1. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    975
    Country:
    United States
    Yes version 1 was all over screen blinking same blue now only 1 in center on version 2.1 but version 1 and 2 was same only on Captain Toad I have seen lately. Sorry I was away from pc was restoration the garage before snow comes.
     
    Last edited by FanNintendo, Sep 20, 2020
  2. syma

    syma Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    well ,
    I am trying to connect my xbox elite 2 controller but it won`t pair. I have latest mission controll(0.2.1) and atm0.14.3.
    What i`m doin wrong?(also the gamepad is on latest firmware)
     
    Last edited by syma, Sep 20, 2020
  3. sudeki300

    sudeki300 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    Country:
    pretty sure these dont work, none of my 360 pads do
     
  4. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,400
    Country:
    Poland
    360 is using RF, MissionControl is dedicated to bluetooth controlers.
     
  5. sudeki300

    sudeki300 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    Country:
    from the first page:

    Can you add support for Xbox 360 controllers?
    No. These don't use Bluetooth. Try sys-con with a wireless USB adapter.
     
  6. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Australia
    There's an issue pairing elite controllers that I don't yet understand. They are not being authenticated correctly and cause the console to crash. In theory you would think they are the same as the other Xbox One controllers, but reading around on the internet I have found multiple reports of issues with connectivity on the elite controller. Sounds to me like they use a different, buggier firmware.
     
    lordelan likes this.
  7. 1basti1

    1basti1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2019
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Germany
    And? Mission Control is only using bluetooth, no X360 can paired wirelessly with the switch.
    It's different with the xbox one elite controller.
     
    Last edited by 1basti1, Sep 20, 2020
  8. sudeki300

    sudeki300 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    Country:
    dont get what you mean by "and?" which is a bit rude, i was pointing this out to masagrator incase they missed it on the front page, also he's talking about 360 elite not xbox one elite.
     
    Last edited by sudeki300, Sep 20, 2020
  9. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Australia
    This is interesting, good find. Again, could you please redirect the conversation to the github issue so that people looking into the issue have all the information in one place. It's better than me having to relay second hand information from this thread.
     
    lordelan and bbert like this.
  10. 1basti1

    1basti1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2019
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't get it. @masagrator pointed out, that 360 can't work with mission control because they don't use bluetooth. He didn't say they can't be used at all on the switch.

    Whatever.
     
    masagrator likes this.
  11. syma

    syma Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    So , is there any possibility to get past this? it is a shame if it won`t work for elite series....
     
  12. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Australia
    Hopefully. I'm trying to understand where it's going wrong. It's much harder since I don't own the controller to test myself. I'm working on reimplementing bluetooth pairing in a homebrew app to at least try and avoid the crashes. It's possible it just works after multiple attempts. You can contribute or follow the progress on github here
     
    lordelan and syma like this.
  13. syma

    syma Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Greece
    thanx for your quick responce, i will check this out!
     
  14. franklinyyz

    franklinyyz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    More of a hypothetical question: when Wii native emulation happens, will the wiimote be able to control the cursor without the sensor bar? You mentioned that's what the sensor bar is really intended for, so that led me to think out loud.
     
  15. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,666
    Country:
    Germany
    @ndeadly
    I have a feature request which I fear wouldn't be directly a possible feature of MissionControl but rather something separate but beside the case that we can use wireless controllers from other systems on the Switch finally, my other big wish ever since was to have "per game" button layouts.
    That way I could make sure all different kart racing games (Crash, Mario, Sonic) use the same layout where A is gas, B is brake, L is item and so on.

    Any chance of implementing this or would it better to take this straight to SciresM as a global Atmosphère feature?
     
  16. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Australia
    I've since realised that the regular wiimotes can only measure linear acceleration and are missing a gyro, so although it's still possible to compute a position from that it's likely going to be garbage. Wiimotes with motionplus should be able to behave in a similar way to Switch motion controls, so could act as a pointer like how it's handled in galaxy in the new 3d allstars. This method doesn't have a fixed frame of reference like using the sensor bar though, so needs to be recentered from time to time. The issue for native Wii games is that they assume the sensor bar to be present, so won't provide any method to do this.

    There's no reason you couldn't actually use a real sensor bar and read the IR data from the Wiimote though. The sensor bar is literally just a few infrared LEDs arranged in a known pattern that draw power from the console. It doesn't need to exchange any data or anything. Main question would be how to feed the additional data to the Switch.
     
    Last edited by ndeadly, Sep 21, 2020
    lordelan likes this.
  17. ndeadly

    OP ndeadly GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Australia
    I've thought a little bit about this. It could certainly be done with MissionControl during the control remapping phase, the question is whether I would want to or not. I like the idea of keeping the button mapping code as simple and fast as possible, and then letting users use the builtin remapping features of 10.0.0+ if they want to change the layout. I haven't really looked at this feature much, but it might be possible to take these stored configs and swap them out based on the title ID of the current game. I could see this being a feature that people that don't use MissionControl might also want, so it might make more sense for this to be a seperate module if this proves to be possible. Maybe even Nintendo add this option themselves in a future update.

    I don't think this is something SciresM would consider to be within the scope of Atmosphere. I may consider adding it somewhere down the line when the other important features are out of the way. Though I'm kinda hoping Nintendo beat me to it.
     
    hippy dave likes this.
  18. lordelan

    lordelan GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,666
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for that long answer.
    Tbh I don't really think Ninty will do it. I'm even suprised they added this globally.
    However, determining by title ID and applying a config file on the fly with a sysmodule (MissionControl or a separate one which I consider to be the better option as well) would be awesome.

    Then you provide a template config.ini like this
    Code:
    A = A;
    B = B;
    X = X;
    Y = Y;
    L = L;
    R = R;
    (and so on)
    
    which we copy and name it like [titleid].ini and place it in sd:/MissionRemap/ and adjust it to something like
    Code:
    A = X;
    B = Y;
    X = L;
    Y = R;
    L = B;
    R = A;
    (and so on)
    
    However, I'm glad you consider adding this to your roadmap even if it's at the very bottom. :P
    Thx for your attention and back to topic (MC) now. :)
     
  19. franklinyyz

    franklinyyz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Playing Street of Rage 4 with my Wii U Pro controller! Thank you for this!
    Unrelated to the app, but more of a general question about the Wii U Pro controller: I connected it to the Switch dock and it doesn't seem to be charging. Anyone else experienced the same thing?
     
    Last edited by franklinyyz, Sep 22, 2020
    lordelan likes this.
  20. hellionz

    hellionz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    waiting for SX OS implement....please make it as soon as possible!!!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - MissionControl, controllers, Bluetooth