Homebrew RELEASE MissionControl: Use controllers from other consoles natively via Bluetooth

ganons

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
3,091
Trophies
0
XP
2,474
Country
Seem to get a crash on 13.2.0 latest atmos with sig patches
edit: ignore that, I was launching it from homebrew app store

Can we map the buttons?
 
Last edited by ganons,

SpiderLink

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2007
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
208
Country
United States
Hey there. Sorry, just need a clarification: is the Xbox Elite Series 2 controller supported or not? I've been trying for a while since the Github page lists it under the "supported controller" section, but there was a post last year about them not being supported. I've been able to sync a DualShock 4 so I'm pretty sure I've gotten it running well otherwise.

Thanks for the very cool project, and happy new year :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
354
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,605
Country
Australia
Hey there. Sorry, just need a clarification: is the Xbox Elite Series 2 controller supported or not? I've been trying for a while since the Github page lists it under the "supported controller" section, but there was a post last year about them not being supported. I've been able to sync a DualShock 4 so I'm pretty sure I've gotten it running well otherwise.

Thanks for the very cool project, and happy new year :)
Yes, the Elite series 2 controller has been supported since version 0.5.1. It required some patching to the Bluetooth service before it would work and I had just about given up on it, which is why you will find old threads talking about it not being supported.

If you're having troubles pairing the controller I would first try reinstalling the latest release from GitHub and rebooting and see if that fixes it. Because the Bluetooth patches are separate to the sysmodule it's possible to have a partial install situation where the sysmodule is running but the patches are not applied. I have created exefs patches for each firmware version and attempted to verify with a third party who owns the controller that each one is working correctly, but it's possible something has slipped through the cracks. Which firmware version are you running?
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

ZER-O

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
405
Trophies
0
XP
1,043
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks to @ndeadly and @ZER-O suggestions, I was able to get an Xbox One (1708) controller that matched the requirements for Mission Control, and I'm happy to report that the controller is working wonderfully under my 13.2.0 Switch with Atmosphere 1.2.5 :D

It's so nice to finally be able to have one controller for everything.
Thanks for all the work and suggestions!
i am using a PS5 Dual sense and it works on everything including PC (by using DS4 Windows Fork) i Highly recommend this over Xbox Controllers unless you are coming from an Xbox Generation
 

SpiderLink

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2007
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
208
Country
United States
Yes, the Elite series 2 controller has been supported since version 0.5.1. It required some patching to the Bluetooth service before it would work and I had just about given up on it, which is why you will find old threads talking about it not being supported.

If you're having troubles pairing the controller I would first try reinstalling the latest release from GitHub and rebooting and see if that fixes it. Because the Bluetooth patches are separate to the sysmodule it's possible to have a partial install situation where the sysmodule is running but the patches are not applied. I have created exefs patches for each firmware version and attempted to verify with a third party who owns the controller that each one is working correctly, but it's possible something has slipped through the cracks. Which firmware version are you running?
Thanks for the quick reply. I'm running Mission Control 0.6.3 on Atmosphere 1.2.5 on 13.2.0. The controller is on version 5.11.3118.0

Is it possible that the Dualshock 4 is still recognized in a partial install situation? That controller works perfectly which is why I thought there might have been something specifically off about the Elite 2, maybe an unsupported newer firmware of the controller itself. Thanks again!
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
354
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,605
Country
Australia
Thanks for the quick reply. I'm running Mission Control 0.6.3 on Atmosphere 1.2.5 on 13.2.0. The controller is on version 5.11.3118.0

Is it possible that the Dualshock 4 is still recognized in a partial install situation? That controller works perfectly which is why I thought there might have been something specifically off about the Elite 2, maybe an unsupported newer firmware of the controller itself. Thanks again!
Yes, the sysmodule component is all that is required to be installed for most controllers to work just fine. The patches are completely independent, and only required for a few specific controllers. and there is nothing checking whether they have been loaded or not.

When did you last update the controller firmware? There's a new firmware available recently for the regular Xbox One one controllers that will change them to use Bluetooth LE (which isn't supported currently). Maybe there's an update for the Elite controller that does this too. When I added support the current version was 4.8.x.x, so this seems quite possible.
 

SpiderLink

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2007
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
208
Country
United States
Yes, the sysmodule component is all that is required to be installed for most controllers to work just fine. The patches are completely independent, and only required for a few specific controllers. and there is nothing checking whether they have been loaded or not.

When did you last update the controller firmware? There's a new firmware available recently for the regular Xbox One one controllers that will change them to use Bluetooth LE (which isn't supported currently). Maybe there's an update for the Elite controller that does this too. When I added support the current version was 4.8.x.x, so this seems quite possible.
I don't remember when the last controller update was but going by the search results for the firmware version number, it would have been late October/early November 2021. I found a thread about reverting a controller's firmware here and am trying that now in case that helps, I'll be sure to edit this post with the results.

Edit: It worked! Following the pretty simple instructions on that page let me revert to controller firmware 4.8.1908.0 and that enabled me to connect the controller to my Switch right away. Search terms in case anybody needs to find this: Xbox One Elite Series S X Microsoft MS XOX XSX XSS "Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2 by Xbox"

Thanks for the help ndeadly, have a happy new year!

Second edit: Figured putting the steps in this post might help more than a link that could die at any moment:

On your Xbox (One or Series, shouldn't make a difference), navigate to "My Games and Apps", then "Apps". Launch "Xbox Assist"

In Xbox Assist, go right or hit Right Bumper to switch to the "Get Help" tab.

Navigate to "Console & Accessories" on the top-right part of the help topics.

In the list, select "Controller", then "My controller has connection issues after the last update". The help article will include a button labelled "Check controller firmware". Selecting that button will give you the opportunity to revert the firmware. Follow the instructions and hopefully your firmware will now be compatible, future person.

A word of warning that this will prevent your controller from automatically receiving and applying firmware updates but apparently manual updates will still work. I take no responsibility for any damages to your consoles, games, controllers, body, or psyche.
 
Last edited by SpiderLink,

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
354
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,605
Country
Australia
I don't remember when the last controller update was but going by the search results for the firmware version number, it would have been late October/early November 2021. I found a thread about reverting a controller's firmware here and am trying that now in case that helps, I'll be sure to edit this post with the results.

Edit: It worked! Following the pretty simple instructions on that page let me revert to controller firmware 4.8.1908.0 and that enabled me to connect the controller to my Switch right away. Search terms in case anybody needs to find this: Xbox One Elite Series S X Microsoft MS XOX XSX XSS "Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2 by Xbox"

Thanks for the help ndeadly, have a happy new year!

Second edit: Figured putting the steps in this post might help more than a link that could die at any moment:

On your Xbox (One or Series, shouldn't make a difference), navigate to "My Games and Apps", then "Apps". Launch "Xbox Assist"

In Xbox Assist, go right or hit Right Bumper to switch to the "Get Help" tab.

Navigate to "Console & Accessories" on the top-right part of the help topics.

In the list, select "Controller", then "My controller has connection issues after the last update". The help article will include a button labelled "Check controller firmware". Selecting that button will give you the opportunity to revert the firmware. Follow the instructions and hopefully your firmware will now be compatible, future person.

A word of warning that this will prevent your controller from automatically receiving and applying firmware updates but apparently manual updates will still work. I take no responsibility for any damages to your consoles, games, controllers, body, or psyche.
Nice, I wasn't aware downgrading the controller firmware was possible. Thanks for the info!
 
Last edited by ndeadly,
  • Like
Reactions: SpiderLink

morsalbum

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2021
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
30
Country
Ireland
hey, ive read everywhere i could but can't seem to find anything about phones? like is it possible to have a generic controller/emulation on an android with this? i've tried using the joycon droid app and another one but they didnt sync/would keep disconnecting, so i updated all my ams and firmware to get missioncontrol, thinking it may be the trickto get those apps working for just the 'controller' aspect of them, but nope :(

just curious if theres ANYTHING that makes sense for this type of thing. i've seen a tiny bit of stuff about needing root+magisk to get the bluetooth/sync function working fully, but im not 100% certain about that, especially since these apps like joycon droid used to work fine with no problem previously, without needing root ofc, so... yeah. thanks :)
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
354
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,605
Country
Australia
hey, ive read everywhere i could but can't seem to find anything about phones? like is it possible to have a generic controller/emulation on an android with this? i've tried using the joycon droid app and another one but they didnt sync/would keep disconnecting, so i updated all my ams and firmware to get missioncontrol, thinking it may be the trickto get those apps working for just the 'controller' aspect of them, but nope :(

just curious if theres ANYTHING that makes sense for this type of thing. i've seen a tiny bit of stuff about needing root+magisk to get the bluetooth/sync function working fully, but im not 100% certain about that, especially since these apps like joycon droid used to work fine with no problem previously, without needing root ofc, so... yeah. thanks :)
Mission Control can work with anything that advertises itself as a gamepad, however you would still need software running on the Android device to make it act as one in the first place.

As I understand it, the issue with joycon droid is that Switch firmware 12.0.0 introduced some device class checks that weren't present beforehand in order to differentiate HID gamepads from Bluetooth audio devices. Android devices typically advertise a device class of a phone or tablet, so they end up getting rejected by the newer Switch firmwares. Since joycon droid aims to be compatible with unmodified Switches, the ideal solution is to simply change the device class of the mobile device to appear as a gamepad. Unfortunately this can't be done without root access, hence the new requirement.

Mission Control includes patches to the bluetooth service to relax these new device class checks to include controllers that advertise as joysticks and keyboards. It should be possible to extend this to include phones and tablets, allowing apps like joycon droid to work without root access again on consoles running Atmosphere with the patches installed. The downside of doing this is that you may end up with nearby mobile devices attempting unwanted connections to the console.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
354
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,605
Country
Australia
Hi,
I'd like to know if someone tried with Playstation 3 controllers ?
Thanks
They are not currently supported, and can't be supported without patching of the bluetooth service. I haven't figured out what needs to be patched and how feasible it is to do so yet though.
 

fenomeno0chris

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
154
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,284
Country
Germany
Thank you very much for this great tool!
Right now I’m playing Ghost of Tsushima via Chiaki and it works great together.
Unfortunately there are sometimes phases ingame where I have to use some touchpad gestures. Is there a way to disable the screenshot functionality on my DS4 and replace it with full touch screen capability?
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
354
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,605
Country
Australia
Thank you very much for this great tool!
Right now I’m playing Ghost of Tsushima via Chiaki and it works great together.
Unfortunately there are sometimes phases ingame where I have to use some touchpad gestures. Is there a way to disable the screenshot functionality on my DS4 and replace it with full touch screen capability?
No, unfortunately not. The switch input report format has no means of sending this additional data without sacrificing existing input fields, nor can it influence console input (touchscreen, attached joycons etc).

It might however be possible to achieve with an hid mitm that can write to the touchscreen input values (assuming chiaki supports touchscreen already), or to modifiy chiaki to request a different input report format that has some additional space where we could stick the touchpad data. This second approach would likely require abusing some other input type (IR, motion data etc) in order to read the data back using the libnx pad API that chiaki will be using to read inputs.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    AliceCE @ AliceCE: