Monster Hunter Tri wants to Update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by scof, May 15, 2010.

May 15, 2010
  1. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    But I am already on 4.2E!

    What is going on? I used the safe update.. Well, i will use the StartPatch to block the update, but I want to learn why.. It is strange i think..

    EDITS: Yes, I have the original game
     


  2. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    Anyone?
     
  3. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Priiloader 0.4 final + skip update hack = win
     
  4. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    Well, I did not asked that... I have already blocked the updates using the StartPatch.

    But why the monster hunter wanted to update my wii? I was already on 4.2
     
  5. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you update officially?

    If not: then its possibly likely the way you updated installed an older version of an IOS and when the wii checks against the disk is sees an IOS out of date.

    If you did: I dunno.
     
  6. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    yeah, I updated through safe updater
     
  7. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Safe updater doesnt stub anything so probably the disk sees/checks old unstubed ios's from 4.2E/U/J and tries to stub 'em out.
     
  8. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    so, i should not update..
     
  9. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you just enable skip update and ensure the game relevant IOS's are present and correct then you dont have to worry about any of this.
     
  10. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    Well, maybe a game in the future demand the official system menu?

    For example, is there a chance that galaxy 2 demands the official update? What's the difference?
     
  11. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Probably not.

    SMG2 will probably have new/modified ios's and more/updated BCA protection. (pure speculation until it comes out, after all: who knows!?!?!)

    Either way if/when a game does I'm confident some talented hackers in here will figure it out in minutes.
     
  12. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Just update. It does nothing [​IMG]

    I've checked with SysCheck and it seems it hasn't not modified a single IOS. I presume it's safe to do.
     
  13. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1
     
  14. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    So do you recommend to upgrade? I wont lose my homebrew channel, my cios etc?

    If I upgrade, i'll have to softmod from scratch?
     
  15. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,178
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just update via wad using Xzxero's guide (the sticky at the top of this forum), then once wadmanager is done installing wads, boot back to HBC, load priiloader 0.4 installer, install, enable all hacks you want (including "prevent removal of HAXX / JODI" etc hack) and reboot, done.

    Iv done this on countless wiis. No bricks to date. and no need to rehack from 4.1/4.0/3.4/3.3/3.2 -> 4.2

    worst comes to worst, just follow the complete softmod guide from scratch its piss easy.
     
  16. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    from the whole guide, i have only to:

    -Update via Wad
    -Install the isos mentioned and
    -Install Preloader

    ???
     
  17. chaseincats

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Country:
    United States
    couldnt we then just run it via nand emulation?
     
  18. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    what do you mean with "nand emulation"
     
  19. monaug5

    Member monaug5 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    459
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dont you know what nand emulation is?
     
  20. scof
    OP

    Newcomer scof Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Greece
    i know what nand is, i know what emulation means, but i dont know what we can do with that
     

Share This Page