microSDHC locked

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by techforumz, Apr 19, 2008.

Apr 19, 2008

microSDHC locked by techforumz at 11:23 PM (3,705 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    My f*cking microSDHC is locked and corrupted. I can't load anything, I can't even format it. This is really pissing me off.
     


  2. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    How can you lock a MicroSD card?

    If youre using a MicroSD to SD adapter check if the lock is slided down.
     
  3. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not using an SD adapter, I'm using a microSDHC reader. I have both the CycloDS reader, and a Sandisk reader, neither will let me so much as delete the fat32 partition. I can partiton the remaining 4MB, though. (whoopie 4MB!)
     
  4. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Looks like your MicroSD card is dead... Try to ask for a replacement.
     
  5. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    Actually there is more that I forgot to mention:
    I can delete folders via DSOrganize, and read anything from anywhere. Is it possible for it to be partially dead?
     
  6. sean0007

    Newcomer sean0007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    In front of a computer?
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you put a password on to lock the card before it got corrupted? I've never heard of a a microSD card being locked without a password on it.

    If so you can just brute force the card if you forgot the password. If not the card is most likely dead, order a replacement as 4gb sdhc cards are pretty cheap now.
     
  7. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    No password. It's dead then. If only I could get an A-data instead.
     
  8. sean0007

    Newcomer sean0007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    In front of a computer?
    Country:
    Canada
    Just read the DSOrganize thing. I don't think it checks for a valid file system on the card. Windows does so that would give you the corrupt message. If you can, insert it into a linux distro or mac OSX machine and attempt to format it (they may ignore file system errors/locked message).
     
  9. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    I am using linux. (ditched windoze long ago.)
     
  10. sean0007

    Newcomer sean0007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    In front of a computer?
    Country:
    Canada
  11. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a Transcend 4GB microSDHC Class-6
    m/n:TS4GUSDHC6
    Bought from newegg.com
     
  12. sean0007

    Newcomer sean0007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    In front of a computer?
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I recommend just buying another card if you can afford it. I'll be less than $30, just stick with Class 6 cards, I had the Class 4s a while back and they sucked (1st one was broken when I got it, second one lasted 2 months).
     
  13. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    Now I'm furious! And, it was the only thing in a f*cking blister pack!
     
  14. sean0007

    Newcomer sean0007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    In front of a computer?
    Country:
    Canada
    Just noticed in your sig that you have a corrupt cyclo ds firmware. Could that have impacted the card in any way, also can you still boot up the cyclo and install a proper firmware on it (gonna need another microsd card to make that happen). Never had a problem with my cyclo, did the firmware tank on its own or did the ds power off during an update.
     
  15. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume you've tried fdisk, not some silly program with a GUI?
     
  16. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I'm not sure which was first. I don't even know if it was corrupted, but it's behaving very strangely ie: won't list certain files, certain homebrew crash, moonshell loses font, etc...
    Ok, now ALL my partitions (including the 4MB) are locked.
     
  17. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    I saw once on dealextreme some memory cards unlocking stuff.
     
  18. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    But I didn't put any password in...
     
  19. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  20. techforumz
    OP

    Member techforumz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page