Monitor help?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by OSW, May 20, 2007.

May 20, 2007

Monitor help? by OSW at 10:09 AM (1,135 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Today i found a Hyundai ImageQuest Q910 CRT monitor someone was chucking out. So i decided to replace my crappy second monitor (15inch CRT) that i had previously been using (In my dual screen setup).

    Now i want to set it to the right resolution but i don't know what it is.
    I think it's a 19 inch and it seems to be able to accept 1600x1200 resolution, but i don't know if thats the actual resolution of the monitor.

    Can anyone help me out?
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,743
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice find there (I once found one that "broke" aka it blew a fuse), set it as second monitor and just crank the resolution until it decides to not work (or becomes uncomfortable to the eye).

    According to their site (which is awkwardly named):
    Resolution 1600 x 1200 @ 85Hz flecker-free image capability
    http://www.hyundaiq.com/pro_q910.asp
     
  3. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm. thanks for the response fast.

    the thing is, at 1600x1200 the icons are quite small, is this normal?

    Also it is ver hard for me to get the monitor settings right (pincushion, vertical size etc)

    Is there a guide or an easy way around this?

    edit: ah, on furthur inspection of the website, it reads:

    Resolution Max 1600 X 1200 @ 85 Hz
    Recommended 1280 X 1024 @ 85 Hz

    [​IMG] does that mean that there isn't really 1600x1200 pixels on the screen?
     
  4. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Well lol yes, the higher the resolution, the smaller the icons.

    Also, I think you're mixing something up. CRT's can set to any resolution and provide a *sharp* image quite unlike LCDs. So pick what you like.
     
  5. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Gah! the stupidity of it all!

    Is it also reccomended that i set the refresh rate to its highest?

    when i do this to my lcd monitor (max 75 hrts,works fine at 72 hrts) the screen stretches horizontally! WTF!
     
  6. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:

    LCD is completely different!

    On CRT use the highest refresh rate the manufacturer specifies.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Refresh_rate#LCD_displays
     
  7. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Strider, thank you for your valuable help!

    please give me your reccomendation. 1280x1024 or 1600x1200?

    ICONS ARE SMALL!

    and again, how should i set my vertical, pincushion, brightness etc settings? [​IMG]
     
  8. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Whichever you like; at both resolutions you'll propably have a good picture. I'd use 1600x1200 but I like small icons and have very good eyes.

    Mostly 1280x1024 would be used for this size.

    Ah, the other settings - tune them so you've got a rectangular picture which looks good. There's no 'perfect' setting for this, it differs from monitor to monitor.

    If your picture looks like: ( ) - you'd have to use pincushion until it looks like [ ] [​IMG]
     
  9. superkyre

    Newcomer superkyre Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Makati City
    Country:
    Philippines
    For a 19-inch monitor, 1280x1024 is the best resolution. It may not be the max, but for the physical screen space it's the most manageable for your eyes. If your monitor is 21-inch or above, go 1600x1200.
     
  10. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    I understand that but it's hard for me to get a rectangel /_\

    sloowly getting there.

    again, thx for your help!

    edit: alright superkyre, i think i'l ltake your advice [​IMG]
     
  11. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the size of stuff is really bothering you, you can change it in Display Properties.

    Right Click Desktop > Properties > Settings Tab > Advanced Button > DPI Setting.

    Just change the DPI setting to something higher until you can see everything comfortably.

    If your straining your eyes to see the icons/text then you should defo. do this as you don't lose the benefits of using the correct resolution.
     
  12. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there a setting to say, increase the left end's height while keeping the right end the same?

    Edit: woah, i was adjusting some setiings and my monitors went a bit crazy... luckily its all good now.

    Edit2: Ok, i think my layout is as good as it can be. Thanks again!
     
  13. ndela007

    Member ndela007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    isn't there an option to change "Icon Size" in windows? Pretty sure I remember that from back in the day when I used icons on my desktop.
     
  14. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Yeah, its in the Appearance tab of display properties, after clicking the Advanced button you select 'Icon' in the drop down box and choose your size. But with high res, text reading is also usually a problem so I figured giving the DPI solution was better as it does both, as well as upscale other parts of the windows GUI (like application titlebars etc).
     

Share This Page