Moonlight Wii U

Moonlight Wii U is a port of Moonlight Embedded, which is an open source implementation of NVIDIA's GameStream, as used by the NVIDIA Shield.
Moonlight Wii U allows you to stream your full collection of games from your powerful Windows desktop to your Wii U.

It's using the hardware-accelerated h264 library of the Wii U which results in pretty fast decoding.
Using my LAN Adapter [email protected] runs almost flawlessly.

Here's a little demo (and april fools) video:

Requirements
  • GFE compatible computer with GTX 600/700/900/1000 series GPU (for the PC you're streaming from)
  • Geforce Experience 2.1.1 or higher
  • A Wii U LAN Adapter is recommended
If your PC isn't supported or you're having performance related issues, try using sunshine instead.

Quick Start
  • Grab the latest version from the releases page and extract it to the root of your SD Card
  • Enter the IP of your GFE server in the moonlight.conf file located at sd:/wiiu/apps/moonlight (remove the '#' before the address line, it's commented out by default)
  • Ensure your GFE server and Wii U are on the same network
  • Turn on Shield Streaming in the GFE settings
  • Pair Moonlight Wii U with the GFE server
  • Accept the pairing confirmation on your PC
  • Connect to the GFE Server with Moonlight Wii U
  • Play games!
Configuration
You can configure all of the documented settings in the moonlight.conf file located at sd:/wiiu/apps/moonlight.

Supported controllers
  • Gamepad (can be disabled with the disable_gamepad option)
  • Up to 4 Wii U Pro Controllers and Wii Classic Controllers (Pro)
    Gamepad needs to be disabled to use the 4th controller
Releases: https://github.com/GaryOderNichts/moonlight-wiiu/releases
Source code: https://github.com/GaryOderNichts/moonlight-wiiu


Special thanks to agilly1989, rw and QuarkTheAwesome.
 
Last edited by GaryOderNichts,

dragon12

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
123
Trophies
0
XP
671
Country
Brazil
Out of curiosity (because I'm using the GeForce Experience/Moonlight) but Sunshine it's kind of GeForce Experience for anything out of Nvidia 9xx/10xx series? Like , Linux OS or AMD/Intel graphic cards?
Yep, my GPU is AMD. (the op recommended sunshine for AMD users a few pages back)

As for the performance compared to GeForce Experience... This I don't know.
 

CrisMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
341
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
718
Country
Italy
Yep, my GPU is AMD. (the op recommended sunshine for AMD users a few pages back)

As for the performance compared to GeForce Experience... This I don't know.
Maybe to compare the performance, I will use Linux as for Linux doesn't exist GeForce Experience......
 
  • Like
Reactions: dragon12

lexarvn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2010
Messages
156
Trophies
0
XP
1,241
Country
United States
If I'm understanding correctly, the performance of Sunshine/Moonlight are really the same As GeForce Experience to stream in Real Time? Because GeForce Experience it use the Nvidia Graphics Hardware, otherwise any type of stream service that I tested in the past there are always with noticeable input-lag.....
I tried out sunshine with my gtx 1060 and didn't have a problem with input-lag at all. But I ended up having to reduce the framerate and resolution because it didn't seem to compress the stream as well like it was taking more bandwidth for the same quality. I'm not very familiar with sunshine though so there may have just been some settings I overlooked that could have helped with that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CrisMod

Jamesyuan

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 19, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
16
Country
China
Hello, Can anybody teach me how to setup the moonlight.conf ?

I use the following configuration
and I have setup the NVIDIA Shield correctly ,I can connect the PC by the moonlight through the others appliance like the Android TV set,But I can not connect my wiiU to the PC .I have paired the PC with the moonlight,but the moonlight shows a error message that "Can not find the Steam Apps ".But I had installed the Steam, and the GeForce Experience correctly. why the Moonlight keep saying it can not find the Steam app?

Is there somethings wrong with my configuration?


## Hostname or IP-address of host to connect to

address = 192.168.0.106


## Video streaming configuration

width = 1280
height = 720

fps = 60


## Disables the gamepad so the other controllers are mapped to players 1 to 4
#disable_gamepad = true


## Swaps the buttons so they match the xbox controller layout

swap_buttons = true


## Bitrate depends by default on resolution and fps

## Set to -1 to enable default

## 20Mbps (20000) for 1080p (60 fps)

## 10Mbps (10000) for 1080p or 60 fps

## 5Mbps (5000) for lower resolution or fps

bitrate = -1


## Size of network packets should be lower than MTU

#packetsize = 1024


## Default started application on host

app = Steam


## Play audio on host instead of streaming to client
#localaudio = false


## Send quit app request to remote after quitting session
#quitappafter = false


## Enable QOS settings to optimize for internet instead of local network

#remote = false


## Enable 5.1 surround sound

#surround = false
 

Manuel06p

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
15
XP
124
Country
Italy
Check that you have added Steam to the nvidia shield apps in the Nvidia GeForce Experience settings and that you have named it exactly "Steam".
The name entered in the config file will open the app with that name among those added to Shield. Sorry for my English.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GaryOderNichts

Jamesyuan

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 19, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
16
Country
China
Check that you have added Steam to the nvidia shield apps in the Nvidia GeForce Experience settings and that you have named it exactly "Steam".
The name entered in the config file will open the app with that name among those added to Shield. Sorry for my English.
Thanks a lot for your answering, I have solved the problem by adding the APPs into nvidia shield( I forgot to add it ) , thank you very much~~~!!!!
 

Grale7

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
5
Country
Italy
It doesn't work anymore... It lags a lot and it's all pixelated also if i increase the resolution
 

CrisMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
341
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
718
Country
Italy
It doesn't work anymore... It lags a lot and it's all pixelated also if i increase the resolution
Instead of to say just this, try to provide technical info.......
OS:?
GPU:?
Drivers:?
Config Moon light:?
Where you place the Wii U/ Router /PC.

After maybe we can discuss why for you doesn't work
 

gamecube0010

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 28, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
6
Country
Canada
Hello All!

Has anyone gotten 5.1 surround sound to work with Moonlight on Wii U? When I do the speaker test in Windows, all channels work except for the sub. Sub does not give any sound, but other speakers (L, R, C, RL, RR) work perfectly.

Anything specific I need to configure for 5.1 on Wii U? Anything in the Wii U system I need to set?

My 5.1 setup works perfectly with Moonlight on Mac.

Below is my moonlight.config on Wii U:

## Hostname or IP-address of host to connect to
address = 192.168.1.179

## Video streaming configuration
width = 1920
height = 1152
fps = 60

## Disables the gamepad so the other controllers are mapped to players 1 to 4
disable_gamepad = true

## Swaps the buttons so they match the xbox controller layout
swap_buttons = true

## Bitrate depends by default on resolution and fps
## Set to -1 to enable default
## 20Mbps (20000) for 1080p (60 fps)
## 10Mbps (10000) for 1080p or 60 fps
## 5Mbps (5000) for lower resolution or fps
bitrate = 9000

## Size of network packets should be lower than MTU
packetsize = 1470

## Default started application on host
app = MIYAMOTO

## Play audio on host instead of streaming to client
localaudio = false

## Send quit app request to remote after quitting session
quitappafter = false

## Enable QOS settings to optimize for internet instead of local network
remote = false

## Enable 5.1 surround sound
surround = true
 

CrisMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
341
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
718
Country
Italy
Hello All!

Has anyone gotten 5.1 surround sound to work with Moonlight on Wii U? When I do the speaker test in Windows, all channels work except for the sub. Sub does not give any sound, but other speakers (L, R, C, RL, RR) work perfectly.

Anything specific I need to configure for 5.1 on Wii U? Anything in the Wii U system I need to set?

My 5.1 setup works perfectly with Moonlight on Mac.

Below is my moonlight.config on Wii U:

## Hostname or IP-address of host to connect to
address = 192.168.1.179

## Video streaming configuration
width = 1920
height = 1152
fps = 60

## Disables the gamepad so the other controllers are mapped to players 1 to 4
disable_gamepad = true

## Swaps the buttons so they match the xbox controller layout
swap_buttons = true

## Bitrate depends by default on resolution and fps
## Set to -1 to enable default
## 20Mbps (20000) for 1080p (60 fps)
## 10Mbps (10000) for 1080p or 60 fps
## 5Mbps (5000) for lower resolution or fps
bitrate = 9000

## Size of network packets should be lower than MTU
packetsize = 1470

## Default started application on host
app = MIYAMOTO

## Play audio on host instead of streaming to client
localaudio = false

## Send quit app request to remote after quitting session
quitappafter = false

## Enable QOS settings to optimize for internet instead of local network
remote = false

## Enable 5.1 surround sound
surround = true
Hi,

I think it's because the audio 5.1 it's we'll set with Windows, but in your settings you set correctly 5.1 "surround = true" but on some line before you try to stream to Wii U , and maybe it will stream as Stereo, but you re-enable the Audio by windows settings to hear the Audio from your 5.1 system?!

Try to set this line true:

## Play audio on host instead of streaming to client
localaudio = true
 

Grale7

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
5
Country
Italy
Instead of to say just this, try to provide technical info.......
OS:?
GPU:?
Drivers:?
Config Moon light:?
Where you place the Wii U/ Router /PC.

After maybe we can discuss why for you doesn't work
Hi, i'm using a PC with
OS: Windows 10
GPU: GTX 1050 ti
Drivers: 497.09 (and version 3.24.0.126 of Geforce Experience)
Router is one meter away from the Wii U and the PC is connected via Ethernet. It works perfectly on Android and IOS (like 2-5 ms)

my config:
## Hostname or IP-address of host to connect to
address = (my ip)

## Video streaming configuration
width = 1280
height = 720
fps = 60

## Disables the gamepad so the other controllers are mapped to players 1 to 4
#disable_gamepad = true

## Swaps the buttons so they match the xbox controller layout
#swap_buttons = true

## Bitrate depends by default on resolution and fps
## Set to -1 to enable default
## 20Mbps (20000) for 1080p (60 fps)
## 10Mbps (10000) for 1080p or 60 fps
## 5Mbps (5000) for lower resolution or fps
bitrate = -1

## Size of network packets should be lower than MTU
packetsize = 1024

## Default started application on host
app = Steam

## Play audio on host instead of streaming to client
localaudio = false

## Send quit app request to remote after quitting session
quitappafter = false

## Enable QOS settings to optimize for internet instead of local network
remote = false

## Enable 5.1 surround sound
surround = false
 

Grale7

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
5
Country
Italy
i've already tried to install old versions of both Geforce Experience and Moonlight but it continued to perform very badly and in some cases it just wouldn't start
 

GaryOderNichts

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2018
Messages
506
Trophies
1
XP
2,937
Country
Germany
Hi, i'm using a PC with
OS: Windows 10
GPU: GTX 1050 ti
Drivers: 497.09 (and version 3.24.0.126 of Geforce Experience)
Router is one meter away from the Wii U and the PC is connected via Ethernet. It works perfectly on Android and IOS (like 2-5 ms)

my config:
## Hostname or IP-address of host to connect to
address = (my ip)

## Video streaming configuration
width = 1280
height = 720
fps = 60

## Disables the gamepad so the other controllers are mapped to players 1 to 4
#disable_gamepad = true

## Swaps the buttons so they match the xbox controller layout
#swap_buttons = true

## Bitrate depends by default on resolution and fps
## Set to -1 to enable default
## 20Mbps (20000) for 1080p (60 fps)
## 10Mbps (10000) for 1080p or 60 fps
## 5Mbps (5000) for lower resolution or fps
bitrate = -1

## Size of network packets should be lower than MTU
packetsize = 1024

## Default started application on host
app = Steam

## Play audio on host instead of streaming to client
localaudio = false

## Send quit app request to remote after quitting session
quitappafter = false

## Enable QOS settings to optimize for internet instead of local network
remote = false

## Enable 5.1 surround sound
surround = false
You should edit the bitrate manually, instead of using the default "-1". Try 6000 or something similar.
 

Manuel06p

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 25, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
15
XP
124
Country
Italy
Hi,
sorry for the request, but would it be possible to create a shortcut on the home menu to open moonlight? If so, how could I do it? Thanks in advance.
 

AlexCholo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 20, 2022
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
8
Country
Mexico
hello, I have a problem and it is that I start the stream everything works fine but after 2-3 minutes the transmission freezes and takes me to the main menu.
I am currently using version 3.24.0.126 of Geforce experience and version 1.2 of moonlight, any solution?
 

CrisMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
341
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
718
Country
Italy
hello, I have a problem and it is that I start the stream everything works fine but after 2-3 minutes the transmission freezes and takes me to the main menu.
I am currently using version 3.24.0.126 of Geforce experience and version 1.2 of moonlight, any solution?
Do you have second monitor physically plugged in your PC?
 
  • Like
Reactions: AlexCholo

CrisMod

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 4, 2020
Messages
341
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
718
Country
Italy
no, i only have one monitor, btw the resolution i selected was 720p 30fps and 5000 bitrate
thanks for the answer
Ok...

1) Try to reduce the resolution of your PC monitor by the GeForce Panel , not from Windows settings , and set it 1280x720

2) in moonlight config. File set and test with more higher bitrate, try as below:
bitrate = 6000
Or
bitrate = 7000
Or
bitrate = 8000
Or
bitrate = 10000
 

AlexCholo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 20, 2022
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
8
Country
Mexico
OK...

1) Intente reducir la resolución del monitor de su PC mediante el Panel GeForce, no desde la configuración de Windows, y configúrelo en 1280x720

2) en configuración de luz de luna. Configure el archivo y pruebe con una tasa de bits más alta, intente lo siguiente:
tasa de bits = 6000
O
tasa de bits = 7000
O
tasa de bits = 8000
O
tasa de bits = 10000
I'll try and see what happens, thank you very much for your help
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Casper the friendly Ghost.