1. imapterodactyl

    imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I don't keep it like that. I started having problems a couple days ago and I thought it might be on my end, so I opened it up to see if it would help, and it hasn't at all unfortunately. Couldn't turn on DMZ without static (just internal to router.. which is still dynamic), and according to Nintendo tech support Channel 11 works best with the system.

    And I didn't realize there are malicious Wii attacks. Are there?
     
  2. rizzod

    rizzod Not a New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    791
    Country:
    That is why you be a smart person like the rest of the world and run ur wii games off USB
     
  3. imapterodactyl

    imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, that's okay. Thanks though.
     
  4. Am0s

    Am0s Mojo Risin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Country:
    rofl
     
  5. imapterodactyl

    imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps. Although, I don't know if Monster Hunter runs off Nintendo's servers. I thought Capcom ran the servers for the game, but I might be wrong.
     
  6. taktularCBo

    taktularCBo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Country:
    France
    Im playing since some days...not really long..but say around 1 hour...never had this Problem. Im using wiikey II
     
  7. Szalkow

    Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Country:
    United States
    This is definitely a problem unique to you and not some form of piracy detection. I've been playing online for several hours with no trouble.

    If your pirating was in any way the cause of your ban, I would guess that your Wii locking up caused the server to receive some bad data from you which might have been interpreted as a modified command. I would still think the ban was for some other more common reason like hacking or cursing.

    I can also confirm that there were server issues last night, we got dumped out of a few quests. And the servers are Capcom-based, not Nintendo, so it shouldn't have anything to do with Mario Kart also acting up.
     
  8. lulwut

    lulwut GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    not if im using my pal copy connecting to a us player now am i?
     
  9. rockstar99

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,372
    Country:
    Canada
    So people playing via USB are safe? [​IMG]
     
  10. imapterodactyl

    imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. Um, nice one. I'm having exactly the same issue whether I load from hd or my original disc. I prefer loading from hd, but I'd certainly use my disc if it actually made a difference, but it doesn't so I'll keep it in it's case thanks.
     
  11. imapterodactyl

    imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Can't guarantee it, but it certainly seems so on my end.

    Everyone really should buy the thing though. The bundle with the CCPro is a really good deal, and if Capcom gets more sales the servers'l run longer, and more profit improves the chances of getting a new version one day.
     
  12. Szalkow

    Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Country:
    United States
    People using any form of backups are safe from any form of retaliation so far. It seems extremely unlikely that the ban was due to the pirated copy.

    Also +1 on the bundle, as long as you get it for the right price. For some reason I've seen several instances of this:

    [​IMG]

    See anything wrong here?

    Best Buy had it for $60, which was $10 off the combined price and good enough for me.
     
  13. lulwut

    lulwut GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    84$?
    must be them just making the collection instead of selling the collectors box
     
  14. DarkWay

    DarkWay tsubasa hiroge
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Country:
    This is 1 Wii game I will buy when I have the money too [​IMG] I'm having great fun on the US servers online [​IMG]

    People have asked where I'm from (unwittingly) I said from the UK then tey asked how I was on their server >,,< I proceeded to say I used to live in america but moved to the UK, I have a NTSC Wii and had bought the game online so it would work on my Wii. muhahahaaaa quick thinking
     
  15. imapterodactyl

    imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Shows how much I know. I thought I had read that the US and PAL regions shared servers. I thought it was only Japan that had separate servers, and assumed that was due to the language barrier.
     
  16. alpha_noj

    alpha_noj GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure how you're loading the game, but Hermes v4 IOS 222 37 merged with 38 and 002 fix on and the game runs perfectly for me. That ban notice does occur every so often, as well as one stating to go outside once in a while.

    And I bought and ripped the game. This is one series I'll support for a looong time.
     
  17. BlackDave

    OP BlackDave GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    United States
    $20 for 50 Blank DVDs versus Minimum $80 for a dedicated hardrive only to be used for the wii which won't even hold 50 wii games (if it's a 250GB)?

    Nono

    But I am gonna remove darkcorpse and use something else


    I reburned the game at x4 and i'm playing online so far no freeze
     
  18. Chemodile

    Chemodile Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not agreeing with BlackDave rizzod, but for what it's worth I just ordered a brand new 640gb WD portable drive for $70, saw a 500gb Seagate for $50, and had a difficult time finding 50 quality -Rs on either Amazon or Newegg for under $30. I've been a supporter of discs since the beginning but my spindle just ran out and the discs I used to buy aren't made anymore. Current prices persuaded me to finally suck it up and buy a dedicated Wii HDD. They've gotten pretty cheap and it's worth it to spring a little extra for full speed backups (no more painfully slow cutscenes or loading sequences) and never having to deal with switching discs or re-alphabetizing my collection again, especially now that USB loaders have had some time to develop quite nicely.

    Also a 250gb would hold more than 50 games easily. Even assuming no compression, 4.7GiB x 50 = 235GiB and 250GB = 233GiB. In reality, a majority of Wii games are under 1 or 2GiB.

    /derail

    Moving in a more "related to the current thread" direction, I wouldn't be surprised if the drive speed is what they're detecting. Microsoft bans for slight timing deviations all the time and usually we end up being wrong when we adopt an "it's impossible for the people who built this console to find out what we're doing with it!" attitude. Nintendo may just be taking a while to catch on.

    edit: Whoops, referenced the wrong quote.
     
  19. BlackDave

    OP BlackDave GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Country:
    United States
    I walked in BestBuy and bought 50 DVD-R for 20 bucks....

    The game is running fine now. I played through two quests online and didn't freeze at all....Dunno if it's because I burned the disc at x4 or the servers are better. I did try to run it from neogamma and it went NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGHHHH like the first time but using darkcorpse it runs fine...

    :S
     
  20. Blasingame

    Blasingame GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    What brand of DVD-R's did you get? I would stay way from TDK's, Sony's and Panasonic Brand DVD-R's.

    Brands I can recommend, Ridata and Verbatim.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Monster, running, Hunter