TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED
New posts, edits, and any changes will not be saved during the transition period.
Registrations are temporarily disabled until the migration is complete.

  1. imapterodactyl

    OP imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if anybody can help me figure this out. I've been running Mplayer-CE 0.5 on my NTSC-U 4.0 Wii via component cables without a hitch for about a month now. Last night, I took the Wii over to a friend's house, and didn't want to disconnect my components so I just brought along the old composites that came with the system. For some reason, using this setup causes MPlayer to code dump at least 9 out of 10 times (probably more... 19/20), consistently. It makes no difference whether the Wii is set to Widescreen or Standard. I thought it might be an issue with running in 480i, but no. The program runs fine via component cables regardless of the settings... and I've tried everything; 480p and 480i, widescreen and standard for both. Disconnect the components and plug the composites in, and boom, code dump every single time. Switch back to component... problem solved. Why could this possibly be? Any information would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. UranusKiller

    UranusKiller TranceMaster
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    nothing to do with cables, are you using wifi ? usb2.0 ?
    if you are using wifi, and connection is blocked/off with the usb2.0 cIOS installed you will get a code dump on startup. this is explained on google code.
     
  3. imapterodactyl

    OP imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States

    Oh hell, you're absolutely right, thanks. I feel like a moron. I didn't understand how it could POSSIBLY be a cable issue... it simply didn't make sense. I didn't put together the WiFi thing, as I've been swapping the Wii between 2 TVs in the SAME HOUSE, with the only difference being the cables. As it turns out, the basement is totally out of my Wifi range (apparently, I've somehow never played any online games/apps downstairs). I feel a little dumber now, but thanks for helping me stop yanking my hair out nonetheless.
     
  4. UranusKiller

    UranusKiller TranceMaster
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    i'm guessing all is fine now? be easier to remove smb.conf or uncomment everything
     
  5. imapterodactyl

    OP imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, everything is working just fine now. Thank you very much for your help.
     
  6. UranusKiller

    UranusKiller TranceMaster
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Country:
    no problem, easy mistake to make not been upto data with the news from mplayer google code.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - consistently, MPlayer, dumps