Modder releases 60fps mod for Final Fantasy VII on PC

asdasdadas.png

One of the greatest facets of PC gaming is the ability to take games and modify them. Years of effort from fans have resulted in mods that enhance the experience, completely overhaul the gameplay, or even fix bugs that the developers haven't. When it comes to Final Fantasy VII, the PC port was less than stellar; even if your computer was stronger than a PlayStation 1, the highest framerate you could get in-game was a solid 15fps. While such a low framerate in a turn-based game won't affect the gameplay severely, it's still choppy to see in motion.

Which is why a modding team by the name of Tsunamods has gone to lengths to create, and now finally release, a 60fps patch for FFVII on PC. Compatible with the Steam version and the original PC release from 1998, this patch allows the game to run smoothly. Tsunamods has also uploaded a tutorial that helps interested users install the mod, which requires the 60fps patch alongside a mod loader called 7th Heaven and a special driver, all provided as links in the YouTube video.

The Final Fantasy VII 60fps mod is currently in beta, but if you've wanted to see the original FFVII looking better than ever before, then you'll certainly want to give it a try.

:arrow: Source
 

stranno

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
802
Trophies
1
XP
2,332
Country
Spain
Oh man, I forgot how jittery OG FF7 was, never knew it was 15 FPS but that makes sense in retrospect. Mod is such a massive improvement.
FF7-8-9 used 15FPS (battles), 30FPS (game world/pre-rendered screens) and 60FPS (UI), on Playstation. Which is the main problem with the ports, they run at an unified framerate, screwing the timed actions on battles, since they worked at 60FPS originally.

This 60FPS mod feels very erratic, to be honest. Sometimes it looks accelerated, sometimes not.
 

raxadian

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
3,460
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
3,258
Country
Argentina
There is also the option of using a PS1 emulator that allows for graphic improvements in case your video card rejects the game since I remember it only working like in two video cards at the time of release.
 

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,225
Trophies
0
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
3,282
Country
United States
There is also the option of using a PS1 emulator that allows for graphic improvements in case your video card rejects the game since I remember it only working like in two video cards at the time of release.
Its that the original eidos release of ff vii for PC had a check for features to enable hardware acceleration. And the one feature that was deprecated early on was 8bit palettrd textures.

Hardware made with up to direct x 8 or an early spec of 9 was seeing the feature dropped. Last I looked into it, the geforce fx lime was the last generation of graphics cards that fully supported the feature. Newer cards deprecated (dropped) it and some others, so it wouldn't let you use hardware mode thereafter without more extensive modding.
 

sley

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2017
Messages
148
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
408
Country
Germany
Just play the Remake /s

I finished the Steam version and I remember it being buggy at certain parts and also having some localization errors.
Worst part was the Soldier minigame on Keyboard lol.
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,140
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
11,736
Country
United States
Well it is interesting. But if the game can just function like the psx original, that would be good enough for me. The crazy idea of the different FPS speeds for the field/battle/ui is already weird in itself. But i mean, there is other weird things. I been hearing stuff like how the 60FPS in some games like the HD kingdom hearts, yakuza kiwami 2, supposedly break certain things about the gameplay as if it just never was meant to be that way. :ninja:
 

tabzer

etymological
Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
3,166
Trophies
1
Age
37
XP
2,511
Country
Japan
Not sure what makes you say that? The game included a complete Yamaha software synth and also had support for the SoundBlaster AWE cards, if I'm not mistaken.
Despite having the supported hardware and installing the software, I remember it not being as good as the playstation. This is based off of memory, so it could be unreliable, but I am also reading that it was patched later on too.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    eeeeyikes
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    on the flip side, i was able to give the dingus machine that i nearly screwed the cpu up on a solid state drive
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    and i cleverly got the idea to move the pagefile to it
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    i think my ram's slower than that solid state drive, jesus christ
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    it seems like the pc chugs, then gets exponentially faster after what i can only assume is the pc running out of physsey
    ram
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    whereas before it just chugged no matter what
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    slow pagefile, slow ram, now the pagefile's leaving poor phrammy in the dust
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    and all this on a dingus windows 7 pc with no graphics card, of all things
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    an optiplex 755 MT
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I deal with bent CPU pins on a almost daily basis...
    Gift
  • Digitalcat @ Digitalcat:
    bent cpu pins are my fav, love unbending them and then bending even more by accident.
    Gift
  • Digitalcat @ Digitalcat:
    Hate how they are getting thinner and thinner.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Didn't they invent those nubs and contacts a while ago so we wouldn't have to deal with a million pins when plugging in a CPU?
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What happened to that?
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I think Intel still uses LGA?
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    not to well known with the newer CPUs
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    optiplicks
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    New AMD is still on pins Intel went LGA but rumor is they are swapping with AMD going LGA and Intel maybe going back to pins
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [turns it all into USB-B] Problem Fixed
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    CPU but awesome
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    CPU's? But I'm still working on EMP's
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    C U P?
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    A CUP? with no COFFEE in it? BAD. smh
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Seee Yoooou Peeee.
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Oh hell no! I still like my privacy in the restroom! :angry:
    Gift
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: Oh hell no! I still like my privacy in the restroom! :angry: