Movie DVDs?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by drfsupercenter, Jul 9, 2008.

Jul 9, 2008

Movie DVDs? by drfsupercenter at 7:07 PM (5,683 Views / 0 Likes) 76 replies

1. drfsupercenter
    OP

Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

United States
    Hi,

I have a WiiKey (I didn't install it yet since I'm honestly scared about ruining it...) and I just thought... if the Wii has a DVD-ROM drive, and the modchip makes it function like a PC's DVD-ROM drive... is there a channel made that can play my movie DVDs?

Someone was telling me you can burn certain types of files to a DVD and then play it using mplayer or something... but surely the capability is there to make something like PowerDVD Channel so you can play movies? Or is there one? Sorry if the answer's already been posted... I'm new to the whole modding thing. (And just figured out how to use HBC)

2. teq

Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

United States
    DVD is an outdated technology.

XViD AVIs can already be used with MFE, so DVD rips are the way to go.

3. kedest

Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

Netherlands
    wii homebrew does not have access to the DVD-drive
    but in gamecube mode, it is possible. there is a mediaplayer that can run dvd's, but I've never tried it

4. drfsupercenter
    OP

United States
    Um, wtf?

Why would I rip a DVD to XVID if a DVD will always be better quality? And you can't have menus, bonus features, and subtitles from a DVD rip!

So anyway, is there a way to play actual DVDs? (Either burned or store-bought) I know mplayer can play VOB files, and on the computer it can play DVDs, so in theory it's possible, right?

5. mcj

Member mcj GBAtemp Fan

United States

LOL. You're a funny guy

6. SoCalSRH

Newcomer SoCalSRH Member

United States