Homebrew RELEASE MissionControl: Use controllers from other consoles natively via Bluetooth

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
310
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,351
Country
Australia
It is very odd. My "authentic" pro controller really looks like the real deal. It has alle the symbols/marks that copys usually dont have. But I bougth the wii u system second hand so I really cant be sure that the pro controller indeed is original but it would surprise me if this was a clone.
Could it be something else ?
There's always the possibility that there's some other cause, but like I said, if Wii remotes are working I really don't see why the pro controllers wouldn't. The pairing is exactly the same.

I have noticed a few occasions since 13.0.0 where my Wii controllers didn't pair until after a reboot, so you could try this if you haven't already. Not sure if reliability decreased since the update, or whether it's just some instability I introduced during development/debugging.

Probably not the cause, but could also be worth checking your bluetooth pairing database is not full. You can do so with my btdb tool. I'm not actually sure what the expected behaviour is once you exceed 10 paired devices. I would assume it just overwrites the oldest one and carries on, but I know at least internally that hitting this limit generates some kind of error status.

If all else fails you could try making a log of your pairing attempts with this debug build of 0.6.0 and post it here. The log will be created on your SD card at sdmc:/bluetooth-mitm.log
 

Satfoun

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
56
Country
Lebanon
I'm pretty sure I merged the code from that build into master, so it should be in the latest release version. Easiest way is to just try it and see. If it's stopped working let me know and I'll look into it.
Ookay will do and tell you. Weird question, adding batteries to the T2a is making it heavy, i trid to plug it USB to dock but nothing happens, i thought maybe i can like power it up using cable and yet use i as wireless, like connect it to adapted connected to outlet, do you know if it is possible ? i googled and found it is possible with xbox controller
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
310
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,351
Country
Australia
Ookay will do and tell you. Weird question, adding batteries to the T2a is making it heavy, i trid to plug it USB to dock but nothing happens, i thought maybe i can like power it up using cable and yet use i as wireless, like connect it to adapted connected to outlet, do you know if it is possible ? i googled and found it is possible with xbox controller
Don't know about that as I'm not familiar with the T2a, it depends on how the controller has been designed. In theory this is how I would expect most controllers to work, but it's also possible that it may switch wireless mode off in favour of USB if a data connection is detected on the cable. I often just plug my controllers into a phone charger if I want to power/charge them. It's likely faster to charge and avoids the problem of the controller wanting to connect via USB.
 

Satfoun

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
56
Country
Lebanon
Don't know about that as I'm not familiar with the T2a, it depends on how the controller has been designed. In theory this is how I would expect most controllers to work, but it's also possible that it may switch wireless mode off in favour of USB if a data connection is detected on the cable. I often just plug my controllers into a phone charger if I want to power/charge them. It's likely faster to charge and avoids the problem of the controller wanting to connect via USB.
Yeah this one if i remove the batteries, and plug it phone charger nothing happens, tho if i press R+L , 2 lights will start flashiing . And if i press Start+ Select, all the lights will flash one after another. Weird behaviour no ? adding batteries made the controller very heavy for me
 

intellettuanale

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2017
Messages
132
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
728
Country
Italy
I have some trouble connecting my I pegs 9055. With the previous releases, the controller usee to connected fine, but now, after wiped the paired controller from system settings, I just managed to connected it once, after a lot of tried pushed X + home + select. The wiimote, in the other hand, always connected fine. Any suggestion?
 

truebeaning

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 25, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
4
Country
Jordan
Yes, wii controller pairing has been fixed for all firmware versions since the final 0.5.0 release
oh nice let me try mine, see if it works.
I'm assuming it's just pressing the 1+2 buttons and they sync up in the controller menu?

Edit: man it feels so good to be able to play galaxy with the nunchuck again, any substitutes/workarounds to motion controls?
 
Last edited by truebeaning,

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
310
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,351
Country
Australia
oh nice let me try mine, see if it works.
I'm assuming it's just pressing the 1+2 buttons and they sync up in the controller menu?

Edit: man it feels so good to be able to play galaxy with the nunchuck again, any substitutes/workarounds to motion controls?
I've never actually tried the 1+2 method, but I think it requires the pincode to be reversed from memory so it probably doesn't work. Hitting the red sync button under the battery cover is the supported method.

No substitutes for motion controls, sorry. It should be possible to support wiimotes with motion plus in the future, but the data reporting is kind of weird for that and I need to get my hands on a physical controller to implement support. The original wiimotes only have an accelerometer and lack the gyro of the motion plus, instead relying on the IR camera for additional orientation information. It's probably not possible to properly add motion controls for those on Switch.
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
310
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,351
Country
Australia
Does the latest version work in Firmware 13.1.0?
No, it needs to be updated. I have it booting again with the new atmosphere release on 13.1.0, and have created patches for wii controller pairing etc already, but something in the bluetooth services has changed that has broken controller connectivity. Unfortunately I'm busy this evening and won't be able to finish it until tomorrow at the earliest.
 

artjsalina5

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
54
Country
United States
No, it needs to be updated. I have it booting again with the new atmosphere release on 13.1.0, and have created patches for wii controller pairing etc already, but something in the bluetooth services has changed that has broken controller connectivity. Unfortunately I'm busy this evening and won't be able to finish it until tomorrow at the earliest.
Works fine for me on latest firmware+Atmos+Hekate+sigpatches with my PS4 controller.
 

truebeaning

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 25, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
4
Country
Jordan
I've never actually tried the 1+2 method, but I think it requires the pincode to be reversed from memory so it probably doesn't work. Hitting the red sync button under the battery cover is the supported method.

No substitutes for motion controls, sorry. It should be possible to support wiimotes with motion plus in the future, but the data reporting is kind of weird for that and I need to get my hands on a physical controller to implement support. The original wiimotes only have an accelerometer and lack the gyro of the motion plus, instead relying on the IR camera for additional orientation information. It's probably not possible to properly add motion controls for those on Switch.
I wish you the best of luck moving forward, if possible I can supply you one with the motion plus accessory! The idea of using the wiimote on the switch with any sort of controls is amazing as is, motion support would be beyond whatever I expected to begin with.
 

marcioap1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2012
Messages
133
Trophies
0
XP
408
Country
Brazil
I will only update my Switch to 13.1 when it comes out.
Mission Control is very important in my use.
Is there any release forecast?
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
310
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,351
Country
Australia
I will only update my Switch to 13.1 when it comes out.
Mission Control is very important in my use.
Is there any release forecast?
Support for 13.1.0 is complete. I will make a release in the next couple of hours, just want to squeeze in a small workaround I promised a couple of users first.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Red rover red rover send deeze nuts on over
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah they should send something with 5000 HP over there and REALLY tear it up.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Around the Moon in 80 hours.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Tesla really needs to step their game up if they wanna tear up tracks on the moon
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    The problem being is no electric chargers within 20 miles of each other are on the moon
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    yeah send a cybertruck up there
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it looks like something from space anyway
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    just need to add folding solar panels to it
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Jut have it nuclear powered.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Like submarines.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    submarines are quite a lot bigger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't think we have reactors small enough to fit in a car yet
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But the generator itself is relatively small.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And in any case you couldn't get proper cooling on the Moon so a powerful nuclear generator is out of the question.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    just run it at night
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and run on battery power at day
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Cooling issues.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the moon is like -170C at night i'm sure that's enough
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And the only way to take advantage of that cold is to burrow cooling fins into the ground.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Contrary to popular belief, the vacuum of space is not cold, it's nothing.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Heat does radiate from warm objects but the effectiveness of radiation cooling is negligible.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You need a medium to take up the heat and take it away.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And the denser the medium, with a higher specific heat capacity, the better.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    This is why water cooling is better than air cooling.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And why cooling is a major problem in space.
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: And why cooling is a major problem in space.