1. EmulateLife

    EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
  2. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,844
    Country:
    Germany
    It works on every FW from 5.x+
     
  3. Kartina

    Kartina Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    Whats the difference between the browser exploit state and the CFW state? What can the CFW state do that the browser exploit state can't? Because I have been able to install games and load homebrew apps just fine off of the browser exploit state so far. Whats so good about CFW?
     
  4. cracker

    cracker Nyah!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,527
    Country:
    United States
    Mostly not having to boot the browser exploit to run homebrew. It's been a long time, but I think I remember some compatibility issues with some installed titles and homebrew when running via browserhax vs CFW/CBHC.
     
  5. pedro702

    pedro702 GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    10,506
    Country:
    Portugal
    Lol you run cfw through the bowser exploit too, or else you couldnt play any games or instal them, the diference is if you have haxchi or CBHC you dont need internet and in cbhc case you got cfw on boot so you can just start any installed homebrew or game right off instead of going through the tedious browser exploit.
     
    Kartina likes this.
  6. niuus

    niuus GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,365
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Yes, you can. I do it all the time, both offline and online. Pretty speedy process.
     
  7. sys64738

    sys64738 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Hungary
    I'm using Mocha CFW with 5.5.1E FW.
    Everytime if i turn on the console i must activate via web browser.
    I'm wondering if its possible caching the exploit to Wii U's web browser memory, like the PS4 exploit?
    Then where possible to load the exploit offline...
     
  8. Manurocker95

    Manurocker95 Game Developer & Pokémon Master
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,432
    Country:
    Spain
    You can load the exploit offline if you install it right in the console xd
     
    sys64738 likes this.
  9. sys64738

    sys64738 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Hungary
    Is there a guide for this?
     
  10. Manurocker95

    Manurocker95 Game Developer & Pokémon Master
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,432
    Country:
    Spain
    The official guide has instructions for that https://wiiu.hacks.guide/mocha-cfw.html. You will need a NDS game legally bought tho.
     
    sys64738 likes this.
  11. livid_hen

    livid_hen Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    gbatemp.net/threads/indexiine-load-cfw-during-boot-and-offline-without-a-vc-ds-title.553681/
     
  12. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi guys and gals.
    I've testing out mocha these last couple of days, awesome stuff!

    Since I don't have a gamepad I'll have to rely on drc-sim to get mocha running (else I get errors about 'inserting fat32 formated SD card').

    Is there any particular reason it has to have a gamepad requirement at all?

    If so, what is the dependcy? Maybe there is a meta.xml I could edit to solve this. Thanks guys!
     
    Last edited by jacobsson, Apr 12, 2020
  13. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,025
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I cant remember the full details but Mocha takes advantage of a flaw in the mii channel which has something to do with the mii channel having sd card access. The Mii Channel will only boot using a WiiU gamepad thus why you technically need one to load mocha.
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Apr 12, 2020
  14. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thank you, that's interesting! I wonder if I could modify the mii channels meta.xml to remove this. I guess that wouldn't be more risky than the proposal of replacing the index.html for the browser.

    So anyone know what title id mii channel use? I'll let you know if it's a brick or not. I just need to make a proper nand backup first.
     
  15. HackingNewbie

    HackingNewbie GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    000500101004AX00 - X is 0 for JPN, 1 for USA, and 2 for EUR

    To find the title id of anything run the tcpgecko installer. Connect via tcpgecko.NET or jgecko u to the wii u. Then the title id is the first 8 bytes at memory address 0x10000000
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  16. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8,025
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do it the hard way when the title ids are available on this website https://wiiubrew.org/wiki/Title_database
     
    jacobsson likes this.
  17. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Sweden
    Good news, it now works!

    @HackingNewbie @AmandaRose I really appreciate both of your replies, they go in different dephts but solves the same issue.

    Also, thanks to you guys I no longer need a gamepad to enter mocha CFW

    For anyone who want to do this, use FTP everywhere, find the title id of your mii channel, in meta/meta.xml edit line 60 (OBS: your line number might vary!) from:
    <drc_use type="unsignedInt" length="4">2</drc_use>
    to :
    <drc_use type="unsignedInt" length="4">1</drc_use>
     
    Last edited by jacobsson, Apr 12, 2020
  18. huma_dawii

    huma_dawii GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,756
    Country:
    United States
    Can we do this with the web browser so it doesn't require the gamepad?
     
  19. jacobsson

    jacobsson GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Sweden
    You don't need a gamepad for running Mocha in the browser, you can just navigate with the d-pad, I can use both wiiimote and pro controller for this. Even nicer is if you make the last steps of this guide, then Mocha will be automatically triggered after a couple of seconds just by starting the browser.

    Although, if you don't make the mod of the mii channel you must have a gamepad connected.
     
    Last edited by jacobsson, Apr 13, 2020
  20. huma_dawii

    huma_dawii GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,756
    Country:
    United States
    I need the gamepad to input the address, I was referring to a console that definitely don't have a gamepad at all!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - chocolate, Mocha, sweet