deez

    Member mr deez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same story here, 64k clusters sorted my Taiwan kingston and no hint of a problem since...
     
  19. Quay Cur

    Newcomer Quay Cur Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    I think an official GBAtemp test and review is order
     
  20. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    My 1GB Kingston Japanese was freezing too, so I decided to try the FAT16 with 64K as was advised in #ndstemp and it hasn't crashed since (4 hours in).
     

Share This Page