1. Demonhacker

    OP Demonhacker Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I made a mistake in my lack of attention. I seem to installed the wrong firmware type on my emunand (fat32 instead of exfat) and now my emunand isnt booting. Im using SXOS. Is there anyway of either updating an emunand on another card and replacing firmware files on this one? Or maybe injecting the correct Firmware type manually into the emunand? I'd prefer not to lose all my installed things if possible, but if theres no other way Im willing to do it.
     
  2. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    You can try using a fat32 card and flash the firmware back. However, if you have flashed the wrong firmware, I'd just rebuild your emunand.
     
  3. xabier

    xabier GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    570
    Country:
    United States
    Did you have a theme or ax autoloader before updating? That s probably the issue, delete the "titles" folder from sx folder.

    If emunand is on a partition it should boot normally and then ask you to update. Anyway do yourself a favour, backup the microsd card and use fat32, it s much safer. You can use big xci files from an exfat pendrive.
     
  4. AdamRav

    AdamRav Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Its recommended you use FAT32. Using exfat will end up corrupting your SD card or you get weird stuff happening when installing games. Stuff will still work but not reliably....
     
  5. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Did you figure out a way to fix this?
     
  6. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,296
    Country:
    United States
    Just use FAT32.
     
    Lacius likes this.
  7. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    How do I get past the black boot screen on the emunand though?
     
  8. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    If it’s emunand, just recreate and don’t waste anymore time
     
  9. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Won't I lose all my saves?
     
  10. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
  11. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it's the emunand, i created a new one and it's still getting stuck on the switch logo. When i press the power button it restarts to ofw.

    It boots into ofw with emunand turned off though and works.

    Using sxos
     
  12. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    Have you downloaded the latest boot.dat and placed in your memory card?
    What firmware version is your OFW. Are you using exfat and have the exact update installed on your SysNAND?
     
    Last edited by jellybeangreen2, Jul 13, 2020
  13. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I tried the newest beta and the stable, neither work. I have 10.0.04 on Sys and emuanad

    Thanks for your help btw
     
    jellybeangreen2 likes this.
  14. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    Try and get your saves. If not, write it off, create your emunand and back it up
     
  15. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to mount the user folder and it says i need to format. How do I dunno the Tsec key? It's saying my bis3 key is wrong
     
  16. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    Read the link properly buddy. It says format under Windows cause it doesn’t know what it is. You might the .bin under hacdiskmount. You have to use biskeydump to dump your keys to decrypt the the contents
     
  17. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't see anything about formatting?

    my emunand is a full rawnand so i can't do the steps where you merge full.00-full.03

    This part

    "I then opened the newly created full.bin using hacdiskmount and double-clicked on the USER partition.
    At the bottom of the previous screen, the log showed that the secondary GPT had an offset error.
    I input the two parts of BIS Key 3 (I obtained them using biskeydump v7) and clicked to test them. The verification failed.
    I mounted the USER partition anyway after installing the Virtual Drive driver.

    I then used this tool to retrieve my game saves and unpack them :
    I copied all the folders located in the "save" folder of the newly mounted EmuNAND USER partition to the "save" folder of the tool.
    I double-clicked "run.bat".
    All your saves are now located in the "out" directory.
    I used a previous Checkpoint saves backup to figure out which folder corresponds to which game, and moved them all in their respective game folder (in the Checkpoint folder of my SD card).

    I booted on SysNAND, restored the saves using Checkpoint, and confirmed that they were in working order.

    I booted back on the SX Pro bootloader, deleted EmuNAND entirely and created a new Emunand (on firmware 5.1.0 since that's the firmware my SysNAND is on)!

    Voilà, if you follow the same procedure I did (and have not burned your fuses because you had enabled AutoRCM before the accidental update), you now have a fully working EmuNAND back on a lower firmware and you can now forget about this whole ordeal!!"

    Doesn't say anything about formatting. I did use biskeydump to get it but it says error. When i mount user, it comes up as a drive in windows but when i try to open it to get the saves it says the disk needs formatting. If I format it, won't it delete the dump basically?
     
  18. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    Don’t format. Yes it will delete the dump. Just click cancel. Windows doesn’t know what it is as said. If your image is 1 file even easier. Just mount using hacdiskmount. Make sure you have your bis keys to decrypt. Once decrypted it will mount and you can then extract the data. it is a rough guide on what to do to restore saves. Just do that part. It’s not going to give you full explanation. The assumption is you know how to use hacdiskmount
     
    Last edited by jellybeangreen2, Jul 14, 2020
  19. link1227

    link1227 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Yea that's what i mean, I know how to use it but it's not working right. I added the biskey3 upper and lower crypt/tweak and it says that the keys is wrong so it's not mounting right. When i mount it anyway, it doesn't let me extract the saves, just aak to format. I guess since the emunand might be corrupt it can't read it I suppose
     
  20. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    Did you dump your keys correctly? - Id just delete and restart. But just remember to use checkpoint and export. If you have any saves on sysnand. Use checkpoint>export. Create a new emunand. Then use checkpoint on emunand >import. Done.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Mistakenly, installed, Emunand