Tutorial Multiple emuMMC setup, including restoring a clean NAND for online use

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
Brazil
Question: does updating the clean emummc through Nintendo servers result in burnt fuses after installation is completed/restart?

No, because fuses only burn when updating + booting the real sysnand.
(and you'll only use the real sysnand when powering the Switch up, to start Hekate)
This is the same reason why you don't need nogc.
I sugest you delete any sysnand boot setup from hekate_ipl.ini.

I'm using this and everything is perfetc:

[CFW]
emummcforce=1
emupath=emuMMC/RAW1
payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
icon=bootloader/res/atmosphere.bmp
logopath=bootloader/bootlogo.bmp
{}

[OFW]
emummcforce=1
emupath=emuMMC/RAW2
fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch_custom.bmp
logopath=bootloader/bootlogo.bmp
{}
 
Last edited by kassio69,
  • Like
Reactions: ben_dover

timmeehh

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
74
Country
Netherlands
Maybe this is a stupid question, please don't blame me, I am quite new to this. I have just got a switch that is hackable but on the latest firmware version. I really liked your tutorial @kassio69, but as far as I see it this is only good for people who are on 1.0.0 right?

I mean, I could just use my sysnand to go online and use my emuMMC to instal NSPs, right?

Thanks a lot anyway!
 

ben_dover

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
42
Country
Canada
No, because fuses only burn when updating + booting the real sysnand.
(and you'll only use the real sysnand when powering the Switch up, to start Hekate)
This is the same reason why you don't need nogc.
I sugest you delete any sysnand boot setup from hekate_ipl.ini.

Thanks! Managed to update the clean emummc from Nintendo Servers like you mentioned.
Is hekate able to make a backup of this specific RAW2 emummc? I feel like some of the hekate tools default to the RAW1 emummc.
 

Artomis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 16, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
55
Country
United States
i recently got my hands on an unpatched switch that is on OFW 9.2, does that mean that this method is a bust for me? I know I cannot use Deja Vu, but does that limit me from this completely or what other means would I have to go about it? Would it be worth going to 10.2 before I do my clean backup and continuing to try this?

Really want to get this working ad this is such a wonderful guide, thanks for taking the time to make it!
 

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
Brazil
Is hekate able to make a backup of this specific RAW2 emummc? I feel like some of the hekate tools default to the RAW1 emummc.

From Hekate 5.2.0/Nyx 0.9.0 changelog (latest version doen't have updates in this subject):

"Add simple emuMMC backup
It supports all sized partition based emuMMC
For now it can only backup the first 0xE0 partition that it finds"

The easiest way to backup an emuMMC is using dd, wich you are already familiar with.
You just need to invert the source and destination locations.

In my case (for RAW2 = third partition):
- flash emuMMC: sudo dd if =/media/sf_Shared_Folder/emummc.bin of=/dev/sdb3 bs=512M status=progress
- backup emuMMC: sudo dd if =/dev/sdb3 of =/media/sf_Shared_Folder/emummc.img bs=512M status=progress

The extension (I used .img) probably doesn't matter, and may not even be needed.
I tested the generated file on NXNandManager (https://github.com/eliboa/NxNandManager) and it was recognized perfectly.

i recently got my hands on an unpatched switch that is on OFW 9.2, does that mean that this method is a bust for me? I know I cannot use Deja Vu, but does that limit me from this completely or what other means would I have to go about it? Would it be worth going to 10.2 before I do my clean backup and continuing to try this?

Really want to get this working ad this is such a wonderful guide, thanks for taking the time to make it!

You can follow the tutorial and have two emuMMC, but in your case (no DejaVu) it's more useful sticking to a clean real sysnand (OFW) + one dirty emuMMC (CFW).
 
Last edited by kassio69,
  • Like
Reactions: Artomis

ROYGES

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
199
Country
United States
please help me, I followed your instructions but SD Raw Partitions only show SD RAW 2 grey, SD RAW1 is Black, as I said I follow the instructions and I actually did it twice in 2 different SD Cards. If I go to Launch in Hekate I have 3 options;
-Atmosphere FSSO EmuMMC
-Atmosphere FSSO SYS
-Stock SYS

is this how it's supposed to be?
 

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
Brazil
please help me, I followed your instructions but SD Raw Partitions only show SD RAW 2 grey, SD RAW1 is Black, as I said I follow the instructions and I actually did it twice in 2 different SD Cards.

If RAW1 is black it means you are missing step 6 of the tutorial.

If I go to Launch in Hekate I have 3 options;
-Atmosphere FSSO EmuMMC
-Atmosphere FSSO SYS
-Stock SYS

is this how it's supposed to be?

You should edit hekate_ipl.ini.
Try the configuration I suggested at the end of the first post.
 

ROYGES

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
199
Country
United States
If RAW1 is black it means you are missing step 6 of the tutorial.



You should edit hekate_ipl.ini.
Try the configuration I suggested at the end of the first post.

I was installing in Partition 2, I did Partition 1 and now I have it.

Edit the Ini, I Assume I have to do that in my PC. right?

edit: There is no System settings in my config folder but there is a config_templates folder which contains System settings should I move that Ini into the Config folder?
 
Last edited by ROYGES,

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
Brazil
I was installing in Partition 2, I did Partition 1 and now I have it.

Follow the instructions with attention:
The third partition is RAW2, that's where the clean NAND backup goes (and becomes the clean emuMMC).
The second partition is RAW1, a copy of your current real sysnand (wich will become the dirty emuMMC).
The first partition is your FAT32 SD card space.

Edit the Ini, I Assume I have to do that in my PC. right?

Yes, you edit the hekate_ipl.ini in your pc (bootloader folder).

edit: There is no System settings in my config folder but there is a config_templates folder which contains System settings should I move that Ini into the Config folder?

You can create a system_settings.ini in the config directory with the options presented in the template (without the semicolon in front).
If you don't have the file, Atmosphere will use default options.
The only not standard option I use is " enable_deprecated_hid_mitm = u8! 0x1 "
 
Last edited by kassio69,

ROYGES

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
199
Country
United States
Follow the instructions with attention:
The third partition is RAW2, that's where the clean NAND backup goes (and becomes the clean emuMMC).
The second partition is RAW1, a copy of your current real sysnand (wich will become the dirty emuMMC).
The first partition is your FAT32 SD card space.

I did follow the instructions with attention, I even did it multiple times with no RAW1 results, when "Create emuMMC" > "SD partition" I would get to a point to choose partition, part1 and 2 available and 3 black(not available) I picked part 2 a few times and RAW 1 would not appear, I decided to try Part 1 and it worked.
 
Last edited by ROYGES,
  • Like
Reactions: kassio69

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
Brazil
Kassio69
Is it a problem to have Raw1 in this first partition? If it is, I will try again.

If I understand correctly you have:

partition 1 = RAW1
partition 2 = SD card space
partition 3 = RAW2

Is this right?
I believe it's not a problem, just make sure the contents of partition 2 are properly readable.
 

ROYGES

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
199
Country
United States
If I understand correctly you have:

partition 1 = RAW1
partition 2 = SD card space
partition 3 = RAW2

Is this right?
I believe it's not a problem, just make sure the contents of partition 2 are properly readable.

I believe I have:

Partition 1 = SD Card Space + Raw1
Partition 2 = Empty (I tried to create RAW1 here to no avail)
Partition 3 = RAW2
 

xradeon

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
13
Country
Mexico
I'll try to create a single emuMMC for online (because I already have another SD card with CFW). But I have one question. My rawnand backup is splitted in 15 files. How can I prepare them for the initial flash?
 

kassio69

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
76
Trophies
0
XP
715
Country
Brazil
I believe I have:

Partition 1 = SD Card Space + Raw1
Partition 2 = Empty (I tried to create RAW1 here to no avail)
Partition 3 = RAW2

It's impossible to have SD card space + RAW1 in the same partition.
I suggest that you format your SD card and create the three partitions again, with the sizes indicated in the first post.

I'll try to create a single emuMMC for online (because I already have another SD card with CFW). But I have one question. My rawnand backup is splitted in 15 files. How can I prepare them for the initial flash?

Did you create your backup with Hekate?
Download this: https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases/download/v5.2.1/joiner_scripts_for_windows_linux_macos.zip
Then run the appropriate script.
 

scandal_uk

Not Really There
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Location
UK
XP
533
Country
United Kingdom
Forgive me if I've missed this point, but if I were to install NSPs on my dirty NAND to the SD Card partition, would this not be detected when using the clean CFW NAND? Or is it only "aware" of NSPs installed when using the same NAND?
 
Last edited by scandal_uk,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Coto @ Coto: YYZ - Rush . Neil Peart was a living legend.