1. nexusmtz

    nexusmtz GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    United States
    Code:
    usb:
      /wiiu
        /apps
          /homebrew_launcher
          /loadiine_gx2
        /games
    
    If it's FAT32, it'll mount. I wouldn't try anything larger than 2TB (at first anyway). My 6TB in a dock didn't work. A flash drive did.

    Whatever you would normally have under the sd:/wiiu folder needs to be on this drive too, since the system won't see the SD.

    You might also have other folders on the SD. It woudn't hurt to copy those too.
     
    Last edited by nexusmtz, Mar 1, 2017 - Reason: Fixed the tree, and you don't need /usr.
    Genocidalraven likes this.
  2. Genocidalraven

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info! Going to try it now.
     
  3. Hillage

    Hillage Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    Let me know if that works as I didn't have any luck with it.

    Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
     
  4. Genocidalraven

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Yea it did work. My problem wasn't the file system but my usb was formatted improperly (it was exfat not FAT32)
     
  5. Hillage

    Hillage Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    I swear mine is FAT32 as well but I'll check again when I get home.

    Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
     
  6. Genocidalraven

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I thought so to, but windows had trouble formatting it to FAT32 for some reason. First I tried using EaseUS but it stayed exfat. Then I downloaded Guiformat (was recommended by the WiiU hacking discord) and that finally got it to FAT32.
     
  7. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,904
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah btw here is a great post on how to format really big drives to FAT32 with the right cluster size so it can be used for everything:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/usb-loader-gx.149922/page-1132#post-6662953
     
  8. nexusmtz

    nexusmtz GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    United States
    That's a good procedure, but I suspect it only works if your drive presents itself as 4096 bytes per sector, or the manufacturer provides a utility to make it do so.
     
  9. PTKickass

    PTKickass Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Portugal
    Can anyone explain me how do I put games on a FAT32 USB? I'm using the Mocha build that supports it, but I don't know how I set the HDD up.
    Do I put the encrypted game files (with the ticket) in a folder inside the "usr" folder?
     
  10. oscarmbv

    oscarmbv Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Hello I'm new at this and I wan't to be very careful not to brick my wii u. I have a question (sorry if someone ask this before) I succesfully installed mocha with rednand on my wii u and installed homebrew laucher and wup installer on usb (rednand) but when I turn my wii u these two channel appear on screen menu (original nand). The question is: I can't load these two channel or will brick my wii U on nand? or just won't work or even better will work or nand? (I don't think so). Or maybe it's
    recommendable install this contentent on rednand and not usb? Thank you.
     
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    So, what's happened here is that you installed HBL and WUPInstaller from redNAND to your USB. This means that the ticket was installed to your redNAND.
    This also means that the content can be accessed from sysNAND (real NAND) but there is no ticket to verify those contents. That's why you probably see "?" on your sysNAND menu.

    But that's okay. The Wii U Menu is not as error prone as the Wii's, trying to open these from sysNAND will not brick your console, but rather show an error message and ask you to restart your console.

    To fix this, you should boot up your redNAND and remove both titles from your USB using Data Management in System Settings (yes, its that easy). Then re-install both of them to your redNAND only, not to your USB.
     
    oscarmbv likes this.
  12. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,904
    Country:
    Germany
    If you're using the newest Mocha CFW build with USB support, you have two options:
    1. put the games in USB:\wiiu\games\ and play them with Loadiine
    2. install the games to one USB drive that is formatted in WFSU format by the Wii U, connect the other USB (which is FAT32) to your PC and copy the games via ftpiiu from your Wii U's USB drive to the USB drive on your PC (USB:\usr\) and replace the drives on the Wii U after you're done
     
    PTKickass and Mr Objection like this.
  13. Danny350

    Danny350 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having a little issue I cannot seem to find info on, or figure out. When I set the setting 'Skip this menu' to on it does not seem to save. Can anyone point me in the right direction to getting this setting to save?
     
  14. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,891
    Country:
    United States
    Are you referring to setting up mocha cfw? It should save unless you have write protection on the sd card?

    Check if the little switch on the side of it is set to unlock.
     
  15. Danny350

    Danny350 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I appreciate the quick advice, but that is not the issue. I've already setup Mocha without this setting enabled. Now that I got more of a grasp and coldboot setup I was wanting to disable it. Not sure where to go from here. It's not a big issue, but I'm just trying to sort this out.
     
  16. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,891
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand, you said that a setting you had changed was not saving correct? What is it you want to disable?
     
  17. Danny350

    Danny350 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    That was my bad, I meant to say enable skip this menu, not disable it.

    Edit: So I went ahead and tried another SD card and it worked. This old eBay one might need to be retired. Sorry to bother you over a trivial issue, but I appreciate your time.
     
    Last edited by Danny350, Mar 2, 2017
  18. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,891
    Country:
    United States
    Is a forum after all, asking for help is acknowledge and welcomed here, is no bother otherwise i would have not replied. ^_^

    I'm glad you was able to fix your problem. Maybe try formatting the card and be sure. Use this program on your pc to test if it works properly. https://3ds.guide/h2testw-(windows) :)
     
  19. AccilesxP

    AccilesxP Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    Nice Work, i have one question. This CFW should be istaled abve the SYSNAND? OR should be emulated? I am scare to install one CFW above the original IOSU.
     
  20. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,891
    Country:
    United States
    Umm... you don't "Install" anything, simply load it from homebrew loader from the sd card. That is all. Just remember you have to do it every time you turn on the wii u system. :P

    Think of it as PSP with pro cfw that has quick recovery. :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - chocolate, Mocha, sweet