Misc. Questions...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AbdallahTerro, Feb 27, 2012.

Feb 27, 2012

Misc. Questions... by AbdallahTerro at 12:45 PM (2,793 Views / 0 Likes) 48 replies

  1. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    1. Can the SystemMenu wad be hacked to contain priiloader?

    2.Can a Autoboot DVD use an IOS different from that used for the System Menu?

    3.What's the best way to convert a homebrew app (dol) into an autoboot-DVD?

    Thanks...
     


  2. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    1. No

    2. Yes

    3. IDK

    Next time try searching first.
    EDIT: ^^That sounded harsh, I'm sure, but was not intended to.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Thanks Foez,
    Regarding Quest.#2 if IOS 58 is used can this potentially allow the use of Universal Anti-Brick disk to run on virgin wii or a semi-bricked wii with no cIOS for SM?
    It takes time to find up to the point answers like this :)
     
  4. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    And how should this disk launch without system menu?
     
  5. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Virgin, no, never. The wii needs to have some sort of hackery so the wii to even see burned discs, whether is is softmod or hardmod.

    Autoboot discs are rather obsolete at this point.
     
  6. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Will a softmodded 4.3 run autoboot with IOS 60 or 80?
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    There is only one bit or byte (i forget) that is the autoboot flag. But autoboot is independent of the SM version. All (at least newer SM's from 3.0+, I have not checked earlier versions) do check for autoboot. It only really matters for us if it does it in the recovery mode.

    If you have something that needs to be tested (and that you could not find the answer from searching) then I will test if for you. But as I said, autoboot discs are almost obsolete. They are still useful in rare situation, but generally there are other methods to use that don't need an autoboot disc.
     
  8. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Correct me if I'm wrong:
    1. cIOS60-6174-ted is needed to run autoboot DVD when doing savemiifree with GC controller
    2. Patched IOS36 AND Region free enabled in priiloader is needed to see the Disc banner for all regions in disc channel
    This is what i found while testing IOS's
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    1) Any cIOS with a patched dip module (DarkCorp, cIOSCorp, the wads from Softmod ANY Wii, and as of a few months ago, a patched SM IOS from ModMii) will let you run an autoboot disc, but you also need a cIOS like 249/250 for the disc to run on. If you have a modchip, you don't need the dip module patched, just a trucha patch.
    2) No, a patched IOS36 isn't needed.

    If you ever want to try an autoboot DVD, use http://tinyurl.com/BLIND-Wii since you can launch apps from BLIND.
     
  10. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    By patched SM you mean v54xxx?
    Why do we have PAL & NTSC versions for Blind since it's only running in forced ntsc mode?
     
  11. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    OK, Joostin tries too hard to promote his software and takes any possible chance that he sees with any window of opportunity. (he just wants the download count, it makes him feel better(it is kinda like midget porn for him)).
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Is it really his software, I though he stole it from a dumb nintendo technician ;)
     
  13. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, Nintendo does not have a 'special needs programming department'.

    J/k. Joostin, you know I love you.
     
  14. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Can't we fool a virgin Wii to run a backup? I mean what's there in an original DVD that's not on the backup that no one could edit?
    @joostinonline I downloaded the pal version but it seems hacksden has a problem I got a mirror on mediafire, 'll test it tomorrow.
    OMG it's 12pm Goodnight. (like cinderella)
     
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I said SM IOS, not SM. The IOS has to have a patched dip module.

    The PAL/JAP/KOR/USA versions are for what region your Wii's game setting is. Unless you have messed around with Any Region Changer,
    I'm pretty sure you are joking, but if not, that isn't true. Besides, BLIND is a modification of Wii Mod, so like 95% of the work is done by jskyboo. I just fixed a few bugs and added some features (most of which have been added to the latest version of Wii Mod) and forced NTSC-U mode. The reason I suggested using it (as I explained above) is because there is an apploader in there in case you wanted to load anything else, such as MyMenuifyer.
    No. A Wii disc is not a normal DVD.
     
  16. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Wii discs (from my understanding) are written backwards.

    For example, normal discs are written from the inside ring to the outer, and wii discs are written from the outer ring towards the center.

    But like I said, autoboot discs seem obsolete for modern day usage.

    One of the better tools I have in my collection is a WODE (thank you pune). I use it rather rarely (i've actually used it for brick repairing only once) but it is a great thing to have. Forget burning discs and wasting them away, a WODE takes care of it all.
     
  17. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    They're not written backwards, that's a myth.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    Yeah, the same rumor circulated during the GC-era as well.
     
  19. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    That might be possible by adding the orignal system menu .dol as a regular non shared content to the wad. Priiloader would need to be changed to work this way, but overall, i don't know why it would not work. Except there's a problem if there's an "unused" content.
     
  20. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,974
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Hmmm, Interesting but Master Foez said "No" so maybe we need a third opinion?
     

Share This Page