mirc

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by JonnyB, Feb 27, 2003.

Feb 27, 2003

mirc by JonnyB at 1:33 AM (1,552 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. JonnyB
    OP

    Member JonnyB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere. Far Far South.
    Country:
    United States
    how can we get roms after the 30 days mirc gives u?
     


  2. JonnyB
    OP

    Member JonnyB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere. Far Far South.
    Country:
    United States
    come on people! help!

    also why does this happen:
    Closing Idle connection in 30 seconds
     
  3. X-Gamer

    Former Staff X-Gamer GBATemp RPG Master

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,646
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Prévost, Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Don't double-post. I don't use mirc so I can't help you but give the others a little time to give you an answer to your question. It's only been half an hour since you asked for help.
     
  4. JonnyB
    OP

    Member JonnyB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere. Far Far South.
    Country:
    United States
    ok, one last question> [​IMG] Does it matter which irc network i choose? ie: efnet.
     
  5. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    In order to get onto the #gbatemp channel, yes, it must be efnet.

    If you are talking about the direct connection to users to get the roms, that's to prevent people from tying up their server so other people can use it too. So you need to get what you want quickly.

    I'm afraid I don't know what you're talking about in your first post; maybe someone can answer it. I hope that clears up some stuff.

    When in doubt, check the faq.
     
  6. chaoswolf82

    Member chaoswolf82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I know im new to this board but when i try it doesnt let me join the main room always says im in #GBAtemp1
     
  7. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    OK, just to make sure:
    1)Make sure it is EFnet.
    2)Make sure you're typing in #GBATemp. You say #GBATemp1, and I'm not sure if that was a typo or not.

    Again, when in doubt, check the faq.

    Does that help?
     
  8. chaoswolf82

    Member chaoswolf82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    yes it helps but unfortunately now the things giving me trouble
    everytime i type it says #GBAtemp Cannot send to channel
     
  9. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    And all your settings are right? Hmm.... I think you might need to wait until the major IRC people get on. Sorry I can't help out anymore.
     
  10. chaoswolf82

    Member chaoswolf82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I wanna know why it would do that thoughi was playing ocarina checking in mirc every so often then when i go to type something it seems like it sends it but then i get a #GBAtemp Cannot send to channel
     
  11. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, could it be a timeout problem? i.e. You've been idle too long and mIRC logs out?
     
  12. X-Gamer

    Former Staff X-Gamer GBATemp RPG Master

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,646
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Prévost, Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    I think that's because there's too many people using the GBAtemp channel at the time. This happens quite often, you just need to be more patient and a little lucky until you finally get there. Well, that what I think as I never use it myself. [​IMG]
     
  13. chaoswolf82

    Member chaoswolf82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    im in the channel it does that when i try to say something in the chat.
     
  14. chaoswolf82

    Member chaoswolf82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    it got fixed
     
  15. KiVan

    Former Staff KiVan Hooray! Member n# 1!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,256
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    30 seconds of idle time is the limit you can stay in the fserver.
    but they are enough to queue the files you need. when you queued a file o files, you don't need to stay in the fserver chat anymorem so you can exit it (but stay in the channel!) then wait for the files
     
  16. JonnyB
    OP

    Member JonnyB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere. Far Far South.
    Country:
    United States
    When I downloaded Mirc it was a shareware version and it said after 30 days I have to pay to use it. What did u do after your 30 days? isnt there another place to get mirc thats not for 30 days?
     
  17. Tempest Stormwin

    Former Staff Tempest Stormwin Kweisatz Haderach

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5,834
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    On temporary hiatus.
    Country:
    Canada
    Just reinstall it, if that's the problem.

    And I got a full, working, non-demo version from mirc.com, of all places...

    -Tempest out.-
     
  18. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Umm.... I dunno.... I did that too, but I haven't gotten any warning or anything. [​IMG] Have you?

    EDIT: Actually, now that I think about it, I might have gotten the full version too.
     
  19. JonnyB
    OP

    Member JonnyB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere. Far Far South.
    Country:
    United States
    how?
     
  20. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    As Tempest said, mirc.com.
     

Share This Page

Loading...