Metroid Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Anubis, Mar 18, 2008.

Mar 18, 2008

Metroid Wi-Fi by Anubis at 6:52 PM (1,510 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    One question? Does Metroid work with Wi-Fi play on an R4?
    I can play all other Wi-Fi games normally with my "Wi-Fi Link", with the same connection. But Metroid doesn't seem to work. When I connect to my AP it says that there aren't any near me.
    Anyone experiencing this problem?
    Oh, and I tried both European and American versions of the game... both the same error.

    Thanks.
     
  2. RaiDesu

    Member RaiDesu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Metroid Prime Hunters works. At least for me.
     
  3. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Enable SSID broadcast on your modem/router. Should fix it.
     
  4. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    I think it's enabled. I mean, when I search for AP's it shows the SSID I gave it, but I can't connect (with metroid only)
     
  5. Psy-Phi

    Newcomer Psy-Phi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Change the security of your router to WPA or WEP, whichever it isn't. And if neither work, then try disablign the security and just leavnig it open to see if you can connect. One of those two security options on certain routers (especially Linksys) will not work on certain older DS and PSP games for some reason. I forget which it is as I got a buffalo router now and it doesn't have that problem.
     
  6. HyoImowano

    Member HyoImowano GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    303
    Country:
    United States
    WPA will not work with the DS, period.
     
  7. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    I'm using a Wi-Fi Link USB adapter. All games seem to work fine except this one... and I've tried everything.
     
  8. Psy-Phi

    Newcomer Psy-Phi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Is it trimmed?
     
  9. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've tried both trimmed and untrimmed roms.
    Both the same problem.
     
  10. Psy-Phi

    Newcomer Psy-Phi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Really don't know what to tell you; I jsut loaded the game up and played online without a problem with my R4 and 1GB Kingston (Japan), trimmed with Rominator.

    And that was the first time I ever played it online.

    I assume you used the usb connection set up and not the one for a wi-fi router?
     
  11. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    No, I've used the router one because the USB dongle acts as an Access Point... so it's pretty much like a router.
     
  12. Psy-Phi

    Newcomer Psy-Phi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Try the dongle configuration in the wi-fi set up. I don't know why that would be a reason, but it seems like the only thing different.
     
  13. Anubis
    OP

    Member Anubis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ok, working.
    The Authentication had to be set to Shared Key...
    ... now I just need to find out what this actually means.
     
  14. Psy-Phi

    Newcomer Psy-Phi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to hear its working!

    Shared Key is a key, pre-created (PSK = Pre-Shared Key), and used/shared with however many machines you wish (well...up to 254 machines if your router can support that). Basically it's just a form of authentication that makes it so when something connects it may send data to the access piont, but it wont receive any from the access point as the access point hasn't authenticated a device/computer not using the shared keys.

    Can also think of it as a key to the house. No key, no entry, but you can look inside.

    That's the best I can explain it anyway.

    Why Metroid wouldn't work unless it was shared whiel others would....I really can't say though. But at least it's workin now.
     

Share This Page