Metroid Prime Trilogy freezes at cutscene

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by JoostinOnline, Jul 21, 2011.

Jul 21, 2011
  1. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    This is really frustrating. When playing Corruption on MPT, it always freezes at this point. Trying to skip the scene just gives a black screen.

    It works when using the retail disc through Cfg, NeoGamma, and the Disc Channel (although it's incredibly slow), but I can't get it to work through USB. I've tested it with bases 38 and 56. I've been using the Block IOS Reload because it is my second file (so I can't use the alt dol method). I've deleted and re-ripped it several times, as well as formatted my HDD.

    If I play the cutscene through the disc and save, I can continue the game to the end. If nobody knows a solution, I can live with using the disc for one part of the game, but it would be nice to play the whole game off of my HDD.

    If anybody feels like testing it, this is my save file. It's NTSC-U. Use the second save slot and load MPT. All you have to do is make it to the tower (should only take a couple minutes, and you are given directions) and see if you can make it through the whole cutscene.
     


  2. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    honestyl the only thing i could think of is that the iso got currpted at theat part.
     
  3. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    yea I have no idea either, I've never played that far in the 3rd game on the trilogy disc. Only played through on the single game version of corruption.

    How far into the game is that? If its not that far I could give my version a try. Been so long I barely remember that part. Was that just after you Save Norion from the SP Invasion?
     
  4. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. I'll put a description in spoilers so I won't ruin the game for anyone who hasn't played them.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    I'm going to try ripping and playing the game on my old HDD to see if it works. If it does, I'll try transferring it to my current one.
     
  5. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright ill give it a spin and see what happens with mine

    Edit: Yep mine works fine, I'd try another rip.
     
  6. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm curious to know if you took the problematic ripped image and scanned it with Wiimm's ISO Tool using the VERIFY function if it will report the image as being bad... Care to try it out and report back?

    -[]D
     
  7. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    No problem. Do I need to convert it from wbfs files to ISO first?
     
  8. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope. All Wit's commands accept all known Wii ISO/game image file formats as input. (ISO, WDF, WIA, CISO and WBFS)

    -[]D
     
  9. IcySon55

    Member IcySon55 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    Could it be that your USB HDD is too slow for that part of the game?

    You should try playing it off of another USB device. 8GB+ USB key perhaps?
     
  10. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Well loading times are pretty fast compared to using a disc, but maybe that's it. After this I'm going to try playing it off my old HDD.

    The test finished and I took a screenshot. Mediafire's image hosting is acting up again, but if you download the file you can view it.
     
  11. PPSainity

    Member PPSainity Blinded by Science

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    Thank you for running the test. I'm further curious if the same image will run if you try your older drive, or if a re-ripped image worked in its place. I don't think it could be a bad backup image if it passed verification as the hash/checksum would be off.

    I too did get freezing when I tried to play a burnt backup of my MPT disc, but that always led to a disc read error screen after the cutscenes began to lag. This was due to my Wii's laser strength though and the fact that MPT is DL. Although you don't mention a disc read error screen and are using USB, I would still guess that maybe a faster drive might help as IcySon55 suggests.

    On a side note, I am so glad that D2X reload block has fully enabled MPT USB playback. Now my MPT tin box sits pretty on my shelf [​IMG] I did lose the sleeve though [​IMG]

    Hope you do find a solution in the end. Metroid is a frustrating game as it is lol.

    -[]D
     
  12. justjack

    Member justjack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Chile
    Are you using fat32?
     
  13. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Well this sucks. I guess it's my HDD. I ripped it to my old HDD and it got through the cutscene just fine. I then copied that to my computer and then to my new HDD. My new HDD froze at the same spot.

    By the way, this is the HDD I got because it was supposed to be compatible. I haven't had any issues with games except for that single cutscene in MPT.

    Edit: Both drives were formatted as FAT32.
     
  14. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry to say that I have the same HDD and wasn't able to recreate the problem like the one you described. How strange.
     
  15. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, that is strange. Are you sure it's the exact same model?
     
  16. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Yep.
     
  17. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Joostin throws his HDD at a brick wall, then tries to play MPT. It freezes.

    Well I guess I'm out of ideas. [​IMG]
     
  18. IcySon55

    Member IcySon55 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using one of those brand new 500GB (USB3.0 Capable) Seagate FreeAgent Go Flex drives. Powered solely by the USB2.0 port on the Wii, so far it's worked pretty well. Rarely have any issues with it.
     
  19. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    I use a Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb in a Vantec Nexstar 3 enclosure
     
  20. JoostinOnline
    OP

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I should have thought of this sooner. I updated the OP with an attachment to my save file.
     

Share This Page