?
  1. Yes!

    763 vote(s)
    82.2%
  2. No, and I won't report what went wrong because I am a troll

    54 vote(s)
    5.8%
  3. No, and I posted what went wrong

    111 vote(s)
    12.0%
  4. 928 voter(s)
  1. CaptainHIT

    CaptainHIT GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, you're right. I've tried all d2x versions from v1 up to v8 with success on 6.5.1 and 6.6.1 an both v10-beta52 and beta53 failing. So it's not a bug of ModMii itself. Glad you figured it out! ;)

    This is from 6.5.1:
    Snapshot 2021-03-02 030247.png
     
  2. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I'm now debating whether to build the tmd using a more manual way (same way that was done for v1-8) for the two v10 betas. So far it's just you reporting these issues. Are you able to try some windows updates, to .net framework and such, or maybe change language to english, and see if you can somehow get it working? If we can figure out a solution for you, and no one else reports the same error... maybe I can keep using tmd edit for these cIOSs?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I don't think this has anything to do with the installer. If you use the old 6.5.1 installer, then grab the 6.6.1 zip and overwrite the installation manually (or have ModMii update itself) I'm 99.9% sure you will have the same issue. It's possible there are a just a handful of lines that are finicky, and if that's the case I will just need to spot them, and see if I can compensate for them the way I did previously.

    edit: I'm looking at the lines of code that I had to change to fix this, and I think I see the problem. It's not that it's installed to the "Program Files" folder, it's that it's installed to "Program Files (x86)" folder! Specifically the problem is with the fact that it has brackets in the path!

    edit2: yes I just confirmed, I get problems if running ModMii with a bracket in the path even inside a directory that doesn't need admin rights. If you can confirm ModMii 6.5.1 worked fine for you, that would be a big help, then it means I just need to look at the changes to for potential bugs. But realistically I will just install it to a "bad" directory, and try and break it, then fix it
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Mar 2, 2021
    alexander1970 and CaptainHIT like this.
  3. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,666
    Country:
    Argentina
  4. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I don't think that will solve the issue, I'll need a bit of time but I'll try to restore functionality for directories with brackets in it, like Program Files (x86). In the meantime, you can install to just "Program Files" or C:\ModMii and everything should work!
     
    alexander1970 and CaptainHIT like this.
  5. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,666
    Country:
    Argentina
    I moved the folder to C: and so far is working.
    Granted I already updated things using sysCheck.csv but I took my old 2 GB sd card, copied last year version of the hack to it and tried updating using the wizard to see what happens.

    Once it finishes the download I will try on my Wii to see what happens.

    Edit: Everything works fine.
     
    Last edited by raxadian, Mar 2, 2021
    alexander1970 and XFlak like this.
  6. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I think you'll find with ModMii running from C:\ModMii things will go much more smoothly
     
    alexander1970 and CaptainHIT like this.
  7. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    BTW tmdedit uses libwiisharp.dll, so it could be a compatibility issue with either of these. Doesn't really change anything, if u are going to try to get your windows environment up to "standard" it will either get it working or it won't
     
    alexander1970 and CaptainHIT like this.
  8. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,666
    Country:
    Argentina
    Yeah everything works fine, thankfully. Trying a 32 gb USB stick because that's the maximun the Wii can support without a charger for the USB "hard disk". So far I loaded a few Gamecube games and works fine.

    Edit2: Good thing I got the Gamecube mic as Mario Party 7 needs it.
     
    Last edited by raxadian, Mar 2, 2021
  9. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I have a 1TB portable HDD plugged into my wii (without an AC power adapter), not sure where u got the idea that a 32gb thumb drive was the maximum, but yeah, if u have a larger drive that can be used too.

    Now the WiiU has underpowered USB ports, so you would need a Y cable to get most portable hdd's to work, but the Wii generally doesn't have this problem
     
  10. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,666
    Country:
    Argentina
    Really? That's awesome.

    Okay I noticed the sd card overheating but is probably because is Summer here.
     
  11. CaptainHIT

    CaptainHIT GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi, just fiddled around with a few things again, also replaced the libwiisharp.dll with and older one from showmiiwads mod.

    There is a d2x-beta-md5-updater.bat in the Support folder which I've tried and it gave me this output:
    cIOS249[37]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[38]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[53]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[55]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[56]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[57]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[58]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[60]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[70]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS249[80]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[37]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[38]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[53]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[55]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[56]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[57]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[58]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[60]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[70]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    cIOS250[80]-d2x-v10-beta52.wad: Missing
    * 20 of 20 file(s) are Invalid, Missing or were Not Updated properly

    I also tried this cıommand line in cmd after creating a wii folder in the root of C: and copying stuff inside:

    TMDedit.exe -b C:\wii\output.tmd -xml C:\wii\ciosmaps.xml -group d2x-v8-final 21008 -base 56 5661 -folder C:\wii\cIOS_WAD\ -basefile C:\wii\IOS56_v5661.wad -outIOS 249

    The directory tree of C:\wii\ is like this:
    C:\wii\
    ciosmaps.xml 43400 2012.12.22 19:37.24
    IOS56-64-v5661.wad 1940064 2021.3.2 3:1.34
    libWiiSharp.dll 155136 2019.9.22 10:35.38
    TMDedit.exe 26112 2012.3.23 13:28.0
    cIOS_WAD\ 0 2021.3.2 10:48.40
    00000000.app 64 2021.3.2 10:48.34
    00000001.app 33368 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    0000000100000038.tmd 1024 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000001000000f9.cert 2560 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000001000000f9.footer 0 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000001000000f9.tik 676 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000002.app 27796 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000003.app 15352 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000004.app 10896 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000005.app 172344 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000006.app 373156 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000007.app 62896 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000008.app 447868 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    00000009.app 42572 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    0000000a.app 30584 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    0000000b.app 19184 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    0000000c.app 9356 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    0000000d.app 521008 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    0000000e.app 168920 2021.3.2 10:48.22
    d2x-v10-beta52\ 0 2021.3.2 10:39.20
    Changelog.txt 8090 2012.12.22 17:6.54
    ciosmaps.xml 43400 2012.12.22 19:37.24
    d2x-beta.bat 3837 2012.12.22 19:49.6
    DIPP.app 7676 2012.12.22 19:34.2
    EHCI.app 15776 2012.12.22 19:34.40
    ES.app 4090 2012.12.22 19:34.58
    FAT.app 19652 2012.12.22 19:35.42
    FFSP.app 8600 2012.12.22 19:36.4
    MLOAD.app 6709 2012.12.22 19:36.48
    ReadMe.txt 2950 2012.12.22 19:37.24
    SDHC.app 6548 2012.12.22 19:36.54
    USBS.app 9488 2012.12.22 19:37.22
    d2x-v8-final\ 0 2021.3.2 10:39.24
    Changelog.txt 7229 2012.2.17 19:1.46
    ciosmaps.xml 44878 2012.3.6 21:5.54
    d2x-beta.bat 3835 2012.3.6 21:14.58
    DIPP.app 7628 2012.3.6 21:0.36
    EHCI.app 15760 2012.3.6 21:1.0
    ES.app 4118 2012.3.6 21:1.14
    FAT.app 19652 2012.3.6 21:1.40
    FFSP.app 8540 2012.3.6 21:2.38
    MLOAD.app 7025 2012.3.6 21:4.50
    ReadMe.txt 2770 2012.3.6 21:5.54
    SDHC.app 6548 2012.3.6 21:5.34
    USBS.app 9488 2012.3.6 21:5.54

    I get the empty path error as usual again.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I always forget to tell about my Windows setup:
    It's Windows 10 x64 (latest build) with nothing really special installed or tweaked. Installed .NET Framework version is 5.0.3.
     
    alexander1970 and XFlak like this.
  12. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Can you install .net framework 3.5? iirc correctly you can have it installed in addition to what you got currently. Probably won't make a difference because iirc it's needed for NUS Downloader and not libwiisharp, but maybe it's both (edit: and I think modMii may check if it's installed and prompt you to install it if missing? so maybe u have this already? working from memory on this one, and it's a bit fuzzy)

    I think that if you can adjust your settings so that your cmd window's default is english, we may see it start to work (or maybe not, lol).

    Thanks for continuing to try to troubleshoot this. I can commit to (eventually) removing tmdedit as a requirement for building the v10 beta cIOSs, but the fact that you're still trying to help figure out this problem just motivates me more to build a workaround release just for you specifically, even if no one else has this issue!
     
    alexander1970 and CaptainHIT like this.
  13. CaptainHIT

    CaptainHIT GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    Germany
    I've changed the system language but it didn't resolve it, the only thing I've seen is that one of the beta modules is now present after I ran the d2x-beta-md5-updater.bat!
    I've checked the system for installed .NET Frameworks and 3.5 is installed:
    Screenshot 2021-03-02 162218.png Screenshot 2021-03-02 135817.png

    Check this video for the 6.6.1 output with one dx2-v10-beta recognized now.
    Screenshot 2021-03-02 1629162.png

    Untitled.png

    lol! I"m flattered. :D
     
    Last edited by CaptainHIT, Mar 2, 2021
    alexander1970 and XFlak like this.
  14. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    So I said I would eventually remove tmdedit as a requirement for building the v10 beta52 and v10 beta35-alt cIOSs... well, eventually came pretty quick!

    Please try this latest beta version of ModMii 6.6.2, the only material change was to to avoid using tmdedit for all current releases of the d2x cIOS. In theory if a new beta was to be released tomorrow it would be built using tmdedit, but that's not very likely to happen any time soon, and if it does just holla if you experience this same issue again.

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/zudepmi3i2wh788/ModMii6.6.2beta20210302.zip/file

    this should work for you as it builds these cIOSs using the same method as v8 and lower, which has been working for you thus far. But please test it out and let me know how it goes
     
    CaptainHIT and alexander1970 like this.
  15. CaptainHIT

    CaptainHIT GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Country:
    Germany
    lol! This was nice :lol:
    Unbenannt.png

    Finally! It is working! Thanks alot for your efforts! You did a great job! :grog:
    sssss.png
    As usual, this was created again with uninstalling and deleting the old ModMii folder. So a fresh install works great!
     
    Last edited by CaptainHIT, Mar 2, 2021
    ca032769, XFlak and alexander1970 like this.
  16. xywma

    xywma Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,
    I'm totally new to Wii modding (I'm using one I bought a few weeks ago on eBay, 4.3U, no existing HBC). When I run HackMii, it freezes when I get to Press 1 on the scam screen and I can't proceed, which is an issue it seems like a lot of folks have. I tried a couple of fixes including a recommended update for IOS58 (sorry, as a new user I can't link to the Reddit guide I used), but installing the recommended WAD failed. Finally found my way to ModMii and followed the wizard, ran into the same issue with HackMii. Ran HackMii Solutions, installed its 6 WADs successfully. Tried the exploit again, still froze at Press 1. Attempted to install the IOS58 WAD and this time it installed fine, but when I opened LetterBomb I hit the same freeze. I'm out of ideas, and would be grateful for any input! I'm unable to post my generated guide—the forum is marking it as spam.
     
  17. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,666
    Country:
    Argentina
    When I load Gamecube games from the USB stick the SD card overheats and the Wii turns off. Maybe is because is Summer, maybe I need to clean my Wii vents, I don't know. I will try again on a cold day to see what happens.

    By the way how do I play Wiiware in my without risking bricking it?
     
  18. XFlak

    OP XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,200
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Setting up an emulated nand with wiiware and accessing it via usbloader gx and/or neek is generally the preferred method, there are some other ways though

    edit: wiiflow and cfg usb loader also support this btw, GX was the first to add stable support for it (I think) so often my default is to suggest it
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Mar 2, 2021
    ca032769, alexander1970 and jeannotte like this.
  19. ca032769

    ca032769 INFOCOM Collector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    United States
    You can use larger drives, much larger.

    I've been using Western Digital 4TB Passports & 5TB P-10 Game drives for a long time that are only powered by the USB port. They work fine with a single cable, but most times when I set a system up for someone else I use the Y-cable just to make sure they don't suffer from low power to the drive.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    An SD card in the Wii overheating? That's a new one for me.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hmmm, maybe the problem is not the SD card, but using a USB stick (flash drive). USB sticks can cause problems including the system shutting down. You would be better with a hard drive, even if it's just a small one.
     
    jeannotte, XFlak and alexander1970 like this.
  20. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,666
    Country:
    Argentina
    I will try to run the games from the sd card next
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Official, Windows, Support