1. puked

    puked Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    Awesome!
    Thank you very much!

    It indeed works together with syscon!
    I use syscon with 4 xbox 360 controllers, and now i am able to use my old wii controllers, too.

    How could you add other controllers?
     
  2. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    No problem :)

    If it's a variant of an already supported controller type I just need the hardware ID to add to the whitelist. If it's an unsupported controller I'll need to also create a handler to translate the new data format.
     
  3. Feffe

    Feffe GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    Italy
    Can the Wiimote Plus emulate the Joycon gyro?
     
  4. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    Not yet. I'll add support in the future.
     
    hippy dave and Feffe like this.
  5. puked

    puked Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    Much to add there in the coming weeks... ;)

    The handler sounds like much more work though... Would any generic 3rd party bluetooth controller that is not originally build for the switch need such a handler? Like any random PS3/4 look-a-like generic bluetooth controller for smartphones f.e.
    Or is there some kind of "standard" for these controllers? I
     
  6. gohan123

    gohan123 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    Germany
    damn, now I wish my wii u pro controller back, but I sold it fairly good.
    ps3 support would be great also, what I saw on every ps3 app so far is that you need to add the master mac adress with an extra tool to the ps3 controller connected to usb.
     
  7. LightBeam

    LightBeam GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    France
    I guess I'll have tons of controllers to play with now, friends will not have a single complaint
    That's absolutely great, thanks for your job
     
  8. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not that much work, the problem is more having to implement the handler "flying blind" without actually owning such a controller, and dealing with any quirks they may have.

    3rd party controllers made for other consoles for which I support the official controller should simply need the hardware ID added so I can designate the correct handler. The ones requiring new handlers are things like the Steam Controller that use their own data format as far as I know.
     
  9. Milenko

    Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,168
    Country:
    Australia
    My brain isn't working, how do I pair my ps4 controller?
     
    drrastovac likes this.
  10. swabbo

    swabbo Wot u doin readin dis m8?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    784
    Country:
    Just copied the symodule over and it needed to overwrite an existing module (worrying as it's a fresh install of atmosphere) rebooting and my Xbox One controller connected flawlessly, but now my Switch Pro controller doesn't connect
     
  11. gohan123

    gohan123 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    Germany
    go into the grip menu and then press share + ps for long time until ps4 led starts blinking.
     
    drrastovac and Milenko like this.
  12. phalk

    phalk Handheld Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    Brazil
    Take a look at how the 8bitdo USB Adapter pairs the PS3 controller (using a standalone windows application).
    You could make a standalone homebrew to make the pairing on the Switch.
     
  13. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you use a 3rd party Switch Pro Controller? If so, it needs to have its hardware ID whitelisted. Someone also brought to my attention that official Pro Controllers may report an incorrect hardware ID if paired via USB. In this case you may need to remove all paired controllers via the settings menu and re-pair via Bluetooth
     
  14. straumli

    straumli Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Netherlands
  15. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    The issue is that there may be things that you can do with a Windows or Linux machine, or even the 8bitdo firmware itself, that won't work on Switch (which is closer to Android bluetooth, but with only a limited subset of high level functions exposed). I've read things about having to patch the bluetooth stack in ways that cripple other bluetooth functionality, and this is on systems where it's much easier to get at the low level bluetooth functionality.

    Like I said, more research is required. It's likely a lot more work than supporting any other controller. If it can be done, you can be sure I'll add it eventually.
     
    phalk likes this.
  16. swabbo

    swabbo Wot u doin readin dis m8?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    784
    Country:
    Yeah resetting the paired controllers worked, using the nro you provided it had 3 different IDs for Switch Pro controllers

    It is an official controller though :P
     
  17. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you pair some other controllers too? Currently any unrecognised controller gets renamed to Pro Controller so the switch will pair with it. I hope to be able to make this substitution a little later in the code eventually, so that the real controller name can be stored to the database
     
    peteruk likes this.
  18. gohan123

    gohan123 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    Germany
    how do you whitelist a controller? is there a txt file for that somewhere?
     
  19. r5xscn

    r5xscn GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just tested it with my trusty unicorn DS4 and it works perfectly. Now waiting for the rumble and motion to work properly. Thanks a lot ndeadly!
     
  20. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Australia
    It's done in the source code for now. I'm hoping a bunch of people create issues for their unsupported controllers and I'll add a bunch of them for the next release.

    I might add the ability to provide a file on SD in the future. I just didn't want to deal with config files, and people inevitably misconfiguring them them for now. I'm also not certain that other controllers won't have quirks that need to be worked around in code anyway.
     
    ombus likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - MissionControl, controllers, Bluetooth