Missing Drivers / Game runs slow yet CYRI says other wise

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by KirbyPink, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. KirbyPink
    OP

    Member KirbyPink GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Gbatemp
    Country:
    Sweden
    Right, this puzzles me.
    CPU
    Minimum: Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 3500+
    You Have: Intel Core™2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
    PASS

    CPU Speed
    Minimum: 3.0 GHz
    You Have: 3.0 GHz Performance Rated at: 5.4 GHz
    PASS

    RAM
    Minimum: XP = 1 GB, Vista = 2GB
    You Have: 4.0 GB
    PASS

    OS
    Minimum: Windows XP & Vista
    You Have: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
    PASS

    Video Card
    Minimum: 128 MB 3D Graphics card (NVIDIA GeForce 6600 or ATI Radeon X1300 or better)
    You Have: GeForce 8600 GT
    PASS
    Features: Minimum attributes of your Video Card
    Required You Have
    Video RAM 128 MB 2.2 GB
    Hardware T&L Yes Yes
    Pixel Shader version 3.0 4.0
    Vertex Shader version 3.0 4.0

    According to this, i can run it just fine, heck even run it at highest setting.
    But, when i do . Suprise! Lags alot.

    So, i do a little driver scan:
    IDE ATA/ATAPI-styrenheter
    Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF Missing
    Intel 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0 Missing

    Do these two really make that much of a diffrence? If they do, where can i download them?
    And don't throw "Go Google it". Just be nice and give me a download url to a good site.
     
  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    try you MB drive disc (if you have one)
     
  3. KirbyPink
    OP

    Member KirbyPink GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Gbatemp
    Country:
    Sweden
    Not really no.
     
  4. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    What game are you trying to run at max settings?
     
  5. KirbyPink
    OP

    Member KirbyPink GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Gbatemp
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ah, right. Batman Arkham Asylum.
     
  6. Bulit

    Member Bulit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, yeah that's the problem.
    A 8600 GT isn't powerful enough to run Batman Arkham Asylum, at least not at the highest settings.
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It tells you you need a 6600 minimum, and you have an 8600. Your graphics card is only one generation above the minimum specs, and it's a mid-ranged graphics card (of that range) at that, so you shouldnt expect it to run at anything more than medium settings, with certains settings at low (e.g. Shadows and reflections). Maybe even just low settings.

    Oh, and don't try using AA. Not even 2xAA.
     
  8. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    The ata driver missing seems a bit dodgy, isnt ata the cable which reads stuff off disc drives and the harddriver?
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SATA and PATA, depending on how old your drives are. Motherboard specific drivers are only really needed for motherboard specific features (e.g. RAID), whilst Microsoft generic drivers are perfectly fine for just reading them.

    If you really want to find and download the drivers, find your motherboard model number and look up the website. They will always have a list of drivers/software to download that are sometimes more up-to-date than that of the motherboard CD.
     
  10. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Nah I though Sata powers and ATA reads. Actually Sata has to power I thought since
    it's part of the PSU.
     
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SATA drives get a SATA power cable from the PSU and SATA data cable to plug into the motherboard. It's mostly the same as PATA drives using molex power from the PSU and IDE cables to plug into the motherboard (at least, if they still have IDE cables... some modern motherboards don't anymore).
     
  12. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    So effectively there is two different kinds of sata cables?
     
  13. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Power and data... one is short, one is long.
     

Share This Page