Migrated from SX OS to Atmosphere. Boot into hekate, launch atmos then nothing.

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
HI guys, first time posting here.


I have a Erista switch. Fimware 9.1.0. SX OS with emmunand.

I had SX OS and migrated to Atmosphere. I installed everything using this guide. rentry.org/mys8q. I got to the point where I go to launch Atmosphere but when I do I get some flashing logos and then a black screen which does nothing. I would like some help as to why this isn't working.

Some things to note I have to go into more options to boot Atmosphere and not launch. Is this because I put the hekate_ipl.ini file in the ini folder instead of the root? My firmware is 9.1.0 but I'm using the latest 1.3.2 Atmosphere. Hekate v5.7.2 & Nyx v1.2.2. Is my firmware too old? How would I update it if that is the case. I am using emunand, so would I need to make a new one from scratch if I were to update my firmware? When I followed the guide I already migrated it and I don't want to mess up anything.

Lastly I used my SD card. I backed everything up. Converted it from exfat to FAT32 and then followed the guide. Put the emunand folder back on as well as the SX OS folder.
switch1.png
switch2.png
switch3.png
switch4.png


When I was making these screenshots I noticed a second hekate_ipl.ini (3rd screenshot). The one in the ini folder is the one I made but the other ini file in the bootloader folder was already there. Should I remove it? I think this is the problem but even if it does work I probably need to update my firmware?
 
Last edited by Cosmos279,

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,545
Trophies
2
XP
1,780
Country
United States
HI guys, first time posting here.


I have a Erista switch. Fimware 9.1.0. SX OS with emmunand.

I had SX OS and migrated to Atmosphere. I installed everything using this guide. rentry.org/mys8q. I got to the point where I go to launch Atmosphere but when I do I get some flashing logos and then a black screen which does nothing. I would like some help as to why this isn't working.

Some things to note I have to go into more options to boot Atmosphere and not launch. Is this because I put the hekate_ipl.ini file in the ini folder instead of the root? My firmware is 9.1.0 but I'm using the latest 1.3.2 Atmosphere. Hekate v5.7.2 & Nyx v1.2.2. Is my firmware too old? How would I update it if that is the case. I am using emunand, so would I need to make a new one from scratch if I were to update my firmware? When I followed the guide I already migrated it and I don't want to mess up anything.

Lastly I used my SD card. I backed everything up. Converted it from exfat to FAT32 and then followed the guide. Put the emunand folder back on as well as the SX OS folder. View attachment 310747View attachment 310748View attachment 310749View attachment 310750

When I was making these screenshots I noticed a second hekate_ipl.ini (3rd screenshot). The one in the ini folder is the one I made but the other ini file in the bootloader folder was already there. Should I remove it? I think this is the problem but even if it does work I probably need to update my firmware?
Correct. You don’t need the hekate_ipl.ini in the ini folder. The only one yiu should have is /bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini.

what do you have in both of those files?

Also, your exosphere.ini should not end in .txt. You will not be exosphere protected if the file name is not correct.
check your /atmopshere/hosts files for the same issue…should be only one .txt (not .txt.txt)

Did you download fusee.bin from the Atmosphere GitHub and place it in the /bootloader/payloads/ directory?

P.S. mikefor20 is talking about dual booting SXOS and Atmosphere (and others) all on a single SDCard. We both have multiboot machines…if you’re so inclined he has a Tutorial published but I recommend fixing your current issues before you move to the next level with dual booting.
 

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
Correct. You don’t need the hekate_ipl.ini in the ini folder. The only one yiu should have is /bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini.

what do you have in both of those files?

Also, your exosphere.ini should not end in .txt. You will not be exosphere protected if the file name is not correct.
check your /atmopshere/hosts files for the same issue…should be only one .txt (not .txt.txt)

Did you download fusee.bin from the Atmosphere GitHub and place it in the /bootloader/payloads/ directory?

P.S. mikefor20 is talking about dual booting SXOS and Atmosphere (and others) all on a single SDCard. We both have multiboot machines…if you’re so inclined he has a Tutorial published but I recommend fixing your current issues before you move to the next level with dual booting.
Hi there, I've done everything you've written and I suppose I've made some progress. Now I can launch Atmosphere from the launch screen. When I do, I get the atmosphere splash screen. Then the logo, then the Nintendo logo. But after that I get the black screen and nothing happens. Do I have to update my firmware after all?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,545
Trophies
2
XP
1,780
Country
United States
Hi there, I've done everything you've written and I suppose I've made some progress. Now I can launch Atmosphere from the launch screen. When I do, I get the atmosphere splash screen. Then the logo, then the Nintendo logo. But after that I get the black screen and nothing happens. Do I have to update my firmware after all?
What is in your /bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini file now?

What FW version are you on?

Do you have an /atmosphere/contents directory? If so, move/rename it to /atmosphere/contents.bk and try again.
 

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
What is in your /bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini file now?

What FW version are you on?

Do you have an /atmosphere/contents directory? If so, move/rename it to /atmosphere/contents.bk and try again.
hekate1.png


This is what's in the hekate file. I'm on firmware 9.1.0 and I don't have the contents folder in atmosphere.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,545
Trophies
2
XP
1,780
Country
United States
View attachment 310836

This is what's in the hekate file. I'm on firmware 9.1.0 and I don't have the contents folder in atmosphere.

Yeah, 9.1.0 is pretty old. We'll eventually want to upgrade the firmware. Hekate_ipl.ini looks great.

One thing you can try is to remove:

payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin

and replace it with

fss0=atmosphere/package3

This will boot atmosphere using "hekate style" so let's see if that helps.

If it dosn't then let's do the following:

mv/rename /atmosphere to /atmosphere.bk
mv/rename /bootloader to /bootloader.bk

Then download the hekate and atmosphere files from the guide and unzip them to the root of your sd card again.

copy /bootloader.bk/hekate_ipl.ini to the new /bootloader directory and reboot...
 

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
Yeah, 9.1.0 is pretty old. We'll eventually want to upgrade the firmware. Hekate_ipl.ini looks great.

One thing you can try is to remove:

payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee.bin

and replace it with

fss0=atmosphere/package3

This will boot atmosphere using "hekate style" so let's see if that helps.

If it dosn't then let's do the following:

mv/rename /atmosphere to /atmosphere.bk
mv/rename /bootloader to /bootloader.bk

Then download the hekate and atmosphere files from the guide and unzip them to the root of your sd card again.

copy /bootloader.bk/hekate_ipl.ini to the new /bootloader directory and reboot...
Tried doing the "hekate style" reboot but that didn't work, same result. So for the second way, am I renaming the folders that in the root?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,545
Trophies
2
XP
1,780
Country
United States
Tried doing the "hekate style" reboot but that didn't work, same result. So for the second way, am I renaming the folders that in the root?
Nuts. It was a long shot.
Go ahead and put hekate_ipl.ini back the way it was since that didn’t work.

Yes, we are going to rename those two directories to get them out of the way but keep the data and create brand new directories straight from the zip files.
 

fringle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
246
Trophies
0
XP
606
Country
Canada
You don't necessarily need hekate to boot atmosphere from sxos. I use to do it that way too until I found this link somewhere on this board. https://sx-boot-dat-creator.herokuapp.com/ It is used to convert payloads into sxos compatible boot.dat files. Just use it to convert fusee.bin to boot.dat. Put the newly created boot.dat file on the root of you sd and it will or should boot directly into atmosphere bypassing the need for hekate or sxos on the sdcard.

I'm fairly sure this is how it works. I don't have access to a switch at the moment so can't exactly confirm and it's been a long time since I did it.
 

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
Nuts. It was a long shot.
Go ahead and put hekate_ipl.ini back the way it was since that didn’t work.

Yes, we are going to rename those two directories to get them out of the way but keep the data and create brand new directories straight from the zip files.
Do I need the sigpatches? And should I change the line in the ini file back to what it was?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,545
Trophies
2
XP
1,780
Country
United States
Do I need the sigpatches? And should I change the line in the ini file back to what it was?
Yes, Go ahead and put hekate_ipl.ini back the way it was since that didn’t work.

Yes, go ahead and grab sigpatches from one of these links:

Sigpatches (GBATemp) — alternative Sigpatches for when others don’t seem to work.
Sigpatchesget your iTotalJustice Sigpatches here (with free instructions!)
 

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
You don't necessarily need hekate to boot atmosphere from sxos. I use to do it that way too until I found this link somewhere on this board. https://sx-boot-dat-creator.herokuapp.com/ It is used to convert payloads into sxos compatible boot.dat files. Just use it to convert fusee.bin to boot.dat. Put the newly created boot.dat file on the root of you sd and it will or should boot directly into atmosphere bypassing the need for hekate or sxos on the sdcard.

I'm fairly sure this is how it works. I don't have access to a switch at the moment so can't exactly confirm and it's been a long time since I did it.
Hi, from the rentry guide, I downloaded a sxos zip that hade 2 files. One was a boot.dat and the other was a boot.ini file. So I'm not sure if I should make a new one as that could mess up things more.
 

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, Go ahead and put hekate_ipl.ini back the way it was since that didn’t work.

Yes, go ahead and grab sigpatches from one of these links:

Sigpatches (GBATemp) — alternative Sigpatches for when others don’t seem to work.
Sigpatchesget your iTotalJustice Sigpatches here (with free instructions!)
Yeah I'm still having the same issue. Could it possibly be my emunand that's messing things up? I still have a back up for it but is it possible that there's a hidden partition on the SD Card? I can't remember which way I did it. I also converted my SD Card exFAT to FAT32.

I use the team Xecuter dongle and side piece to inject the payload. Should i remove them once I'm in hekate then boot atmosphere?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,545
Trophies
2
XP
1,780
Country
United States
Yeah I'm still having the same issue. Could it possibly be my emunand that's messing things up? I still have a back up for it but is it possible that there's a hidden partition on the SD Card? I can't remember which way I did it. I also converted my SD Card exFAT to FAT32.

I use the team Xecuter dongle and side piece to inject the payload. Should i remove them once I'm in hekate then boot atmosphere?
It could be what you’re injecting with your dongle. What do you currently have loaded? Do you have a boot.dat in your top level directory?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,545
Trophies
2
XP
1,780
Country
United States
Hi, from the rentry guide, I downloaded a sxos zip that hade 2 files. One was a boot.dat and the other was a boot.ini file. So I'm not sure if I should make a new one as that could mess up things more.
this is fine. Should have been SXbootloader. There are additional instructions on that page to make this work.

https://rentry.org/mys8q

here are the only 2 steps you need to do (slightly modified because I don’t like overwriting things)


SX_Gear_v1.1.zip (SX Core/Lite & SX Pro users only)
  • Make sure to rename your current boot.dat to boot.dat.orig
  • rename hekate_ctcaer_x.x.x.bin to payload.bin (this step applies only to SX Core/Lite & SX Pro users)
(the boot.ini file should have payload.bin in it.)

e: like so
586317F6-3201-4C0A-8CBF-EF7640637F98.jpeg


this is what does the handoff from SX Pro to boot.dat (which is modified to boot whatever is in boot.ini which will be the latest Hekate right after you copy hekat.x.x.x.bin to payload.bin)
 
Last edited by binkinator,

Cosmos279

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
london
XP
90
Country
United Kingdom
this is fine. Should have been SXbootloader. There are additional instructions on that page to make this work.

https://rentry.org/mys8q

here are the only 2 steps you need to do (slightly modified because I don’t like overwriting things)


SX_Gear_v1.1.zip (SX Core/Lite & SX Pro users only)
  • Make sure to rename your current boot.dat to boot.dat.orig
  • rename hekate_ctcaer_x.x.x.bin to payload.bin (this step applies only to SX Core/Lite & SX Pro users)
(the boot.ini file should have payload.bin in it.)

e: like so View attachment 310845

this is what does the handoff from SX Pro to boot.dat (which is modified to boot whatever is in boot.ini which will be the latest Hekate right after you copy hekat.x.x.x.bin to payload.bin)
I already renamed the hekate_ctcaer to payload.bin but I have now added orig to the boot.dat file. Here's what I'm using as the injector. I don't think I can access whatever is on there unless you have an idea. I believe what I have is the SX OS Pro.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20220521_221949.jpg
    IMG_20220521_221949.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 6
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Works for me.