Modmii on USB

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dicandio, Jan 9, 2011.

1. Dicandio
    OP

Dicandio Newbie

Newcomer
    Jan 7, 2011
    United States
    My Wii is a 4.3 and I downloaded the Modmii program unto a USB memory stick as I don't have a SD card reader. I am really new to all this (still trying to figure how how to burn dvd's) LOL . I am really unsure of what to do and really don't want to mess up my Wii. If it does mess up, is there a way to undo the mess? LOL

Thank you,
    Sondra

ps. I do have a internet on the Wii if that's makes a difference?

2. brausm08

brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Nov 15, 2009
    United States
    USA - Midwest
    well, Modmii is installed/run on a computer....it does the downloading via the internet to a file you must move to an SD card...somehow...

the hackmii installer (the first step of modding) must be done with an SD card in the wii, a USB stick does not work.

3. EmbraceFiction

EmbraceFiction GBAtemp Regular

Dec 26, 2010
    Canada
    Canada
    You will need a SD card for the majority of the modding process.

Just go buy a cheap 1-2gb card, and make sure it is not SDHC.

EDIT:

Having an Internet Connection; can help in some cases.
    If you mess up your console (which is unlikely if you follow directions correctly), then you are proably messed up for good.. unless you have a NAND backup, and Priiloader installed/ or BootMii as boot2.)

4. brausm08

brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Nov 15, 2009
    United States
    USA - Midwest
    if you had a camera or something with an SD card slot, you could feasibly move the files there with that. but if you cannot organize them properly, it's of no use....

@EmbraceFiction: i think once you get HBC on the wii, you could do pretty much everything else from a USB stick (feel free to correct me if i'm wrong though)....

5. EmbraceFiction

EmbraceFiction GBAtemp Regular

Dec 26, 2010
    Canada
    Canada
    Yes; I think you are right.