Homebrew RELEASE MissionControl: Use controllers from other consoles natively via Bluetooth

puked

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
390
Country
Germany
Awesome!
Thank you very much!

It indeed works together with syscon!
I use syscon with 4 xbox 360 controllers, and now i am able to use my old wii controllers, too.

How could you add other controllers?
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,402
Country
Australia
Awesome!
Thank you very much!

It indeed works together with syscon!
I use syscon with 4 xbox 360 controllers, and now i am able to use my old wii controllers, too.

How could you add other controllers?
No problem :)

If it's a variant of an already supported controller type I just need the hardware ID to add to the whitelist. If it's an unsupported controller I'll need to also create a handler to translate the new data format.
 

puked

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
390
Country
Germany
No problem :)

If it's a variant of an already supported controller type I just need the hardware ID to add to the whitelist. If it's an unsupported controller I'll need to also create a handler to translate the new data format.

Much to add there in the coming weeks... ;)

The handler sounds like much more work though... Would any generic 3rd party bluetooth controller that is not originally build for the switch need such a handler? Like any random PS3/4 look-a-like generic bluetooth controller for smartphones f.e.
Or is there some kind of "standard" for these controllers? I
 

gohan123

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
366
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,606
Country
Germany
damn, now I wish my wii u pro controller back, but I sold it fairly good.
ps3 support would be great also, what I saw on every ps3 app so far is that you need to add the master mac adress with an extra tool to the ps3 controller connected to usb.
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,402
Country
Australia
Much to add there in the coming weeks... ;)

The handler sounds like much more work though... Would any generic 3rd party bluetooth controller that is not originally build for the switch need such a handler? Like any random PS3/4 look-a-like generic bluetooth controller for smartphones f.e.
Or is there some kind of "standard" for these controllers? I
It's not that much work, the problem is more having to implement the handler "flying blind" without actually owning such a controller, and dealing with any quirks they may have.

3rd party controllers made for other consoles for which I support the official controller should simply need the hardware ID added so I can designate the correct handler. The ones requiring new handlers are things like the Steam Controller that use their own data format as far as I know.
 

swabbo

Wot u doin readin dis m8?
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
800
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
East Yorkshire/ A Bin
XP
1,977
Country
Just copied the symodule over and it needed to overwrite an existing module (worrying as it's a fresh install of atmosphere) rebooting and my Xbox One controller connected flawlessly, but now my Switch Pro controller doesn't connect
 

phalk

Handheld Maniac
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2009
Messages
543
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,559
Country
Brazil
No PS3 support yet. The pairing process is nonstandard and more research is required to determine whether it can be done without butchering the Bluetooth stack.

Take a look at how the 8bitdo USB Adapter pairs the PS3 controller (using a standalone windows application).
You could make a standalone homebrew to make the pairing on the Switch.
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,402
Country
Australia
Just copied the symodule over and it needed to overwrite an existing module (worrying as it's a fresh install of atmosphere) rebooting and my Xbox One controller connected flawlessly, but now my Switch Pro controller doesn't connect
Do you use a 3rd party Switch Pro Controller? If so, it needs to have its hardware ID whitelisted. Someone also brought to my attention that official Pro Controllers may report an incorrect hardware ID if paired via USB. In this case you may need to remove all paired controllers via the settings menu and re-pair via Bluetooth
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,402
Country
Australia
Take a look at how the 8bitdo USB Adapter pairs the PS3 controller (using a standalone windows application).
You could make a standalone homebrew to make the pairing on the Switch.
The issue is that there may be things that you can do with a Windows or Linux machine, or even the 8bitdo firmware itself, that won't work on Switch (which is closer to Android bluetooth, but with only a limited subset of high level functions exposed). I've read things about having to patch the bluetooth stack in ways that cripple other bluetooth functionality, and this is on systems where it's much easier to get at the low level bluetooth functionality.

Like I said, more research is required. It's likely a lot more work than supporting any other controller. If it can be done, you can be sure I'll add it eventually.
 
  • Like
Reactions: phalk

swabbo

Wot u doin readin dis m8?
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
800
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
East Yorkshire/ A Bin
XP
1,977
Country
Do you use a 3rd party Switch Pro Controller? If so, it needs to have its hardware ID whitelisted. Someone also brought to my attention that official Pro Controllers may report an incorrect hardware ID if paired via USB. In this case you may need to remove all paired controllers via the settings menu and re-pair via Bluetooth

Yeah resetting the paired controllers worked, using the nro you provided it had 3 different IDs for Switch Pro controllers

It is an official controller though :P
 

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,402
Country
Australia
Yeah resetting the paired controllers worked, using the nro you provided it had 3 different IDs for Switch Pro controllers

It is an official controller though :P
Did you pair some other controllers too? Currently any unrecognised controller gets renamed to Pro Controller so the switch will pair with it. I hope to be able to make this substitution a little later in the code eventually, so that the real controller name can be stored to the database
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

ndeadly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,402
Country
Australia
how do you whitelist a controller? is there a txt file for that somewhere?
It's done in the source code for now. I'm hoping a bunch of people create issues for their unsupported controllers and I'll add a bunch of them for the next release.

I might add the ability to provide a file on SD in the future. I just didn't want to deal with config files, and people inevitably misconfiguring them them for now. I'm also not certain that other controllers won't have quirks that need to be worked around in code anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: leedare and ombus
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://piunikaweb.com/2022/01/15/nvidia-shield-tv-plex-and-other-apps-not-working-after-android-...