Tutorial Multiple emuMMC setup, including restoring a clean NAND for online use

Jhonfer21

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 20, 2020
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
68
Country
Colombia
In the end I couldn't do the memory format. (I think it is failing) my question is to do hekate emumc with SD FILE. having the 2 emummc.
since the files remain in memory. Can I officially go through the upgrade process for a clean Nintendo console? and the other emummc with pirate games. ? I don't want my original system to be banned or updated WhatsApp Image 2020-06-22 at 1.45.20 PM.jpegWhatsApp Image 2020-06-22 at 1.43.39 PM.jpegWhatsApp Image 2020-06-22 at 1.44.51 PM.jpeg
 

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
709
Country
Brazil
In the end I couldn't do the memory format. (I think it is failing) my question is to do hekate emumc with SD FILE. having the 2 emummc.
since the files remain in memory. Can I officially go through the upgrade process for a clean Nintendo console? and the other emummc with pirate games. ? I don't want my original system to be banned or updated

It doesn't matter if you use SD raw partitions or SD file based (when I wrote the tutorial the latter was not recommended).
If you’re flashing a really clean NAND it’s okay to update in the official way.
Just don't forget to do a new backup then, and only use the NAND with the original firmware to create dirty emuMMCs from now on.
 

PSxed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
457
Country
Netherlands
I'm trying to find a way to create two emunand partitions on my 512gb. One for my 5 year old son and one for me. Since Nintendo doesn't offer seperate user accounts, this seems like the next perfect option. Thanks for the guide!
 
  • Like
Reactions: kassio69

Andalitez

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
495
Trophies
0
Location
Final Space
XP
1,121
Country
United States
I'm trying to find a way to create two emunand partitions on my 512gb. One for my 5 year old son and one for me. Since Nintendo doesn't offer seperate user accounts, this seems like the next perfect option. Thanks for the guide!
File based partitions are now working really well.
Have you considered creating two of those?
 

PSxed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
457
Country
Netherlands
File based partitions are now working really well.
Have you considered creating two of those?
They do? No i haven't, since my switch knowledge is still stuck in 2019 and i was assuming that a file based system wasn't an option. Thanks for the heads up, gonna experiment with that later tonight.
 

smoothie_time

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2020
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
23
Country
United States
How did you originally set up cfw? I am thinking about buying a unpatched switch and I am kinda new to this. How would I go about setting up cfw to then run two EmuMMC's?
 

PSxed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
457
Country
Netherlands
@kassio69 I have it somewhat working thanks to your guide. I only have a slight problem and that is that i can't boot a specific emummc partition using my own hekate_ipl.ini config.

I have to pick the either one of the partitions through the hekate "emmumc" option. And after that both options in my hekate_ipl.ini will boot that specific emummc i've chosen.

Any idea what the problem is? I already tried deleting the "emummc.ini" that is generated when picking an emummc partition. I thought it was maybe overruling my hekate ini but it isn't.

My hekate_ipl.ini is as follow:
Code:
[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
autohosoff=0
autonogc=0
backlight=100
bootwait=3
updater2p=0
verification=1


[Son]
emummcforce=1
emupath=emuMMC/RAW1
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
icon=bootloader/res/atmosphere.bmp
logopath=bootloader/bootlogo.bmp

[Psxed]
emummcforce=1
emupath=emuMMC/RAW2
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
icon=bootloader/res/atmosphere.bmp
logopath=bootloader/bootlogo.bmp
 

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
709
Country
Brazil
@kassio69Any idea what the problem is? I already tried deleting the "emummc.ini" that is generated when picking an emummc partition. I thought it was maybe overruling my hekate ini but it isn't.
[/code]

That's strange, it was fixed on Hekate 5.2.1. Read here:
https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/issues/401
https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/issues/421

And as the dev commented: "The emupath= overrides the emummc.ini in ram".

Are you using latest Hekate?
Are you sure you are really booting the same emuMMC?
Try changing the background color in one of them and test it.
The SD card contents (homebrews, general files) will be the same but that doesn't mean you are running the same emuMMC.
 

PSxed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
457
Country
Netherlands
That's strange, it was fixed on Hekate 5.2.1. Read here:
https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/issues/401
https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/issues/421

And as the dev commented: "The emupath= overrides the emummc.ini in ram".

Are you using latest Hekate?
Are you sure you are really booting the same emuMMC?
Try changing the background color in one of them and test it.
The SD card contents (homebrews, general files) will be the same but that doesn't mean you are running the same emuMMC.

I picked two different user profile images so that i didn't get confused. But it's showing the exact behaviour i wrote in my other post. I'll try again later tonight since now i'm sure that emummc.ini should do nothing if there is an emupath declerated in my hekate ini. I reinstalled my whole switch last sunday with Atmoshpere 0.14.2 and Hekate 5.3.2. I see that there have been minor version updates in the meantime.

Do you see anything wrong with my ini file? The only difference i see is that i'm not ending them with empty brackets {} like you did in the OP. Currently at work so i can't test it out now but i don't think an empty object should make a difference.

edit: funny i just read issue 421 where CTCaer states the following:

"As you can see, I also added emummcforce=1.
In case something goes wrong or the folders get deleted, this disallows hekate to continue.
Useful when you don't want to automatically boot in sysnand CFW if emummc is not found.".

When i delete emummc.ini i boot into sysnand when selecting one of my two emummc options. I'm stating emummcforce=1 so that shouldn't happen, but it does. I think there is something wrong with my ini.
 
Last edited by PSxed,

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
709
Country
Brazil
Do you see anything wrong with my ini file? The only difference i see is that i'm not ending them with empty brackets {} like you did in the OP.

Try adding those brackets and tell me later, I don't see anything else wrong.
Did you check on System if you are really running the real sysnand x an emuMMC?
 

PSxed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
113
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
457
Country
Netherlands
@kassio69 I finally had some time to try and solve my problem. First thing i did was updating Atmosphere and Hekate to the latest version. After that i modified my ini to the following:
Code:
[Son]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
emupath=emuMMC/RAW1
emummcforce=1
{}

[Psxed]
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
emupath=emuMMC/RAW2
emummcforce=1
{}

Still the same problem. My boot config only respects the emummc that i manually set in Hekate. After browsing Gbatemp i found some new sigpatches that are compatible with the fusee-secondary payload. This way i can use fss0 as my boot option. I changed my ini to the following:
Code:
[Son]
fss0=bootloader/payloads/fusee-secondary.bin
emupath=emuMMC/RAW1
emummcforce=1
{}

[Psxed]
fss0=bootloader/payloads/fusee-secondary.bin
emupath=emuMMC/RAW2
emummcforce=1
{}

Tada and now it's working perfectly. I still don't have a clue why the first method doesn't work? A minor setback but atleast i have it running now. Thank you very much for the guide. If you have a Paypal address i'll treat you to a beer lol.
 
Last edited by PSxed,

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
709
Country
Brazil
Tada and now it's working perfectly. I still don't have a clue why the first method doesn't work? A minor setback but atleast i have it running now. Thank you very much for the guide. If you have a Paypal address i'll treat you to a beer lol.

That's odd..

In my case the clean emuMMC only boots with "fss0=bootloader/payloads/fusee-secondary.bin", but the dirty emuMMC is ok with "payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin".
I see no reason for you not to be able to boot any of the emuMMC with fusee-primary.

Well, problably that's not a big problem.. only limitation I can think of is that you'll be unable to use Tinfoil.

I would still check a couple of things:
- If your bootloader > payloads > fusee-primary.bin is really the latest one (same version of your Atmosphere)
- If you are using only the latest fusee-primary sigpatches (https://gbatemp.net/attachments/ams-sigpatches-0-14-4-cfw-10-2-0-zip.225147/)
*** Delete older versions of the sigpatches
*** I also keep the "default_nogc" patches from latest Atmosphere on my SD card (don't know if that matters)

If you get it to work I'll accept the beer!
 

nexis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
22
Country
Gambia, The
Hi, thanks for your great tutorial. I've got a question regarding the atmosphere config. You mention to use a 'pure' atmosphere & hekate. The 'pure' atmosphere config still contains commented lines, which means no configured settings. Is that fine for online usage? Or do we need some things there configured?
 

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
709
Country
Brazil
Hi, thanks for your great tutorial. I've got a question regarding the atmosphere config. You mention to use a 'pure' atmosphere & hekate. The 'pure' atmosphere config still contains commented lines, which means no configured settings. Is that fine for online usage? Or do we need some things there configured?

I meant pure and not a "packaged" version of it (Kosmos, BPack, Deep Sea, etc).
It' ok to go online with the default Atmosphere config.

These two lines on system_settings.ini are useful:

[atmosphere]
power_menu_reboot_function = str!payload
enable_deprecated_hid_mitm = u8!0x1

And these two on exosphere.ini (the reason is explained on the original post):

[exosphere]
blank_prodinfo_sysmmc=0
blank_prodinfo_emummc=0
 

Sperry

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
72
Country
United States
Sorry to be asking for handholding, but I just can't seem to get this working.

Quite a while back, I created 3 partitions. The first was FAT32 for homebrew and such. Then, 2 partitions for emuMMC.

I dded both emuMMC partitions with the same emummc.bin. (Yes, that's slightly different than the instructions. But this was over a year ago, before this thread existed). When I did a migrate emuMMC, it set up the 1st (RAW1) partition, not the 2nd (RAW2) one.

Now, I just can't seem to get it to migrate the 2nd (RAW2) partition. According to these instructions, it seems like it should have set up only RAW2, not RAW1, but instead I have only RAW1.

I haven't edited hekate_ipl.ini in any way. It seems like it's not necessary?

Hoping someone can help, I'm completely out of ideas here.
 

Sperry

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
72
Country
United States
I can answer my own question. I was simply able to choose "Create emuMMC" > "SD partition" and then choose Part 2 to set up my RAW 2. Seems like you can do it in either order.

Conceptually, I'm not sure why you don't just Create emuMMC for 2 partitions instead of creating 1 and migrating another one, but I'm set here.
 

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
709
Country
Brazil
Now, I just can't seem to get it to migrate the 2nd (RAW2) partition. According to these instructions, it seems like it should have set up only RAW2, not RAW1, but instead I have only RAW1.

I wrote the tutorial teaching how to create two partitions at that time, and you had to dd only the second partition initially (you were unable to do so just because you didn't follow the instructions).

I can answer my own question. I was simply able to choose "Create emuMMC" > "SD partition" and then choose Part 2 to set up my RAW 2. Seems like you can do it in either order.

I believe that the latest versions of Hekate allow the creation of partitions in any order, which makes life easier for users.
 

tNz

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2018
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
154
Country
Germany
Does anyone know the error code "2154-2005 error during data transfer"? I restored the backup from my clean sysnand and set up two emummc.

My Sysnand still has version 4.1.0. I installed the latest firmware on one of the two Emummc (Nintendo Servers). With this Emummc I went online.I can also add my friends online, but only see them as offline. Also, I sometimes get the said error code (2154-2005) when, for example, I update my friends list. I can currently play online without any problems.
Does this error code have perhaps anything to do with a future ban?


/edit
Nvm, I solved my Problem. Just factory reset my Emummc.
 
Last edited by tNz,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://youtube.com/shorts/N6ZiG1c80q4?feature=share