Metroid Other M wants to update. Priiloader 0.4 installed

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cheezy102, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have just burned a copy of Metroid Other M and in the disc channel is says "System Update". I can still load the game through NeoGamma but want to avoid any accidental updates (kids, wife etc.)

    I have Priiloader 0.4 installed with disc update blocking enabled.

    Anybody else experienced this? Does priiloader not block Metroid Other M?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    You can try running it through the newest Gecko OS and see if it installs the IOS needed by the game. If it does, you shouldn't see the update dialog afterwards.
     
  3. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't work [​IMG]

    "Launch Game" game me a disc read error
    "Launch Rebooter" gave me a green screen then went to system menu

    Works fine in Neogamma R9 B44
     
  4. GPWeaver

    Newcomer GPWeaver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please don't take this the wrong way as your suggestions will obviously fix the immediate problem but there is still the worrying problem of being prompted for an update with a priiloader hack in place to stop this. Is this a flaw with priiloader or some new kind of programming from Nintendo? (I highly doubt this as they seem far to concerned with removing the HBC than any real AP)
     
  5. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    wrong
    recent system menu or games (i dont know which causes it. prob system menu) will complain about updates asa ANYTHING has a rev < then the one on the disk.
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    That's the first thing I hear about that.
    Might be good to know then.
     
  7. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    i doubt all 5 of my tests was the game's running ios
    let alone, other M itself complaining about an update when IOS36 wasn't the right rev or 4.3 not installed :-P
     
  8. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So can anybody confirm this is a problem with ALL softmodded wiis? Do we need a new version of priiloader?
     
  9. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    what?
    i can't see the link between what op had and priiloader...
     
  10. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Um.....

    Priiloader is supposed to block disc updates
     
  11. Wateva

    Newcomer Wateva Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    there's a release from TLS scrubbed..
    I've tested it and it's working fine on 4.1 softmodded (on wiiflow 222).
    You should try that release (7.26gb)
     
  12. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thanks for the info.

    But what about priiloader? Why isnt it blocking the update?
     
  13. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    cause you are stupid and haven't enabled the hack or have played with it and used the wrong hack for the wrong system menu version?
     
  14. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol whos the stupid one?
     
  15. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    You're the stupid one to not read his post. He said that he has the hacks.ini for his version and no disc update enabled. And that ONLY this game has the glitch.
     
  16. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The hack is ofcourse enabled and I have the correct hacks.ini for my system menu (4.1).
     
  17. Kryptical

    Member Kryptical GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Priiloader should have done its job but if it didn't just scrub it manually and keep only the game parts, nothing else and that should remove the update.
     
  18. cheezy102
    OP

    Newcomer cheezy102 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the help but I know I can scrub the image. Im tring to work out why priiloader didn't block the update
     

Share This Page