MicroSD Issue

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by LoneSyn, Sep 8, 2007.

Sep 8, 2007

MicroSD Issue by LoneSyn at 5:26 AM (1,394 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, my first time posting here since I mainly come for homebrew information.

    I have an R4 with a 2GB MicroSD (Lifetime Warranty) and a memory reader (someone stole my R4 MicroSD reader recently, dont know who)

    Now, as title says, I have an issue with my MicroSD. My dad installed Windows Vista (Dunno why, I never wanted it) and after that, when I inserted my MicroSD into the reader, it asks me to format it. So I did, FAT, as its usual, but instead of the 1.98 GB of space its suposed to have, it significantly reduced to 973 MB. I don't know what is going on, and I need help with this and get me out of the dark. I have my R4 backed up before this incident, so I'm not worried about the files.

    If anyone here can help me restore my 1.98 GB back, it will be greatly appreciated.

    Good day sirs.
     
  2. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    No reply? Even after 18+ views?

    At least a link to a repair software or something, I cannot find a decent one to bring it back up.
     
  3. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    try using fat 32?
     
  4. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Any kind of format would set it to 973 MB, no more no less. I read somewhere that you need a repairing software, but sadly, NONE of the repairing software work. Anyone know one I can try? I tried Flash Repair, SD Format (Panasonic)
     
  5. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i'm not really sure then...

    try formatting it to ntfs then fat 32?
     
  6. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Already did, first format was NTFS, then back to FAT, then NTFS, then FAT32, then FAT again, all the same.
     
  7. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    do you have acsess to a xp computer?

    even a mac would work if you do it right
     
  8. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I tried it on an XP computer, the max memory it allows me to format it to is still 973, I dont want to format it anymore due to me being afraid of losing more diskspace than the 1 GB it alrdy lost.
     
  9. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    woah thats really wierd [​IMG]
     
  10. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    i'm running xp and i'm having no problems formatting

    try using a different reader
     
  11. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    I used a SanDisk Reader, a multi-card reader, a Kingston Reader, what else is there?
     
  12. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Did it ever show up as having 2GB?
     
  13. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    it showed up as 1.93 GB (Disk/FlashDrives NEVER RECIEVE THE NUMBER YOU BUY IT FOR) before I formatted the MicroSD for the first time.
     
  14. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Try use diskmanagement rather than using the right click format thing.
     
  15. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Where did you buy the microSD from?
     
  16. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    You might have got a fake card. They sell fake ones on eBay that are programed to somehow display a fake size
     
  17. LoneSyn
    OP

    Newcomer LoneSyn Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    I got it from Fry's 5 months ago.

    I formatted it for the first time today.

    Found something that fixed it.

    Sadly it only went up to 1.89 GB, but thats better than 973 MB.

    Thanks for you help guys, I'll post details later after I test run it on R4 again.
     
  18. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    1.89 is normal

    when memory makers say 2GB, they actually only do 1kb = 1000 b 1mb = 1000kb 1 gb = 1000mb

    but the real value is 1kb = 1024 b 1mb = 1024kb 1 gb = 1024mb
     
  19. lagman

    Former Staff lagman I wish I was green.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,071
    Location:
    Me, To You
    Country:
    Mexico
    Topic #60,000 [​IMG] and [​IMG]
     

Share This Page