multiple emus on one dvd disc

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by jalaneme, Mar 22, 2008.

Mar 22, 2008

multiple emus on one dvd disc by jalaneme at 7:47 PM (2,740 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    anyone know how to do this? (for orignal xbox) i want to put n64 snes genesis and master system all in one dvd, is it possible? i have the c xbox tool to compile a iso but i don't know how to put all the emus on the dvd, i don't want to waste multiple dvds for various emus.
     


  2. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are Big Ass Emulator discs (4 in total) out there, they have emulators on them along with a large collection of ROMs.

    To make your own it would either have to be an XISO disc that you just browse through (easy to do) or make a menu for it, which I have no idea how to do.
     
  3. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah i've heard of those discs but the emulators in them are outdated that's why i want to make my own compilation.
     
  4. Man18

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    If your XBOX is modded via soft modding or a mod chip you dont need to make an iso just a data disc (cdrw will work on some, if you can burn dvds you can use those.

    http://www.copying-xbox-games.com/burning-xbox-games.php

    If you are using a stock hdd you will be able to put a lot of games on there and use little space. Its been years since i have modded an xbox or even used one. I bought a larger hdd for mine. I cant really help much unless you have a chipped xbox so im sorry for that.

    Here is a list of xbox emus.
    http://worldofstuart.excellentcontent.com/.../xbox/xemus.htm
     
  5. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    some xbox can't read cdrs, i would prefer to have all the emus i want on one dvd, i've also heard that extracting the roms and emus on the hard drive causes problems? i have a soft modded xbox btw and i know about all the emus available already, just want to know how to put multiple emus on one dvd, i'm sure it's possible.
     
  6. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All should read CD-RW.
    You can put them on the HDD but you have a file name length limit.
    Putting them on a DVD will work but you might have to configure them to save properly (depending where they try to save), but you won't have a menu unless you make your own.
     
  7. Man18

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    He wont need a menu if he puts them on the hdd, using a dash will work.

    I remember a menu/iso maker that i used once in a while that could make a secondary dash that boots off a dvd (for xbmc and porn, i admit it). When I find it i will edit this and post it.

    Addition, i got it from XBINS and i think it just made an XBE and i used a program to make it an iso to boot. Its been about 4-5 years so i dont fully remember.
     
  8. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm a girl... and i already have a iso maker program c xbox tools.
     
  9. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make a folder, put the emulator and ROMs into it. Repeat for the other emulators.
    Don't have anything in the root, burn as a normal disc (unless you have a menu for it).
     
  10. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so it will work fine as a normal data disc on a dvd then? will the xbox be able to read the files on the data disc fine? will this all work for the n64 emu zsnexbox and xboyadvance?
     
  11. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It should, the only reason you would need an XISO is because it needs to boot (sorry I made a typo earlier).
     
  12. Man18

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    IIRC you can use XBMC to boot anything off a disc. I dont remember if AVA/EVOX/the one that looks like the M$dash were able to actually look through a disc without an app.

    Add:
    XBMC link.
    http://xbmc.org/
     
  13. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so the only reason you will need a xiso is when you are using evo and other os apart from xbmc?
     
  14. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TBH I'm not sure, they should be able to look through it and load the emu's though.
    I can burn a disc and test it later.

    AFAIK all dashboards need the disc to be an XISO to boot it as a "game", but if there is no menu it shouldn't matter.
     
  15. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, well i will test with a data disc when the xbox arrives or if you can post back results here that would be cool, so the the only reason you will need a xiso is if you are booting retail games? is that what you are tying to say? the emus have included a default.xbe file, is that the menu file?
     
  16. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, the default.xbe is the loader, if it was an XISO it would automatically boot the disc if the default.xbe is present in the root of the disc.
    The xbe can house other things like the menu, etc.
     
  17. Man18

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    The newer versions may, I was never able to do so back in the day using a dash. I always used XBMC for anything that was on a disc. You may not be able to save but using one of the many file managers (which most actually boot things off a disc) you can copy the emus xbe onto the root f or c or what ever file you use for apps and boot it through the main dash.



    Also FTP was 2 slow without a crossover cable/ethernet so i used the dvd way to transfer files more than anything else back in the day.
     
  18. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so basically, burn everything to disc in thier corresponding folders, put it in the xbox, go to the emulator i want to boot on the dvd, selecet the default.xbe and then boot up the emu and roms on the dvd that way?
     
  19. Man18

    Member Man18 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Yup. It may or may not save correctly depending. The older versions didnt have the support to save anywhere other than the place the rom was.
     
  20. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i am using the latest emus and all the roms are in one big folder categorized by their systems, i think it should be ok.
     

Share This Page