Metroid Prime 3 on PAL Wii 2.2E

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by PlayerP, Aug 27, 2007.

Aug 27, 2007
  1. PlayerP
    OP

    Newcomer PlayerP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    I read through the whole Metroid Prime 3 discussion thread and I saw that som people had installed the update on their 2.2E PAL Wii's without any problems.

    So I wonder if the update really don't brick your console if you install it on 2.2E, cause I don't want to update to 3.0.


    Very happy for all answers [​IMG]
     


  2. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    Use WiiBrickBlocker and you'll not have any problems
     
  3. mku_i

    Newcomer mku_i Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    WiiBrickBlocker does not work on Metroid Prime 3.
     
  4. leonheart_a

    Member leonheart_a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    apparently you must be on 3.0e before you play MP3, otherwise you will brick
     
  5. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    Can't we replace manually the firmware partition ?
     
  6. PlayerP
    OP

    Newcomer PlayerP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Are you sure? There seemed to be a few in the other thread who played MP3 at 2.2E without any problems.. (think I read it at page 16-18 or something like that)

    Just want to confirm it.
     
  7. badbob

    Member badbob Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I read on wiinewz somebody saying that the update on 2.2 adds the duplicate channels, but stays at 2.2
     
  8. Neme

    Newcomer Neme Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Italy
    Update your Wii at 3.0 where's the problem?
     
  9. PlayerP
    OP

    Newcomer PlayerP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:

    It blocks AR and freeloader, that's reason enough to stay at 2.2E. At least for me.
     
  10. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    the Freeloader never worked on my Wii in the first place...just use GCOS instead
     
  11. nehs

    Newcomer nehs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Found this hope it helps


    Allright. There is a way around this "double your News and Weather Channel" stuff. Ive done this on TWO Wiis, both with the latest 3.0 firmware (including the little one that came some days after the big 3.0 that fixed som internet channel issues) and both are modded with CycloWiiz. This is step by step how I did it on TWO Wiis (PAL ofc, BOTH got no duplicate channels!!!):

    1. Ofcourse download the game.
    2. Extract the ISO-files with WinRAR.
    3. Make TWO NEW FOLDERS.
    4. Copy the original ISO and paste one into EACH of the new folders you have created.
    5. Run ONE of the copyed ISOs (leave the original alone...!) with Brick Blocker.
    6. Run the OTHER copyed ISO in Region Frii (convert FROM USA to PAL!) (dont know if runing it through Region Frii is necessary, but I did it...)
    7. Now burn TWO discs. ONE with the ISO that was "BrickBlocked" and the second disc with the one that was "Region Friid" (keep order of which disc is Brick Blocked and which is Friid...!).
    8. Now you have two copies of Metroid Prime 3, right?
    9. Try to insert the BRICK BLOCKED game. Black screen. No problem.
    10. Insert the Region Friid game. It will now say "Initiating Wii System Update" and you can press "OK". Press OK, then on the next message press "I accept".
    11. NOW! Let the update run for SOME SECONDS. Let perhaps 10-15% of the bar get blue, then UNPLUG your wii console!!!!!!
    12. Insert the power again, turn on your Wii. You do NOT have double channels now.
    13. Insert the game that you Brick Blocked (the one that used to give you a black screen...). Let it load, and BOOM; it works. Now you have a working Metroid Prime game and a non-doubled Wii

    THANKS SETEM
     
  12. gazab

    Newcomer gazab Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Linköping
    Country:
    Sweden
    Unplugging during an update is generally a VERY bad idea...
     
  13. kitehimuro

    Member kitehimuro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Hungary
    Anyone can confirms if this REALLY works? I fear unplugging during any update equals brick
     
  14. Timbaman

    Newcomer Timbaman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried it, and it works, great game, only 5 mins into it
     
  15. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't trust you [​IMG]
     
  16. kitehimuro

    Member kitehimuro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    Hungary
    Anyone who isn't a fresh-registered account who might only want to brick someone's wii after he himself been unlucky?
     
  17. Timbaman

    Newcomer Timbaman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Haha, no I'm serious, it really worked, didn't brick my wii or anything. I didn't really think this through alot, but only realised it afterwards,this was a bit scary to do.

    I inserted the region free patched disk, which asked for the update, i agreed, it started.
    Then after it passed the 10-15% I unplugged the power cable.
    Plugged it back in and inserted the brickblocked dvd, looked around first to see if my channels were doubled or something, but they weren't.
    Booted the dvd, and it works!

    But if you don't want to take the risk then don't do it.
    I actually think you all should wait, who knows what this might do in the long run.

    Hope this helps.
     
  18. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    He should be right. If the Wii register that the update has been launched from this game THEN really check if a update is needed, this could be possible, in a theorical way.

    But i'm not going to test it ^^
     
  19. xen_au

    Newcomer xen_au Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Australia
    Posted on blackcats games:
    No idea what would happen to PAL.
    But USA people should try use the MP3 update, instead of the system update and see what happens.
     
  20. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France
    The update is jsut about giving the news and weather channel...
     

Share This Page