Modding Kotor

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
755
Trophies
0
XP
610
Country
United States
Modding Kotor works about the same as NeverWinter Nights so its pretty simple to do. I tested it with Kotor restoration 1 and will provide the folder layout which should work with other mods as well. you probably don't have to sort certain override files into specific folders but thats how it was in the base game so I did it to be safe. the dialog.tlk provided is already patched for the restoration mod you just need to provide the mod files. you will know right away if the restoration mod is working when you can change the difficulty to "impossible".

some mods will only work if you start a new game for example if you use the restoration mod on a previous save some things will work while others won't like the Droid Bartender will not be restored in the Cantina nor the Arena Announcer (among many other things) so i'd suggest doing all your mods before starting a game
 

Attachments

  • 0100854015868000.7z
    965.7 KB · Views: 11
Last edited by deathblade200,

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
755
Trophies
0
XP
610
Country
United States
not sure what im doing wrong but no mods are working for me
you have to know the proper layout of the mods. for example I found out the layout of the restoration mod by making an empty folder on my computer putting the dialog.tlk file in it (since the mod only requires it for patching) and then I ran the installer included with the restoration patch which then added all the mod files to that new folder in their proper folders. from that point i just compared them to whats included in the base game and the base game includes all the same folders as well as a few extra (most likely unnecessary) override folders so I knew mods would work. some mods also will only work on a new game
 
Last edited by deathblade200,

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
755
Trophies
0
XP
610
Country
United States
im mainly trying texture override mods
everything I've personally tried has worked but some things refuse to work unless you start a new game idk if thats the case for textures or not. just drop files directly into the override folder because from my testing they dont seem to need the extra folders
 

FFTW

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
118
Country
United States
you have to know the proper layout of the mods. for example I found out the layout of the restoration mod by making an empty folder on my computer putting the dialog.tlk file in it (since the mod only requires it for patching) and then I ran the installer included with the restoration patch which then added all the mod files to that new folder in their proper folders. from that point i just compared them to whats included in the base game and the base game includes all the same folders as well as a few extra (most likely unnecessary) override folders so I knew mods would work. some mods also will only work on a new game
I am a console gamer, so I am not used to installing mods. can you please post a step by step guide for installing mods to KOTOR (Particularly the restoration mod, and other mods too)? thanks :)
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
755
Trophies
0
XP
610
Country
United States
I am a console gamer, so I am not used to installing mods. can you please post a step by step guide for installing mods to KOTOR (Particularly the restoration mod, and other mods too)? thanks :)
instead of me having to write a shitload
just use the folder with dialog.tlk in it as the installation folder
 
  • Like
Reactions: FFTW

FFTW

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
118
Country
United States
instead of me having to write a shitload
just use the folder with dialog.tlk in it as the installation folder
Just watched it. Thanks, but what to do after I extracted the mods to have the switch recognize and use them? should I place everything in the Override folder in the base game? or replace the same stuff in the base game? also, can I install multiple mods on KOTOR switch concurrently, like the restoration mod+the new planet mod+ the Yavin 4 mod?

also, another question: I am currently playing on switch a pretty cool CRPG game called "ATOM RPG", and it has a few PC mods that I would love to have (like the no weight one, as I hate the "encumbered" mechanic lol), but some of its mods state that they need to be installed by something called "unity mod manager". Is there a way to have these mods work on the switch version too?

Thanks for all the help :)
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
755
Trophies
0
XP
610
Country
United States
Just watched it. Thanks, but what to do after I extracted the mods to have the switch recognize and use them? should I place everything in the Override folder in the base game? or replace the same stuff in the base game? also, can I install multiple mods on KOTOR switch concurrently, like the restoration mod+the new planet mod+ the Yavin 4 mod?

also, another question: I am currently playing on switch a pretty cool CRPG game called "ATOM RPG", and it has a few PC mods that I would love to have (like the no weight one, as I hate the "encumbered" mechanic lol), but some of its mods state that they need to be installed by something called "unity mod manager". Is there a way to have these mods work on the switch version too?

Thanks for all the help :)
this is for layeredfs the folder I provided goes in the atmosphere/contents folder. you can try different mods but there is no way I can tell you about compatibility between all of them. I know nothing about "Atom RPG" so I have no clue
 

FFTW

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
118
Country
United States
this is for layeredfs the folder I provided goes in the atmosphere/contents folder. you can try different mods but there is no way I can tell you about compatibility between all of them. I know nothing about "Atom RPG" so I have no clue
Thanks. As a general question though, can mods using Unity Mod Manager be installed on switch? So I can know whether there is a chance that will work or not.
 

t34p075

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 4, 2017
Messages
54
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
246
Country
United States
So I'm trying to mod KOTOR using the manual method...doing the restoration mod which you said is working...I downloaded and copied everything from the tslpatcher folder into the 'override' folder on my switch (I setup layeredfs and it's working already). I'm assuming I did something wrong, but since I am not on Windows I can't just run the TSLPatch so I'm not sure what file structure to use...can you help?
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
755
Trophies
0
XP
610
Country
United States
So I'm trying to mod KOTOR using the manual method...doing the restoration mod which you said is working...I downloaded and copied everything from the tslpatcher folder into the 'override' folder on my switch (I setup layeredfs and it's working already). I'm assuming I did something wrong, but since I am not on Windows I can't just run the TSLPatch so I'm not sure what file structure to use...can you help?
ive already answered both of these things in previous posts
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Pickle_Rick @ Pickle_Rick: