Homebrew mGBA official standalone Wii port

D

Deleted User

Guest
Are you using the hbc to load it? Just add it to the meta.xml under arguments. For switching borders it's all on the GBI thread, "--overlay" let's you change the default path, and "--overlay-id" is the texture id in the tpl. I find BrawlBox pretty good for management and keeping track of which texture is which.

These are the settings I last used.
<arguments>
<arg>--network</arg>
<arg>--aspect=4:3</arg>
<arg>--intent=saturation</arg>
<arg>--contrast=.80</arg>
<arg>--input-gamma=1.</arg>
<arg>--output-gamma=1.</arg>
<arg>--zoom=2.5</arg>
<arg>--filter=normal2x</arg>
<arg>--overlay-id=0</arg>
<arg>--rotate=0</arg>
</arguments>
If you don't ever use a 3DS as controller you should not bother to enable network.

I add it there? I did but it does nothing, maybe there is a specific way to add the line?
 

Attachments

  • g.png
    g.png
    5.7 KB · Views: 408

delta nite

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2010
Messages
85
Trophies
0
XP
1,151
Country
United States
While most roms I've tried worked just fine (F-Zero Climax, Medabots AX, Pokemon Sapphire) some others are giving me "Exception (DSI) occured". Specifically, Drill Dozer and Emerald. I've done a bit of look around on this thread and these roms are apparently supported. Is this error happening only to me? Should I post images of the error screens I'm getting or is this issue common? I should add that those same roms worked on VBA GX (even if the performance was terrible).
I recently redone my softmod using Modmii so I'm pretty sure all m cIOS are up to date.

Edit: I'm using the latest nightly btw
 
Last edited by delta nite,

Maeson

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
920
Trophies
0
XP
2,368
Country
Spain
The latest nightlies are having problems, I reported it a few hours ago, and Endrift said that all the nightly ports are having that issue.

My best advice would be that you go back to an older nightly (I'm using one from December) until it gets fixed:
https://mgba.io/nightlies.html
 

Flo_o

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
164
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
474
Country
Hi guys, a question about mGBA, i love the full speed of mGBA (especially when you want to play Mega Man Zero), but the look and functionallity of vbaGX (it also blends in with Snes9X and FCEultra), is there a future plan to merge both emulators? I ask this because mGBA always starts from ROOT instead of remembering your last folder and is very, well, texty without borders, buttons or menus. The speed of mGBA + the look of vbaGX would be a perfect match ;)
 

HeavyMetalLoser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
478
Country
United States
Is there a way to display full-screen while maintaining the correct aspect ratio? I can't seem to find any setting to change this, it always displays either too wide (16:9) or too skinny (4:3). The GBA screen had an aspect ration of 3:2, but mGBA is stretching or squishing it into the wrong aspect ratio. Is there a way to display it in 3:2 while still filling as much of the screen as possible, preferably without having to mess with my TV's widescreen settings?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Basically;
Pixel Accurate w/4:3 - Slightly too skinny, doesn't fill enough of the screen.
Pixel Accurate w/16:9 - Way too fat, same as above.
Stretched 4:3 - Too skinny
Stretched 16:9 - Too fat
Pixel Accurate w/ my TV's Zoom mode - Looks great, but makes menu navigation a nightmare.

I also really don't like having to constantly adjust my TV's Widescreen settings. Do you guys plan to fix this in a future update? (I'm using 0.5.2, which I assume is the most recent version.)
 

HeavyMetalLoser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
478
Country
United States
Okay, I see now I missed some discussion on the prior page. I guess the question would be then, using the
[ports.wii]
stretchWidth=1.0
stretchHeight=1.0
configuration, what would the proper values be to match the original GBA aspect ratio? Thanks again!

EDIT: Did some math, and the closest approximation could get to 3:2 within a 4:3 640x480 frame was 640x426, and 426 is roughly 88% of 480, bringing me to this:
[ports.wii]
stretchWidth=.88
stretchHeight=1.0
It looks good enough from my end!
What should I enter for a 16:9 display?

Also, is it possible to transfer saves from VBAGX?
 

Flo_o

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
164
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
474
Country
Sorry to ask, but does somebody has a nice animated forwarder for the latest mGBA build? For some reason, people have made awesome forwarders over the years for each emulator, but mGBA is always missing. There is one version i have found on a spanish game website, but it does not work with the last USB Loader GX build.
 

HeavyMetalLoser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
478
Country
United States
Solved both of my issues.

For Widescreen users, setting Horizontal stretch .10 lower than the Vertical stretch on a widescreen display will get you extremely close (like, within 0.1%) to the GBA's 3:2 Aspect Ratio. I personally I like setting it to 0.95 Vertical/0.85 Horizontal just to make sure nothing at the edge of the screen gets cut off, and I turn on the Pixilated Bilinear filter to eliminate the "shimmer/shaking" effect when screen scrolls due to the non-integer scale. Looks fantastic on my 24" Vizio.

As for transferring saves from VBA GX, simply copy the saves from /vbagx/saves and put them in the same folder as your roms.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid

TheBeverage

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
75
Trophies
0
XP
544
Country
United States
@HeavyMetalLoser Check the last page, I did some math and .88 horizontal and 1.00 vertical is almost exactly the right aspect ratio.

Nothing should be cut off at 1.00 unless you're using some sort of overscan.
 

HeavyMetalLoser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
478
Country
United States
@HeavyMetalLoser Check the last page, I did some math and .88 horizontal and 1.00 vertical is almost exactly the right aspect ratio.

Nothing should be cut off at 1.00 unless you're using some sort of overscan.
Is that for 4:3 or 16:9 displays? I use a 16:9 720p Vizio. As for the Overscan, at least to my eyes my TV seems to cut off just a tiny bit of the edge of the screen. This isn't an issue for console games, as they were made with the much greater overscan of CRTs in mind, but portable games tend to use every part of the screen, as they were specifically optimized for a specific screen.
 

TheBeverage

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
75
Trophies
0
XP
544
Country
United States
Is that for 4:3 or 16:9 displays? I use a 16:9 720p Vizio. As for the Overscan, at least to my eyes my TV seems to cut off just a tiny bit of the edge of the screen. This isn't an issue for console games, as they were made with the much greater overscan of CRTs in mind, but portable games tend to use every part of the screen, as they were specifically optimized for a specific screen.
If you want the aspect ratio to really look right, 4:3 mode is your only option on a 16:9 TV. The overscan should be something you can disable in TV settings, unless you have a very old HDTV, in which case you may be out of luck and have to compensate the best you can as you've been doing.
 

Phil123

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
69
Country
Does anyone know how to add a GBA border? I tried placing frame.tpl.gz and frame-srgb.tpl.gz in the root of my mGBA folders but it doesn't work.
 

HeavyMetalLoser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
478
Country
United States
If you want the aspect ratio to really look right, 4:3 mode is your only option on a 16:9 TV. The overscan should be something you can disable in TV settings, unless you have a very old HDTV, in which case you may be out of luck and have to compensate the best you can as you've been doing.
The GBA's native aspect ratio is 3:2, which is actually wider that 4:3 but skinnier than 16:9. By playing in 16:9 mode and reducing the horizontal stretch by 10%, I get extremely close to a 3:2 aspect ration while filling my screen from top to bottom. Playing in 4:3 mode would require me set horizontal stretch to 100% and vertical stretch to 88%, which while that would also give me the correct aspect ratio, it would also result in a much smaller game window on my TV. This however, would give the best results if you're playing on an older 4:3 CRT.

TIP: If you see the game image sort of "shimmering" when the screen scrolls, you can try turning on the Pixilated Bilinear filter. I find this fixes any image distortion while still keeping the image fairly sharp.
 

InfiniteBlue

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
186
Country
United States
I'm using CMake 3.3.1 on Linux, after having installed, open a shell prompt, navigate to mgba source root directory, then, (mgba author instructions)

mkdir wii && cd wii
cmake .. -DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=../src/platform/wii/CMakeToolchain.txt -G "Unix Makefiles"
make

after finished you will have a mgba.dol on wii folder.

I'm trying to compile mGBA as well, but I'm running into a problem with gcc arguments. Do I have DevkitPPC set up wrong or something? I don't know where else to find information on this stuff.

http://imgur.com/a/thF4H

UPDATE: I solved it. I had to set my CC environment variable to DevkitPro's C compiler, not MinGW.
 
Last edited by InfiniteBlue,

InfiniteBlue

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
186
Country
United States
Could you fix the aspect ratio with that change that you were going to try?

Yeah, I'll try that tonight! I ran into more compilation issues after the one I described, so I'll give it another go when I'm done with work. I'll post the boot.elf here if the VI width change works, and then consider a merge into the source.
 

InfiniteBlue

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
186
Country
United States
Alright, so I was able to compile after commenting out some areas of code that were having trouble. Unfortunately after selecting a game in the browser, it does not load and am kicked back out to the homebrew channel. The area that I needed to comment out seems like it can't find video-logger.h for its references, but the include is there. I'm guessing it's a linking problem; I'm not well versed enough in C to figure this one out. Any ideas?

http://i.imgur.com/dVEhVD5.png

SuperrSonic, maybe you could implement the 704 video encoder width if you'd like? I saw you implemented it on your WiiMC fork, so perhaps you could do it here too (if you have better luck compiling).
 
Last edited by InfiniteBlue,

SuperrSonic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
797
Trophies
0
XP
1,902
Country
Puerto Rico
SuperrSonic, maybe you could implement the 704 video encoder width if you'd like? I saw you implemented it on your WiiMC fork, so perhaps you could do it here too (if you have better luck compiling).
I have a build with this already http://www.mediafire.com/file/ot30dj54t5wu0jw/mgba.zip

Other changes include:
Dimming (you need to hex edit it to change amount, or to remove) Default: Wii U DS VC
Restart game with the reset button.
GC L/R triggers work half-pressed.
Enabled the setting to skip bios animation.
Added Drill Dozer(Europe) rumble to the overrides.
Alternate bilinear settings, added to test limits, it's actually pretty useless.


My changes aside, you should really try Enhanced mGBA, it's got what you want and way more.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.ostagram.me/static_pages/lenta?last_days=1000&locale=en