Cuber456

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'll keep my post simple.

I'm working on a model viewer for Virtue's Last Reward(3DS). I can render models decently enough.

I want to try and tackle animations now. My question I want to know is how would I go about doing this? What am I to look out for in files and how can animations, in the general case, be stored in files?

I have no idea what to expect for animations (how they are stored and how they actually manipulate models). Any sort of advice is appreciated.

Reactions: Deleted User
D

Deleted User

I'm not 100% sure about how animations are stored in any 3DS game, but I've had a tiny bit of experience with the format of some animation project's animation files.
I can't remember which program this was, but how it worked was:

• It saved it's data frame by frame
  • It stored bone name + global position (X,Y,Z)
There is a possibility that it may work somewhat like that, bu I'm not 100% sure, as I've had no experience with 3D models and animation in any format used on the Nintendo 3DS.

Reactions: Cuber456

NCDyson

Hello Boys...
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've seen them stored many ways, it usually depends on the file format. Sometimes it's by frame, sometimes it's by bone. Sometimes it's world space coordinates(if you're lucky) and sometimes it's parent space coordinates (I hate those).

Cuber456

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States